We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet suburb area, small, clean, 15 minutes train ride from tokyo..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Reiah Hotel Ohtsu Ishiyama
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Otsu
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“quiet suburb area, small, clean, 15 minutes train ride from tokyo..”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel is about 15 minutes ride from Kyoto, and if you use the JR 3 days pass, you have to pay an extra 190 yen. If you plan to explore Kyoto, it is better if you find a hotel inside the city.
The room is small but clean, not much space to move in, which is expected in Japanese hotel rooms with affordable price.
The staff at the receptionist are quite fluent in english so it's an added bonus. Nearby there's a Mcdonald and FamilyMart.
During my stay here I went to visit Arashiyama and Inari, so the location of the hotel which is near the JR station was quite an advantage.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bastianbalthazarbux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    72
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
61
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yangon Region, Myanmar
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed here with my 2 yr old daughter & wife during weekend visit to Kyoto, a quick 14 minute local train ride away.

The manager told me the hotel opened in 2011. It still looks new. It is cleaner than some 4* hotels in Tokyo that charge $300 per night, but is also rather spartan.

I didn't much care for the included breakfast, but the toast was okay and enough to get me on my way for the day.

The only negative experience was that although we had booked (on-line) a twin room, we were told upon check-in that no such room was available. We were given a key to a room with only one bed. I complained about this, and 15 minutes later we were told a twin room was now available and so we changed rooms. I don't know what really happened, but at least we got a bigger room and two beds (the twin bed rooms are significantly bigger than the rooms with one bed, but only cost a small amount more).

The bathroom was tiny with a small bathtub with a shower nozzle, but was fine (and clean). It reminded me of a bathroom in a RV (recreational vehicle).

For dinner, a woman at the front desk of the hotel gave us a map with a list of different nearby restaurants. We walked to a ramen noodle shop about 2 or 3 blocks away and had a fun experience.

As others have mentioned, the hotel is visible from the train station and is perhaps 100 metres away. However, we didn't experience any issues with noise from the trains - and I'm a light sleeper.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful and had a greater understanding of english than most staff at other tourist facilities in the area.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and book a twin room (two beds). This will give you a larger room that won't feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RangerfromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We started planning our trip to Kyoto quite late and this was one of the few places left available. In fact, this was a great find!

The distance to Kyoto station is 30 minutes. And the trains run every 5-15 minutes. That is very much acceptable for your visit to Kyoto. The Hotel is just by the train station.

The Hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. Breakfast is inclusive - you can stuff yourselves with delicious curry or go for an international breakfast option. The choice is not big but the quality is fine.

Facilities are adequate. Rooms are standard size for a business hotel (i.e. semi double bed is 120cm) and the aircon is simple and effective (with a manual in English). The staff are friendly and helpful.

Overall we enjoyed our stay in Kyoto and the hotel was a good place to lay down and start yourself up in the morning for another day of temple run/ Gion stalking.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are bearable for non-smokers but hardly. Breakfast area gets busy after 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maciej T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

It's in Ishiyama, which is about 15 minutes by train from Kyoto. It's only good to stay there if you want to explore Ishiyama or when hotels in Kyoto are fully booked. If you want to explore Kyoto, it's better to stay in Kyoto City. Though this hotel is within walking distance to the train station, there is nothing much to do around the hotel. There is a convenient store and a McDonald nearby and surrounded by several small restaurants. But the prices in those restaurants are very expensive! Those restaurants don't have English menus and staff don't speak English. Even you point at the most simple dishes, they end up charging you a fortune. So better have your meals in Kyoto Station or just get something in McDonald or the convenient store. Never stay in smoking rooms at this hotel if you are non-smokers b'cause the smell is so strong that you almost can't tolerate. Breakfast is included but almost nothing to eat.

Room Tip: Only book the non-smoking rooms if you are a non-smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tote919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Chanced upon this hotel coincidentally because Kyoto is busy over this period. Hotel rates were sky high so it dawned upon me that I should consider hotels on the outskirts to save some cost.

I was pleasantly pleased with the location. Hotel Reiah is a short 2 minutes walk away from Ishiyama JR! You can hear the trains pass by if you leave the room windows open so you would not miss it. The station is approximately 5 stops away from Kyoto JR (around 20 min) and costs ¥230 per person each way; which is rather affordable in my opinion.

Service staff were responsive and understand English perfectly. Although at times, they can be over eager when it comes to payments i.e. parking charges, late check-out charges etc.

Room size is sufficient although I wished that the toilet was bigger. The room was not considered spick-and-span for Japanese standard (I found hair from the previous occupant). Nonetheless, it is generally well-maintained. Firm Serta beds were offered, providing us with good rest over the course of 3 nights. Free breakfast came along with the room. However they only serve it from 6.30am to 9am which is useless for people who like to sleep in a little more during holidays like my spouse and I.

One downside that made us very uncomfortable was the hotel did not provide do not disturb signs. Varying from 9am to 10am daily, the housekeeping staff will knock on your door or simply allow herself into your room without permission! The housekeepers tend to make up every room on the same level all at the same time (step by step). No safes were provided, at least for my room. So please take extra caution with regards to your valuables.

All in all, this is a no-frills hotel that satisfies travelers' basic needs. I would recommend it to budget driven tourists who do not mind a little travelling for a different experience in the areas less travelled.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si Min L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Initially, everything had gone well. We had arrived at the hotel early with our heavy luggage from Osaka and were pleasantly surprised to be told that our room was available. In our group I had a friend travelling along who was going to be staying with a local host later that evening and we decided to dump all our bags into the hotel room for safekeeping before heading out to visit attractions in Kyoto. Upon return, we were informed by the hotel front desk staff that rules said that three people were not allowed in the room and they would charge us 2000yen for my friend coming up to the room. It's completely unprofessional that the front desk had not informed about such rules until AFTER we had been up to the room, left our bags, headed out for the day in Kyoto and returned. And NO where is it stated in my booking vouchers, or in signs about external guests not being able to enter into guest rooms.Certainly an easy way for the hotel to earn a quick buck by preying on a guest's lack of knowledge.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Hotel was in a great location but very basic. Compared to some places in Japan room was ok as far as room size. No internet in rooms, as advertised, had to go to lobby. Was noisy from traffic lights beeping. Rooms were clean and smoke free for non smoking rooms. Easy to do washing. Breakfast was nice. Next to train station so was easy access to Kyoto. Would I stay there again..... probably not. As a family we had to book 2 rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otsu hotels
Smile Hotel Otsuseta
#9 of 44 in Otsu
67 reviews
Biwako Hotel
#1 of 44 in Otsu
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Oak Hotel
#8 of 44 in Otsu
195 reviews
Otsu Station
Super Hotel Otsuekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reiah Hotel Ohtsu Ishiyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reiah Hotel Ohtsu Ishiyama

Property: Reiah Hotel Ohtsu Ishiyama
Address: 9-21 Awazucho, Otsu 520-0832, Shiga Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Shiga Prefecture > Otsu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Otsu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Reiah Hotel Ohtsu Ishiyama 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Reiah Hotel Ohtsu Ishiyama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reiah Hotel Ohtsu Ishiyama Otsu, Japan - Shiga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing