We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wish come true!”
Review of Nara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nara Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wish come true!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights
And we were booked in the main wing. The typical cleanliness of the Japanese is very well seen, the linens are so crisp, since we were staying for two nights only, I opted not to have our linens changed, to our surprise, it was changed. The staffs are friendly. I couldn't believe, the building was since 1909!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    266
    74
    23
    7
See reviews for
229
237
67
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Nara Hotel for 1 night in 2 rooms. The hotel is set in a lovely location within close proximity to all the sights around Nara.

Our rooms were in the main building and had high ceilings and a view out towards the lake. The rooms are decorated in a 50s style with a nice fireplace and wallpaper throughout the room including the main door! The beds were quite hard but suitable for a good nights sleep after a busy day sightseeing. The bathroom was a good size and one of our rooms featured a 50s pink suite with both hand basin and bath in a light pink colour with wall tiles to match.

We had breakfast at the hotel which was quite an affair. Unlike most hotels, the breakfast was a la carte and served to you stage by stage in a grand dining room by waitresses and waiters dressed as if they were to serve afternoon tea in the 50s. The quality of the food was average but still enough to fuel you for the day.

The decor around the hotel is very "grand", we saw the tea room which was like looking into a time-warp with a large Grandfather Clock, Grand Piano and seats that one might expect to see in a Pyongyang hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a unique experience in modern day Japan.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main block for a full Nara Hotel experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank griggstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
172 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is in great surroundings and the old-fashioned style was extremely exciting to me. I had a nice double room with all the conveniences overlooking the vast gardens, fresh kimono and bath towels everyday, lovely amenities. All was clean and the staff includes several members who speak good English. The hotel is well located, within minutes from the central area by bus which stops very close by. There are several shops near-by, just opposite the street, a Japanese supermarket, a restaurant and even a European-style bakery! The common areas of the hotel are very nice, the staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The breakfast is two types, a Japanese and a US-like, I tried both and I woudl definitely recommend the Japanese style as the other one was not up to my standards for the eggs and the bacon... All in all I would happily go back to Nara, many things to see, like the dear park, and I would certainly return to the hotel. If you are near the central train station, try the underground small market with lots of food items, including doughnuts ! If you come from Osaka airport, there is a bus that stops righ outside the hotel and only costs about 30 USD...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PallasParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I enjoyed staying at this old hotel... if the walls could talk! Take some time to view the montage of pictures of notable visitors in the hallway off the main lobby.

We stayed in the old wing - the room had two twin beds, a small bathroom (with a half-sized bathtub). It was small, but there was still room for two people to move around, even if the moves weren't that well choreographed.

The room has air conditioning and free wi-fi. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is Nara's oldest western hotel and the main building is quite beautiful, with high ceilings and fireplaces in the room. There is a newer wing but I was after a old world experience and chose to stay in the atmospheric main building. The rooms have an old world feel but do have flatscreen TVs and WiFi.
The charm of the hotel is from a bygone era: if you are looking for pools and fitness centers or a hotel with a modern feel then this hotel may not be for you. But if you a looking for a beautiful old hotel with charm and history, a hotel whose past guests have included Charlie Chapman, Albert Einstein, Marlon Brando, Audrey Hepburn and the Dalai Lama then this may be the hotel for you.
There is a nice old fashioned feel to the hotel which is even reflected in the dinning options (I only eat breakfast at the hotel and while the choices were limited I found the food a high quality.
The hotel is close to Nara Park, Tōdai-ji and Kōfuku-ji temples as well as old merchant area of Naramachi. Deer can be seen wandering in the garden and the main dinning room has a good view of Kōfuku-ji's five story pagoda. I found the staff friendly and helpful and used to dealing with western guests.
Yes it is expensive and while there may better value hotels in Nara, there are none that I know that have the charm and atmosphere of the Nara Hotel. I really enjoyed my stay although a part of me felt underdressed for a stay is such a fine old establishment - I for once regretted not packing a suit.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main wing have high ceilings a wood features
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 岩 強
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Beautiful old hotel - worth one night's stay (but don't stay on the weekend where the cost was $350 / night!!!). Dining was very expensive and the food was not great. Walk down town (takes about 10 minutes) and you'll have 50 options for dining - all more affordable and better than that in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MKOC02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This hotel has a distinct 1970's feel. There is some charm to that, but much lacking as well. In a property this size one would expect a fitness center; there is none. Restaurants are expensive and the European menu is extremely traditional. Service is a little stiff. The views, setting, and location in relation to other points of interest in Nara are its primary strengths.

Room Tip: We were in the modern annex and our room was spacious, and had a nice garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nara hotels
Nara Station
Hotel Nikko Nara
Hotel Nikko Nara
#3 of 63 in Nara
1,030 reviews
Noborioji Hotel Nara
#4 of 63 in Nara
63 reviews
Kasuga Hotel
#12 of 63 in Nara
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sunroute Nara
#14 of 63 in Nara
119 reviews
Nara Station
Hotel Fujita Nara
Hotel Fujita Nara
#11 of 63 in Nara
223 reviews
Nara Royal Hotel
#9 of 63 in Nara
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nara Hotel

Property: Nara Hotel
Address: 1096 Takabatake-cho, Nara 630-8301, Nara Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Nara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels / Ryokan in Nara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nara Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Rakuten, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing