We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in the middle of Branded Shops”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel
Ranked #48 of 190 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was on a package tour and they checked us in this hotel.

It is an amazing location, in the middle of Canal City. But bear in mind that Canal City might not be the best place for shopping.

The room is bigger than I expected, so is the bathroom. I love the mattress, which I think its slumberland! Those that I experienced are much much smaller. However, the hotel does have a small lobby. If you have a chance, please try the japanese set breakfast set at level 1 restaurant. (I did not tried the international breakfast buffet.)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Last night was my first stay at this hotel in Fukuoka city , and I've stayed at many business hotels there .

I reserved my room via the net in Japanese . When I checked in , they couldn't find my reservation in the computer . Asked me to write my name on a slip of paper in katakana , which I did , but still they couldn't find it . Next they asked me to write my name in English , and alas , they finally found it . Minor problem but one I never experienced before in a Japanese hotel .

Got to my room and tried to call a friend via the room's phone . No bueno . I dialed zero before the local number but kept getting a recording telling me I had to push 186 before dialing . ? I tried that but still NG . Called the front desk and after a while they sent someone to check the phone . Got the impression that because I was a foreigner I didn't know what I was doing . Staff dialed 0 + the number and - no bueno . She apologized , and I asked her if there was a public phone in the hotel ( I don't own a cell phone ) , and she answered there was one on the 1st floor , which , thankfully , worked .

Room was a bit on the cramped side ( as was the unit bath ) but relatively clean . Excellent bed / pillow .

I paid 4600 yen and that was certainly a bargain , all things considered . I plan on staying here again next month . Hopefully check-in will go smoother and the phone will work .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushiman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is just by Canal City (a big shopping and leisure area 10 minutes away from Hakata station). Standard Japanese Rooms, with a standard bathroom, fridge, basic coffee-making facilities and free high speed WiFi. They are too strict with check-in and check-out times and cleaning is not perfect. From Hakata station a taxi is just 550Yenes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ropongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Fine business like hotel at central location next door to a shopping mall. Rooms were spacious to Japanese standards. All amenities available. Breakfast room was OK, be it a bit hectic.
Hotel restaurant serves good food, but is fairly quiet.
It is more fun to eat outside at the Yatai food stall on the embankment along the river.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddy-010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Really clean and nice hotel
Friendly and above and beyond service
Basement leads right to canal city shops and restaurants
2 restaurants connected to the lobby
The 100yen loop bus stops 5 steps from the lobby
Taxi cabs line up in front of the lobby also for quick trasportation to the airport
About a 12 minute walk to Hakata station but we didn't have to use it too much
Rates were decent and up to 4 beds in one room
free wifi in the whole hotel. Easy to connect.
I would stay here again especially with family
Very close to nakasu area also
20 minute walk to tenjin
Love the near by seafood open market

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Huge hotel in even bigger shoppingcentre. Not a cosy little hotel but modern.
Room was a little bigger than we were used here in Japan. Perfect facilities! Just Everything you'll need.
AND free WIFI in the room!
Staff, like everywhere, very helpfull. With lots of information about the town at the reception.
Location is great! Walkable from the trainstation. In a big nice shoppingcentre, so if you like shopping very easy. With on the 5th floor a very nice 'ramen' restaurant! Tip!
On one side of the hotel is the river, with at night the famous local foodstalls. And modern nightlife and parkarea. On the other side of the hotel are many wonderful shrines. Especially the one with the huge wooden budha.
Very good place to stay. We had a good deal with booking, so price quality was very good!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Piet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Modern hotel, part of a giant retail complex. If you are into lots of stores and restaurants in the same complex this hotel is for you. If you would rather have a quaint Japanese hotel this is not the place.

Modern, medium sized rooms(for Japan), beds are ok and the bathroom was ok. The room was very hot, but the window does open for ventilation.

No English TV programing

Buffet Breakfast was good if you like Asian food(I do) , very poor selection of western food.

Lots of restaurants in the mall and neighborhood.

One issue is that you can't park in front of the hotel. We had a bus which we parked across the street, but you are not supposed to cross the street, you have to take a bridge to the mall which takes 10- 15 minutes to get to the hotel, rather than just walking across the street which takes 3 minutes .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Sutton Hotel Hakata City
#81 of 190 in Fukuoka
271 reviews
Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
#9 of 190 in Fukuoka
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nakasu Kawabata Station
Hakata Excel Hotel Tokyu
Hakata Excel Hotel Tokyu
#19 of 190 in Fukuoka
485 reviews
the b hakata
#34 of 190 in Fukuoka
406 reviews
Hakata Station
Hyatt Regency Fukuoka
Hyatt Regency Fukuoka
#29 of 190 in Fukuoka
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel

Address: 1-2-20 Sumiyoshi, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka 812-0018, Fukuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka > Hakata Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 190 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range: £54 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel is located in Canal City Hakata, a large shopping and entertainment complex. The hotel offers the most up-to-date facilities and services for a convenient and comfortable stay. Whether you’re here for business, shopping, or sightseeing, Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel is here to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canal City Fukuoka Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing