We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guesthouse Naramachi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Seikanso(Nara)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Internet
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Tsubakiso(Nara)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Ryokan 
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Ryokan 
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Ryokan 
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
      Reviews (58)
      Filter reviews
      58 results
      Traveller rating
      38
      16
      3
      1
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      38
      16
      3
      1
      0
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsday tripminute walktrain stationbackpackersguesthousebedsshowerjapanamenities
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      22 - 27 of 58 reviews
      Reviewed 19 April 2012

      I really enjoyed staying in this guesthouse, I felt like home. The owners are very welcoming and the private rooms are big especially the one on the ground floor. The decoration is beautiful in this japanese style room which was the room on the previous owner a caligrapher.
      The main room is ideal to meet other people but it can be noisy sometimes. I highly recommend !
      It's 5mn walk from Kyobate Station.

      Room Tip: Try the deluxe room on the ground floor for 2 pax, so beautiful with garden view.
      • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Bastilla89
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 13 March 2012

      Stayed there in the mixed dorm for a night at end of December. A little far from the JR station but close to Naramachi area, many attractions nearby. The owners are very nice and kind. We had a good time sitting at the first floor talking with them and other guests. There's only one bathroom so you'd better reserve the time to take shower early. Overall is satisfied.

      • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank toeinoi
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 13 November 2011

      Stayed here one night in July. It is a very nice hostel, old japanes style. So there's a lot of wood, and there's an original Japanes room that the host is very willing to show. Don't miss that opportunity as he'll explain a lot about ancient Nara and traditions. The dormitories are pretty small but equipped with Western style beds. I had a 4 bed-dormitory on my own which was just perfect and there was only one more guest at the hostel - which for my taste was a bit quiet ;-) The facilities (dorm and batroom) are very clean. The hostel doesn't have a real kitchen, so no cooking plates just fridge and microwave but a 7/11 is in about 5 minutes walking distance. Also a bus station for those tourist buses that do the loop toor is basically infront of the hostel. The owner is really nice and he's willing to share information about Japan or Nara, etc if you ask him.

      • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank kaffeeanne_87
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 11 September 2011

      A mate and i stayed here for a two nights in May 2011. We had a very large private room to ourselves with only one other person staying in the place. The owners were great people and I very much enjoyed sharing a few stories over some sake with them. I am very much looking forward to staying here again on my return to Japan.

      • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Nath1978
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 26 February 2010

      Mr. Shunju Anzai and his wife made us feel very welcome into their home. They were able to help us with anything we needed. He even drove us to the restaurant for dinner in case we couldn't find it! After dinner, we had a sit-down meeting regarding our sightseeing plan. That was quite unexpected, since we had basically come to Nara to go to the Buddha in Todai-ji Temple. Mr. Anzai is very familiar with the area, and was quite wiling to help us put together our day in Nara. His recommendations were great, and we had a better idea of Nara because of them.

      From what I understand, this machiya opened in December of 2009. The beds looked brand new, and crafted by hand. We had a great sleep on their new, non-creaking beds. They have dorm rooms as well as private rooms, which gives you a lot of budget options. It's a bit of a walk from the JR Nara Station and Todai-ji, but you can take the bus which loops around Nara.

      • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank brainsoup
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews