We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel Near Kansai Airport”
Review of Kanku Joytel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kanku Joytel Hotel
Sunnyvale, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable Hotel Near Kansai Airport”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I needed a hotel near the Kansai airport, that was inexpensive had an airport shuttle and ideally offered a western breakfast. The Best West fit the bill. The hotel is clean and the room was comfortable and typical for a single room in Japan. Internet was free and speed was OK. The hotel offers a free breakfast which includes Japanese and western choices. The choices were limited but it was good for me since i don't eat a heavy breakfast. As far as eating options or things to see/do around the hotel are limited, however the train station is right there so getting around is not a problem. I was on the 8th floor and my room faced the tracks but there was no noise problem from the train. The staff was friendly and overall the hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    122
    82
    21
    10
See reviews for
45
51
75
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

In our opinion this is not a "budget hotel" since, according to other comments, we paid much less for much better places in Japan. It is an airport hotel with convenient shuttle bus; therefore, it’s maybe ok to stay one night if you come to Kansai after a long trip. But we don’t recommend this for a longer stay (what we did).
The room was located to the rail tracks, and this was very loud even late in the night. Moreover, it was clearly a smoker room, and the front desk didn’t help at all to change the room – even for other days. Although the chief promised that the room will be cleaned with a special “Ozon” cleaner nothing happened. Also the furniture is not new, but this was not important for us. After having seen so many beautiful hotels (also less expensive) this “best western” was the worst by far.

Room Tip: Never take a room to the rail tracks! If you are required to stay in this hotel take "see side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris_511keV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Izumisano hotels

Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We only managed to stay a night and did not get to use its osen facilities or have breakfast there. We would love to try this hotel again. It was clean,and the staff were friendly. It is located near the train station which is 10mins away from the Kansai International airport (Provided you take the correct train! >.<) The hotel does provide free airport transfer but do check the timings as it is not frequent and not for the whole day. We caught the first bus leaving the hotel for the domestic airport.
There were many shops nearby and also a street with quaint little restaurants. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simplyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I see this reviewed as a "budget hotel," but we paid much less for much better places in Japan. Then again, it is an airport hotel and I realize that changes things. It IS convenient, and I suppose that is what matters most. We took the Haruka train from Kyoto directly to Osaka's Kansai airport then backtracked one stop on a local line to get to the hotel, which is right by the train station - very convenient. The hotel shuttle in the morning was convenient as well.
The rooms were small, the beds were not very comfortable, the restaurant was pretty lousy and, aside from the airport, there seemed to be nothing of interest in the immediate area. I certainly wouldn't make this my base for touring around Osaka(!) but for a night's sleep before catching a flight, it was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing AWAY from the train station. The noise of the trains and station kept us awake...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank propaneKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Friendly, helpful staff, good meals. Convenient location. Free bus to and from the airport and also to Rinku Town Premium Outlet. Rooms are small and pokey but they function as they should. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Icarus3619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is not located at the airport. 2 stops via JR train. Walk about 1/2 block if that to hotel. The hotel is basic, no frills but fine for a layover. My room on the 5th floor was small, but expected by Japanese standards for hotel rooms. Bed was lumpy and rather low to the ground. Carpet looked old, but the room was clean. There's a restaurant off the lobby and I had the buffet dinner which was okay - not a great selection, and the ambience was so-so. Had a early a.m. flight and the airport shuttle was on time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGP1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I've stayed previously but this time was horrible! Most things were okay but for some reason the central heating was stuck on high. A call to reception had the staff saying it was on 25 degrees and no we couldn't change the temp, and no no-one would come to our room to check it. There was NO WAY this was 25! I'm from Australia and 25 is cool for us, this was at least 30 degrees. We spent an hour trying to override the safety on the windows so let some cool air in but to no avail and ended up sleeping on top of the covers, dripping in sweat.
Blegh, never again. Which is a shame because Hineno is close to friends and on the main train line into Osaka.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodchuck_jw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Izumisano hotels
Kanku Onsen
Kansai Airport Spa Hotel Garden Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
First Hotel
#5 of 21 in Izumisano
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanku Joytel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanku Joytel Hotel

Property: Kanku Joytel Hotel
Address: 4066 Hineno, Izumisano 598-0021, Osaka Prefecture (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Kansai Airport)
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Izumisano
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Izumisano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanku Joytel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kanku Joytel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanku Hineno Station Izumisano
Kanku Joytel Hotel Osaka Prefecture, Japan - Izumisano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing