We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very designish hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Il Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Il Palazzo
Ranked #24 of 190 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is the third time I stayed at this hotel. Before, it was for business so I did not get a chance to scroll around the area and just "in and out". As a business traveler, I love the design elements in this hotel, feeling very modern & hip. The only grief is there is no readily Wi-Fi connection (but got cable internet access) and seems a bit inconvenient to have to use a router to connect to all my i-devices. This time, as a leisure traveler, I have time to walk around the area and found this location in great location, within walking distance to Canal City, also close to a lot of good restaurants and the infamous local "street hawkers" along the canal. The hotel upgraded me to a suite this time which is extra bonus with the space especially the bathroom. Buffet breakfast is plentiful with a lot of local produce and service is excellent. Though not all staff are fluent in English, everyone tries hard and can communicate well with non-Japanese speaking guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Selected this hotel as it is part of the SLH and I wanted to avoid the usual chains on my recent trip.
It's a typical millennium-style boutique hotel in a dark colour scheme, showing some wear and tear, but still in acceptable, clean condition. Bar and restaurant are on the hip-side for my taste (and do not keep up with their promise, quality-wise), so better skip them as there are plenty of other options close by. That said, service is still top-notch Japanese-style and rooms are of decent size with a walk-in shower and large tub. Breakfast buffet offers a huge choice of western and Japanese options.
Would I return? Probably, but while it is more personal than the big chains, it still lacks the certain something to get above-average rating.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank aferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Nicely decorated hotel with interesting exterior and interior. I was there for one night along with my girlfriend. The location is a bit hard to find and the parking lot... There is just not enough. What is the best about the hotel is the location where it's nearby virtually everything. It's merely 10 min. walk to Tenshin area for shopping and there is night street food place (Yaitai) just across the bridge. One issue we had was with the breakfast. They serve breakfast until 10:30am, we were there to start around 10am only to find out the entire restaurant was fully occupied. One of the servers told us to wait outside the frontdesk area. After waiting for 10 min, we haven't heard a single a thing from anyone from the restaurant. We knew there had been at least 2~3 couples that just walked out of the restaurant providing 2~3 tables ready to serve. The staff might have forgotten about this, but at an SLH level, this is not acceptable. Other than that, our stay was okay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddybear1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

A modern character hotel.
Very friendly helpful staff
Hotel is very conveniently located for access to transport, restaurants and shopping.
Main restaurant requires a days notice but there are a Sushi and a Tepanyaki restaurant on the ground floor underneath.
No wireless but free LAN cable connection.
Spacious rooms

Room Tip: North facing room has some outlook if you get a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Pros:

-Spacious rooms
-Fast LAN internet
-Courteous staff

Cons:

-Location is not perfect; taxi drivers have a hard time finding it.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank Cool M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Stayed here 2 nights. Fantastic funky boutique hotel. Very nice staff and excellent service. The bar and restaurant area are very sleek with modern groovy design and quite beautiful. Room was lovely and the bed was so big it was like being in a swimming pool. Great shower, huge bathtub and 10 functions for the loo. 5 minute walk to downtown Fukuoka with department centres and shops galore in Tenjin. Amazing restaurants everywhere will definetly be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frangipani12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I have found this hotel thruogh SLH iPhone application at a very good price. Rooms are spacious, for japanese standards, and furniture very high level. Location is nice, but not the best, being a bit hidden in a narrow side road. Japanese staff can speak a good english. Only remark: gym/swimming pool is not available, it was expected in this king of hotel. Breakfast: good for quality and quantity.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessio315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
5th Hotel West
#120 of 190 in Fukuoka
75 reviews
Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
#9 of 190 in Fukuoka
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nakasu Kawabata Station
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
Hotel Okura Fukuoka
#1 of 190 in Fukuoka
640 reviews
Hotel Resol Hakata
#11 of 190 in Fukuoka
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Palazzo

Address: 3-13-1 Haruyoshi Chuo-ku, Fukuoka 810-0003, Fukuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 190 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range: £74 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Palazzo 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing