We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality, low cost okonomiyaki”

Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya
Ranked #2 of 2,318 Restaurants in Nara
Price range: US$6 - US$9
Description: For temporary holidays please check with URL restaurant 5mines work from JR nara station Let's eat healthy Okonomiyaki! Vegetarian is Suyaki Cabbage with Egg or Cabbage with Cheese It is a small restaurant run by oneself. I may wait or refuse for a long time at the timing. I'm sorry.
Restaurant details
Description: For temporary holidays please check with URL restaurant 5mines work from JR nara station Let's eat healthy Okonomiyaki! Vegetarian is Suyaki Cabbage with Egg or Cabbage with Cheese It is a small restaurant run by oneself. I may wait or refuse for a long time at the timing. I'm sorry.
Reviewed 20 June 2019 via mobile

Tiny restaurant with only a handful of tables and only one person working, but the wait times are relatively short and the food excellent. The lady who was there when we visited spoke admirable English as well.
I almost gave four stars because the okonomiyaki wasn't the absolute best I've had (Hiroshima beat this place hands down) but amidst the tourist traps of Nara, this shop is delightful.

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank Experience240869
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
surugamachi, オーナー at Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2019
Google Translation

ご来店と高評価のレビューをありがとうございます。そして私の拙い英語をご理解下さりありがとうございました。お恥ずかしい限りで…
from kazumi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2019

If you would like to taste great and not expensive okonomiyaki in Nara, this is the place. 4-5 min from JR station only.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank VAnchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
surugamachi, オーナー at Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2019
Google Translation

ご来店と高評価のレビューをありがとうございます。
日本でのハネムーンが人生の思い出になることを願います。
ありがとう
from Kazumi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2019 via mobile

- Good food, fresh ingredients - Tried the Squid Okonomyaki and Yakisoba
- Cosy setting, not crowded during lunch time
- Shop owner was friendly
- Has vegetarian options
- 650 - 1,000 yen per main

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank JieXinJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
surugamachi, オーナー at Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2019
Google Translation

ご来店とレビューをありがとうございます。
日本のお好み焼きもシンガポールのカヤトーストやチキンライスのように有名になるよう願っています。
from Kazumi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderful moment in this small restaurant.
The food is very tasty and the service is just perfect.
This is one of our best surprises during our two weeks stay in Japan.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank jeromel178
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
surugamachi, オーナー at Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2019
Google Translation

ご来店と高評価のレビューをありがとうございます。本当に小さなお好み焼き屋。一人で営業しているのでお客様に満足して頂けるサービスができているか?貴方が満足してくださったなら幸せです。ありがとう!
from Kazumi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2019 via mobile

Absolutely delicious and generous ! The owner works there alone and is very kind (speaks a little bit of English and menus are in English so no problem). We had a lovely evening and even had the chance to meet very friendly Japanese people. The okonomyakis are absolutely delicious, the best we had during our stay !

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Mariathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
surugamachi, オーナー at Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2019
Google Translation

ご来店と高評価のとても嬉しいレビューをありがとうございます。
日本の旅行を楽しんで!日本の食事も楽しんで!
私のレストランが貴方の日本旅行の思い出に残りますように。
from Kazumi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya also viewed

Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 
Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 

Been to Surugamachi no Okonomiyakiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.