We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Fukuoka
Ranked #29 of 191 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My family spent two nights in the Hyatt Regency Fukuoka in Mid-May 2014. The hotel places at a quiet and decent location, though requires about 10 minutes walk to the JR Hakata station. The building and the rooms are nicely maintained. The carpet is a bit old, but all the things are absolutely clean. We (four adults and two very young kids) had two standard twin rooms and the space was adequate for us. The windows cannot be opened yet the air-conditioning is good. The rooms are really quiet and comfortable. Noise nuisance from corridor and other rooms are minimal. Our rooms were totally free from any road traffic noises.
All hotel staff are really helpful and courteous, though a few of them does not speak any English at all (yet they try hard to answer me).
The breakfast buffet offered a number of food varieties. The only complaint was that breads were rather hard and dry.
I have parked my car in the hotel basement carpark and the hotel charges 1500 yen per car for a night. There seemed to have at least two types of parking spaces. The smaller ones were found near the carpark entrance, and larger ones were found near the exit. The carpark, as I observed, was rather full. I drove out directly from the carpark and I was charged 6800 yen for an overnight parking! I got refunded afterwards. Staff told me that I should present the carpark ticket to the front desk for their processing before driving out for getting the discounted car park rate. The hotel front yard allowed my temporary parking. In addition, the hotel is very close to an entrance/exit of the Fukuoka Urban Expressway. So it is convenient if you drive.
The hotel rooms may not be trendy or fancy, but as I am traveling with my family, I am still very satisfied with this comfortable, quiet, clean, and decent hotel. However, the down side is that, it seems a bit far away from the major shopping areas and tourist attraction points.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_Chan_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I would not expect the quality as the Grand Hyatt but the room has no difference than a typical domestic Japanese brand hotel which may cost less. We have the option to have a Japanese or Western buffet breakfast. We tried both and they are good. But for Japanese, it is a set and no free coffee offered.

Location is two blocks away from the Hakata JR and subway stations, about 5 to 10 minutes walk. For the same pricing and quality, I would prefer those hotels near the JR station for convenience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Winghong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed in the Hyatt Regency Fukuoka over Christmas.It wasn't what we expected from the Hyatt group seeing that we've stayed in Hyatt hotels before.
Check-in was very formal and polite.No smiles!
We had to carry our own luggage and this for a four star hotel!
The rooms are very dated.Feels like you've gone back to the 80's Japan. Really a tired look to it! What a pity!
The bathrooms are also very old and outdated.Not in a classical way unfortunately!
The breakfast was a solemn affair.Really nice food,but the staff were unfriendly and wouldn't care less about your well-being.
Give this hotel a skip.Totally overpriced and certainly no value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnofTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We were disappointed by the small room size at this Hyatt compared to the Grand Hyatt across town. Also club level rooms do not have WI-FI only wired Internet access. You had to go to regency club lounge or stand outside regency club lounge to access WI-FI. You would think Hyatt at least would have WI-FI available in club level rooms. Although television had CNN, it was bilingual broadcasted in Japanese and you could not remove bilingual option. Even called front desk to ask and was told unable remove bilingual so basically this Hyatt does not have any English television which is unacceptable. Air conditioning didn't work and when we asked, they told us to open room window for cooler air. Regency club breakfast very limited and for Regency club guests the additional charge for guests to join us for breakfast was very high cost 3000 yen and not worth it. Staff didn't speak as fluent English as the Grand Hyatt across town and front desk staff was either new employees or not confident at job. Service was lacking and at times seemed unfriendly. Hyatt needs to improve services of hotel otherwise hotel should not carry Hyatt name.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank FlySurf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Friendly hotel conveniently located near Hakata train station. Approximately 7- 10 minutes walking to train station. Hotel has a nice breakfast buffet for $21. I especially liked the grilled fish and corn soup. There's also a French pastry shop just outside the entry. Very affordable and cozy. So many things to choose from...

Staff was friendly, polite and some spoke English very we'll. room had a lot of amenities from shaving cream and razors, tooth brushes and tooth paste to shower caps. Not to mention tea and mini bar. Yes, western toilets; heated too. The beds may seem firm, but give it a couple of nights, you'll get used to it...

In summary, convenient location and over all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kona-kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed one night at this hotel while in transit to the onsen areas.
Location: very convenient. 10-15 min cab ride from International Airport (1350 yen) and 10 min walk to Hakata JR Station.
Room: very spacious and clean. We booked a twin room with 2 beds. The room is more spacious than expected.
In-room amenities: very basic, and rather old design. If the hotel could have a complete makeover, I think it will attract many more guest.
Service: acceptable. There was no bell boy to help with our luggages at the entrance. However, check-in and out was smooth.
Others: There are 2 restaurants right in front of the hotel. We didn't have time this time, but will definitely save some time to try them out as they look really stylish.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Miss_Cheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed 1 night in Fukuoka Hyatt Regency during our recent trip through Korea and Japan. The hotel was built 20 years ago (had anniversary posters around hotel) and the rooms were not updated since then.

Overall nice hotel and the service was good. But the rooms are a bit small and the location is a bit outside the areas where tourists would mostly go - for that reason I'm scoring average for it. It is close to the Shinkansen station (7min walk) though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aplamse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
#9 of 191 in Fukuoka
1,007 reviews
Hakata Station
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
#3 of 191 in Fukuoka
1,222 reviews
Nakasu Kawabata Station
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
#1 of 191 in Fukuoka
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ANA Crowne Plaza Fukuoka
#14 of 191 in Fukuoka
862 reviews
Tenjin Station
Hotel New Otani Hakata
Hotel New Otani Hakata
#25 of 191 in Fukuoka
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Fukuoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Fukuoka

Address: 2-14-1 Hakataeki Higashi Hakataku, Fukuoka 812-0013, Fukuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Hakata Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fukuoka
#26 Business Hotel in Fukuoka
Price Range: £90 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Fukuoka 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Fukuoka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Fukuoka Hotel Fukuoka
Hyatt Fukuoka
Fukuoka Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing