We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
19
57
17
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
57
17
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Stayed 2 nights for less than $150 including daily two breakfast. Very good deal !

A local chain hotel, very convenient location, walk 5 minutes to JR Wakayama station or 3 minutes Airport limousine bus station.
Front desk able to communicate in English, room was spacious, excellent free Wifi, breakfast with good choice of western and Japanese food, very helpful staff.

Will stay again if we visit Wakayama again.

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank Ukulele-sam1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to the good reviews we read on TripAdvisor.

Urban hotel Wakayama was indeed one of the newest hotel around the area. We were given the room at level 11 and it came with a big space with massage chair in the centre of the room.

All basis amenities were provided but when we tried to find the kettle at the usual tv console area, we couldn't find it. No choice, we made a call to the reception counter. The staff whom was a guy at that moment wasn't very friendly. We tried to explain with Japanese and mix English, he still could not get what we want. Instead of helping us by coming to our room, he just slammed our phone after we gave up explaining. That was the turning point that we were very disappointed by the service they rendered to us. In the end, we ransacked the room and found the kettle, ironing metal board, towels and hair dryer inside the closet. Sigh!

Beside this encounter, we were given a smoking room. There was smell lingering around every time we walked into the room. However, we managed to spray some fresh scent by using the clothing spray they provided.

The location of the hotel was just 5 min walk from the Wakayama JR station. Use the left hand exit (not main exit), walk thru' the carpark, cross the traffic light, pass by 7-11 and you will see it on your left. Washing machine and dryer were provided.

No much eateries could be find around the hotel after 7pm. It was a secluded old town I must say but the pace here was so much slower. Our two nights stay came with breakfast which started at 7-9.30 am and the breakfast were very simple yet delicious.

Having the bad experience we encountered, we don't think we will choose this hotel again.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hapiecutiepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Only a block from the Rail Station, within walking distance of Wakayama Castle. 7 Eleven with ATM just around the corner. Breakfast included, and helpful staff. Arrived early but staff were happy for us to leave our bags there, before going exploring the city.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

The hotel is very convenient. It is near the JR station. There are lot of restaurant choices around the JR station. There is a 24hr convenience store nearby. Good! Although the room is a little bit small, but it is clean. Breakfast is included, so while comparing against the price, it is worth to choose this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank samsam_lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

We enjoyed our 2-night stay in this hotel. The rooms are spacious and the hotel staff could speak good English. It is situated in a convenient place with 2 convenient store nearby which is 7-eleven and Lawson. Parking is also nearby, just across the road. This hotel also provided buffet breakfast, enough varieties for a breakfast with Japanese food choices.

Room tip: Room 1111 - good view.
Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DorothyCheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews