We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
311
650
223
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
650
223
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station nice lobby good size comfortable hotel convenient location direct access large supermarket japanese hotels breakfast buffet is japanese food same level ten minute walk small city hotel building the main street main sites jr line
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We stayed at Hotel Nikko Nara July 14-17. We were in Nara for our son's wedding and enjoyed our stay very much. Upon arrival we came from Osaka into the Kintetsu train station, which was a ten minute walk, but an easy walk. When we left Nara, we used the JR Nara Station which is just outside the door to return to Osaka. We also caught a bus to the park from just outside hotel door, where there are a few restaurants and a grocery store too, as well as the restaurants located in the hotel building. There is an information center and Starbucks just across from the building. All in all, it was a central, great location. We were happy with our double room. It was as large as the average American hotel room, but with many extra amenities. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, as was the case in every hotel we stayed at on our trip in Japan. If we ever return, we sill stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TerLem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikko-nara, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Nara, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you very much for staying in Hotel Nikko during your trip to Nara.
We would to thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear that your stay has been comfortable and has met your expectations.
Since providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority, your valuable feedback has been greatly appreciated.
We would like to extend our warmest congratulations on your son’s wedding! Please convey our very best wishes for great happiness in their new life.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

A nice hotel with professional and friendly (English speaking) service. As others have written this hotel is very well located adjacent to JR Nara station and two minute’s walk from the main street which leads up the popular sights.

I stayed in a double room which was very spacious and adequately equipped. Windows didn’t open but there was an air purifier and easy to us A/C controls.

The rooms were clean though a couple of spots could have done with a bit of dusting such as the top of the phone in the bathroom.

Amenities (shampoo/earbuds/comb) were available as expected so no issues there.
Bathroom was a little small compared for the size of the room but not an issue for me.

The slight drawbacks however were being issued a regular key as opposed to a card key which should be the norm everywhere now and you could smell the drains in the bathroom a bit.
Also the WIFI is very weak (even at 24:00) so I ended up just using my cell data as the WiFi wouldn’t even load a web page at times.
After check out I had no issues at all leaving my bag at reception while I went sightseeing.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Thank you!

Though I didn’t stay in one the single rooms they looked very small (typical Japanese business hotel style) so if possible spend a bit extra for a nice big double room (even as a solo traveler) to avoid that claustrophobic feeling.
Great hotel and would definitely stay again. Even though it seems not to have a bar (but a plethora of restaurants!)

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ktari3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikko-nara, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Nara, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Nikko for your recent trip to Nara.
We gladly read your review and appreciated your valuable feedback about our hotel staff, service and location. We are also pleased to hear that you felt comfortable about your room size and amenities. However we apologize about the dusty spots you found. We like to address it immediately to provide the highest level of hospitality.
As regards the WI - FI signal weakness, the enhancement work of the access point is currently under study. We will do our best to provide better service in the future.
On your encouraging words, from now on we will continue to work to improve the service to satisfy all of our customers.
When visiting Nara, we hope that you can recommend Hotel Nikko Nara, easily reachable from the west exit of JR Nara Station, directly on the left of the ticket gate.
Thank you again for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

I have friends in Nara and as a joke I told them the hotel picture looks like a hospital ;-) In person, it looks much better!
Of the 5 hotels I've stayed in during this Japan trip, this one was the best. Larger than "Japan normal" rooms and nice easy access from Nara JR Station.
My only complaint was no English TV stations available.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivaHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikko-nara, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Nara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Nikko for your recent trip to Nara.
We gladly read your review and appreciated your valuable feedback about the size of our rooms and proximity to JR Nara Station.
However, we are sorry that our TV channels offering did not meet your expectations. We hope you can forgive this inconvenience and not let it stop you from staying with us again.
On the encouraging words we have received from you, from now on we will continue to work to improve the service to satisfy all of our customers.
When visiting Nara, we hope that you can recommend Hotel Nikko Nara, easily reachable from the west exit of JR Nara Station, directly on the left of the ticket gate.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Thank you again for your kind review.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

As they say location,location, location... this hotel is in the center of everything when visiting nara. Situated just a minute away from the train station, surrounded by good restaurant and of course grocery stores. About 5 minutes walk to the bus station going to narra park or just a 30-45 minutes to the park when your in the mood for a morning walk.
The hotel itself is good compare to other hotels in japan, spacious and clean. Of course its a nikko hotel so expect pricing would be an issue to an average traveller so better go out in the nearby restaurant for a meal.
Overall, our stay was very good.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank coolfox96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikko-nara, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Nara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you very much for using Hotel Nikko for your recent trip to Nara.
We gladly read your review and appreciate your valuable feedback on our position in the heart of Nara city. We are also pleased to hear that your stay has met your expectations and you felt comfortable about our hotel spaces and cleanliness.

On the encouraging words we have received from you, from now on we will continue to work to improve the service to satisfy all of our customers.
When visiting Nara, we hope that you can recommend Hotel Nikko Nara, easily reachable from the west exit of JR Nara Station, directly on the left of the ticket gate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

This hotel was less upscale than some of the others we frequented in Japan, but it was fine. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the location (adjacent to the JR train station) was very convenient. The staff was polite and helpful. I found it odd that the doors to the bottom floor of the hotel were locked when I got up at around 530 am. So were the doors to the gym facility. Finally, the room was quite small though I suppose (in fairness) this is not unusual in Japan. Wouldn't stay there again if I had better options, but it was adequate.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikko-nara, 支配人 at Hotel Nikko Nara, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Nikko for your recent trip to Nara.
We gladly read your review and appreciate your valuable feedback on our breakfast offering, our staff politeness and helpfulness as well as our proximity to JR Nara Station.
However, we are sorry that the access to the bottom floor has been difficult in the early morning.
This hotel does not have a gym facility. There are a beauty center, a Japanese public bath, a massage corner and exercise bicycles on the 6th floor, but unfortunately the amusement area is closed at that time for safety reason.
Also we are sorry that the room size did not meet your expectations.
As a future reference in hotel management we will strive to improve the service to satisfy all of our customers.

We hope you can forgive this inconvenience and not let it stop you from staying with us again. You can reach the entrance directly from the west exit of Nara station, exiting the door on the left immediately after the ticket gates.

Thank you again for your kind review.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews