We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's a Toyoko Inn business hotel - no surprises.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toyoko Inn Hakata-guchi Ekimae Gion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Hakata-guchi Ekimae Gion
Ranked #71 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“It's a Toyoko Inn business hotel - no surprises.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I had a couple of days free before business and used Fukuoka for a base to do some exploring. I chose this hotel because I remembered that if you took the elevator out of the subway from the airport, you were at the entrance to the hotel (Exit 6). It's 3 stops from the airport or 1 stop from Hakata Station, and is located across from the Hakata temples, such as Shofuku-ji, one of the oldest Zen temples in Japan, and just a few blocks from "Canal City," a downtown shopping district and Nakasu, if you want to waste lots of money drinking and singing. On a more immediate scale, there is a Lawson just around the corner and a Family Mart across the road to pick up drinks and food to stock your mini-refrigerator in the room.

As stated in other reviews, the rooms are small but clean, and the bathrooms are something comparable to one found in an RV. All the toilets now have washlets. One thing missing that I like in other chain business hotels in Japan is the heated mirror. No matter what season, it seems the mirrors always get steamed up. The heated mirrors re-evaporate the condensed water.

The AC/Heat pump has instructions in both English and Japanese, if you don't recognize the characters for "reibou" (冷房). The hotel information on the narrow countertop/desktop/TV stand is mostly bilingual. All the rooms have Wi-Fi that's password protected. I found the password taped to the top of the refrigerator. There is also a LAN cable.

Breakfast is included in your room rate and is served from 7-9:30. This is the only Toyoko Inn that I've stayed at where it wasn't "onigiri" (rice balls) every day. I went down the second day and was confused because there wasn't the tray with 3 differently sprinkled flavors to choose from.

If I'm catching an early flight, I stay at the TI Eki-minami, which has a free shuttle to the airport. Being so close to the subway entrance, I sometimes stay at the Gion also as it's only 3 stops away from the airport. Either way, I get points for staying and for every 10 nights you stay at a Toyoko Inn, you get 1 free night. You just have to join on your first night's stay. The club also gets you discounts from regular price and allows you to reserve up to 6 months in advance instead of 3. Just staying a couple of Sundays will pay for your lifetime club fee. I joined in 2001 and have only gotten discounts since.

If you don't plan on staying in a hotel except to sleep and relax a little, the Japanese business hotel is an economical option. There are other chains and I've used them, but the Toyoko Inn always has a presence around the main train stations throughout Japan. If you're using trains and want to be located near a station, TI's are a good option. They've also all been pretty much the same, clean and friendly, from Kushiro to Naha.

To save even more money, the "twin" price (2 single beds) is cheaper than 2 singles. The beds are separated by the bathroom between for a little extra privacy. Only in the TI Hakodate Asaichi did I find the beds next to each other. The hotels may have both types so if you want to be separated you might have to request that type of room. The rooms at the Gion are a little cheaper than those at the TI Ekimae but the Ekimae rooms have a better view.

Room Tip: I was located next to the elevators and never heard them. Most rooms face another building. I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kitsuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    51
    31
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
18
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
517 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Exactly the same as the other Toyoko Inns I stayed at in Japan. This one is a convenient few minutes walk from the main station.

Small rooms, no cupboards ( luggage goes under the bed) , tiny bathrooms ( like a cabin in a small boat) but the hotel is clean and functional and perfectly adequate for a couple of nights. Definitely NOT somewhere to stay for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

All the other Toyoko Inn in Hiroshima were fully booked unless I was prepared to accept a smoking room. So I had no choice but to book into the Gion Toyoko Inn.

The last review on this hotel in Tripadvisor was on 18 Oct 2009 and I was getting nervous after booking this hotel as this will be my first experience in a Toyoko Inn. I wonder whether my experience will be a memorable one or it will be my last time at a Toyoko Inn.

Like all Toyoko Inn....every furniture, curtain and even the bathrooms are standardised. No fancy decor...just functional for a comfortable night's sleep. No frills. A Budget Business hotel.

Breakfast was simple but adequate, Japanese style. Nothing fanciful. Happy experience in my first stay at a Toyoko Inn.

Very Japanese so don't expect any help from the receptionists as they struggle with the English language.

Suitable for those who want a room to sleep in and do not have high expectations.

Room Tip: All the electrical appliances are in Japanese. Request for an English translation but it is so inco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soohiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Stayed in 3 Toyko Inn hotels while in Japan. All three were very close in terms of quality. All hotels are minimal but very clean. The rooms are quite small but manageable, unless you plan to spend your whole day there. The stuff is always polite and helpful. The big plus is the ability to book online, sometimes at the last minute. The breakfast in the morning is very nice. Overall if you are looking for a Western style hotel picking any of the Toyko Inns would work nicely.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rednax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

This is a very clean, modern, business hotel in an excellent area of the city. The rooms have free internet and are spacious. Breakfast is included.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hanalei2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

Stayed at Toyoko Inns across Japan on a recent trip - represent very good value for money - clean (though worth specifying non smoking if that bothers you), free internet access, free breakfast, quiet rooms and always in a central location. Needless to say rooms are small and do all look the same so if it's character you're after go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank providores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Hakata Station
Toyoko Inn Hakataguchi ekimae 2
Hakata Station
Toyoko Inn Hakata-guchi Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakata Station
Toyoko Inn Hakata Eki-Minami
Hakata Station
Court Hotel Hakata Ekimae
Court Hotel Hakata Ekimae
#82 of 185 in Fukuoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
the b hakata
#28 of 185 in Fukuoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Hakata-guchi Ekimae Gion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Hakata-guchi Ekimae Gion

Property: Toyoko Inn Hakata-guchi Ekimae Gion
Address: 1-38 Gion-cho, Hakata-ku, Fukuoka 812-0038, Fukuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Toyoko Inn Hakata-guchi Ekimae Gion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN and Odigeo so you can book your Toyoko Inn Hakata-guchi Ekimae Gion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Fukuoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing