We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Shrine in the center of Hakata”
Review of Kushida Shrine

Kushida Shrine
Ranked #2 of 330 things to do in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 1,000-year-old gingko tree shades this shrine, which was built in 757, and serves as the starting point for a famous annual summer race. The Hakata Historical Museum is also on the shrine grounds.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Peaceful Shrine in the center of Hakata”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

It's very closed to the main shopping area in Fukuoka so I was quite surprised to found that inside the shrine was very peaceful and quiet. Lots of Japanese came here to pray but didnt make any loud noise at all.

I went there before the Gion Matsuri, so there're some staff preparing for the festival since it'd be held at this shrine. Besides, it was free to enter the shrine, all I have to do was just paying respect to the place and holding up my camera for taking beautiful stuff of this shrine. Love it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SiawjernHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    549
    208
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A (Free) Quiet, Quick, and Peaceful Shrine”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Tucked away in Hakata, about 4 mins away from Canal City Shopping Center, is this gem-- Kushida Shrine. It's small, which only takes about 30 mins or less to look around. Unlike other bigger shrines, this one didn't have as much people. I went around 930AM and there was hardly anyone there. It was nice taking my time looking around.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JenJen808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Neat little shrine”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stumbled upon this shrine on our way to Canal City shopping center and the kids loved exploring the different buildings in the complex. There's a bull statue on site that I've heard if you rub certain areas, will ease your ailments (ie, if you have migraines, rub its head). All in all, a neat find!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank she-muff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
751 reviews
505 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“History in the heart of the city”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Whilst you browse the delights of the city, shopping and maybe a bit of art you will be close to this significant history. Whilst as a visitor you may not want to study the past of this temple, you certainly will want to soak up the atmoshere , a bit of zen if you like.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RonA_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The home shrine of Hakata”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I rented a bicycle from the nearby Reisenso Museum and Cycle shop, and as it was explained to me that Kushida Shrine was kind of the 'protectorate shrine' of the area, I thought I'd visit it first before I started my explore. It's very photo worthy and interesting, and I did have a very good day - so maybe it gave me some blessings too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tsubasani237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kushida Shrine also viewed

Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture
Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture
 
Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture
Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture
 

Been to Kushida Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing