We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oriented to tourists seeking for fun”
Review of Hotel Resol Hakata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Resol Hakata
Ranked #11 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
Hamamatsu, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oriented to tourists seeking for fun”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Basically - Not at all recommended to families with small children/adolescents, just because the hotel is literally surrounded, as has been repeatedly mentioned, deeply by an ATMOSPHERE of, and people working for, adult entertainment - yes it can be disgusting in a sense and would be a nightmare for tourists first-ever to Japan.
The ATMOSPHERE itself is neither provocative nor hazardous, and it can be intriguing if you have some anthropological sort of curiosity for Japanese nightlife. For me, just walking around the hotel was fun and thus I appreciated the location of this hotel.
If you are from some other countries, my recommendation - start wandering at 21:00; walk along the river and around the Nakasu island; drop in at any grabjoint riverside and try local Tempura, Yakitori and Ramen with affordable prices. In a small grabjoint (food stall; you sit down on a form with a couple of other customers), you can expect some sociable sides of Japanese people; people in Fukuoka, particularly women, are a bit more sociable, kind, and talkative than Japanese from other areas. The end of the tour may be around midnight, but you would like to walk further to Tenjin area, where there are some nice spots for music lovers - one of nice features of Fukuoka.
This kind of fun is easily expected because the hotel is located in the very centre of Fukuoka. One-minute walk from the Tube station "Nakasu-Kawabata", and you can walk to Tenjin, a commercial and transportation centre of Fukuoka, in 5 minutes. From Tenjin Bus Terminal, Saga, Nagasaki, Oita and Kumamoto are within a 2- to 3-hour ride with affordable prices.
One additional nice thing about this hotel is that, on top of the hotel (14th floor), you can enjoy jumping into a huge "Onsen" bath tub. If you are an "Onsen lover", you will be amused to have nice views of Fukuoka while in the bath tub. Of course I enjoyed it.
Like many other hotels in Japan with the price of >7000JPY (single occupancy) per night, internet ready, airconditioning fine-tuned, clean; security is OK. Unlike many other hotels in Japan with the price of <10,000JPY, breakfast was nice; I preferred the breakfast served at this hotel to breakfast at MacDonald or of a similar sort.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank kjt08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    198
    38
    10
    1
See reviews for
69
40
66
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

New hotel, over-hyped with average location where there are bars, night clubs with plenty of ladies and guys asking you especially if you are a male walking alone or in a group. Tiny rooms, better off if you choose older hotels with bigger space.

Noise is a issue when you are constantly hear, see drunks shouting.

For my stay - am unsure why we were given low floors eventhough we had booked almost a month agao requesting high floors - maybe biased towards foreigners?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ota001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights, our first time in Fukuoka. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from NAKASA-KAWABATA station, which is in the middle of everything(between Tenjin & Hakata). The hotel was very clean...I'm pretty picky about sanitation, but I didn't see a speck of dust, a piece of hair or any smudges anywhere. I was very pleased with that :) Seems like it's a pretty new hotel from the looks of everything. House services came to clean our room daily & I saw they vacuum every time which I've seen many higher star hotels not do...!

There is a public bath on the 14th floor which I took a peak inside. People seemed to utilize this hotel feature a lot. The lobby is on the 13th floor, and you need card access to get to any other floors so it feels very safe.

LOVED that there is a convenience store connected to the hotel...restaurant and bar as well which we didn't go to.

Service was your typical good Japanese service. Very attentive, polite and helpful. It's the little things...like when we had a late morning start, they probably heard us in the room so they didn't knock & instead politely called to ask us when we'd like them to come by. Very considerate.

CONS? What I liked least is that it is in the red light district. I wouldn't recommend this place to a girl traveling solo. It's safe, but just doesn't feel...comfortable. Hosts and hostesses swarm the sidewalks at night, looking for their next customer. Even during the day, you still see some of these people on the sidewalk. Thankfully the hotel lobby is on the 13th floor, and close enough to the station on a main road(not on a side road which feels more shady) that it wasn't too much of a problem. Also, there is an 'all women' floor which you can request which requires an extra card access which I think was really well thought out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel was 1 month old when we stayed. The location is central to most things, especially the girly nightlife.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seoul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Now, I am staying in this hotel. Room is very clean and all the amenities are new. It seems tp me that this hotel has been remodeled recently. In this room, there is a nice humidifier that helps a lot in this winter time when the can be very dry for the hot air. This hotel also has a convenient store at the first floor. Bath room is very clean and internet is free to connect with my laptop computer. There is a nice LCD TV in this room, but shows only Japanes channels, no CNN or BBC (no Enlgish speaking channel). This hotel is in the middle of night-life area so there are lots of bars and drinking places. However, it is not noisy at all...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank icrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Nakasu Kawabata Station
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
#1 of 185 in Fukuoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakata Station
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
#3 of 185 in Fukuoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Nakasu Kawabata Station
Hakata Excel Hotel Tokyu
Hakata Excel Hotel Tokyu
#18 of 185 in Fukuoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Hakata Station
Dormy Inn Hakata Gion
Dormy Inn Hakata Gion
#7 of 185 in Fukuoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Resol Hakata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Resol Hakata

Property: Hotel Resol Hakata
Address: 4-4-10 Nakasu, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka 810-0801, Fukuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Resol Hakata 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Resol Hakata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing