We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money - great location and shower facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi
Ranked #18 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value for money - great location and shower facilities”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel is within 5 mins walking distance to JR Hakata City (look out for Starbucks outlet), great location with lots of eating and shopping choices nearby. Loved the shower facilities, which was extremely helpful after been out shopping and sightseeing for the whole day. Coupled with the complimentary massage pillow, it refreshed us for the next day of shopping/sightseeing.

This is a great hotel for ladies, with complimentary skincare products samples etc and good toiletries in the bathroom. There are complimentary coffee and water at the lobby, and 2 computers for those who would like to use. Staff are helpful even if they are not fluent in English. With lots of hand gestures, we managed to understand each other so language is not an issue.

While the room is not large, it is sufficient for twin sharing with our bulky luggages and lots of shopping bargains. Compared to hotels in other Japanese city, the room is definitely very comfortable, in terms of size and amenities. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ooncindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    122
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
58
68
37
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel Forza is a trendy, business type hotel conveniently located just a short walk from Hakata station. It is modern and smart, and while we couldn't fault it (if there was a 'Good' rating on TripAdvisor, we would have rated it just that), I'm not sure we would stay again.

There isn't much to do within the hotel itself, and as per most Japanese hotels, space is pretty tight. We stayed in the Deluxe Double Type room, which is one of their more spacious options, but there wasn't a great deal of space once us and our two big suitcases were in. The iPad, complimentary WiFi, massage cushion, ladies amenities (a fun addition), vending machines and laundry facilities were a nice touch, but the rooms weren't exactly the kind that you can relax in for a period of time without feeling restless. That said, they were clean with a fresh, modern decor, and the beds were comfortable.

We did enjoy having a wander around Hakata Station, and also walked to Canal City, Tenjin and Damiyo. In hindsight, we would probably have opted to stay at the Grand Hyatt in Tenjin instead. We really liked the Tenjin and Damiyo areas (plenty of great, fun boutiques) and the yatai tend to be concentrated there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Hotel Forza has a great contemporary feel & is superbly located within 3mins from the manic Hakata Station (I had not expected it to be as busy or chaotic as Tokyo or Kyoto). But true to their directions, as long as you head for the Chikushi Exit the hotel is easy to locate.

The hallway-like entry from the street opens up to a spacious, modern lobby. I'd booked a double room, which I think would be a squeeze for 2 pax with 2 bags ... but it was perfectly proportioned for one. Maybe double is the new single !

The room was scrupulously clean & well appointed. As others have noted you don't just get free wifi, there's even an ipad provided ... and a massage pillow - I've never seen either of those options before; great idea. Alternating floors also had coin operated laundry & vending machines.

I only spent one night in Fukuoka, but I definitely feel Kyushu deserves a follow up visit. I share the sentiment of another reviewer in that Fukuoka could serve as great base for other day trips given Shinkansen & JR pass access.

I'd definitely recommend Forza ... and to quote the big fella - "I'll be back !".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoDaVinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is a very clean, nice, cozy and very convenient location for JR station and subway. I prefer the hotel near the train station because my luggage is heavy.
The room is of cos nice and cozy for your stay. You will love this place.
The location is very near the train station so you can find varieties of foods and shops.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeiMeiMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

You can't ask for better location, especially flying in from other countries. It's right next to Hakata station. Airport is connected to subway and secound stop is Hakata station. The only thing is if you're at international terminal go outside and you have to transfer to free domestic airport shuttle to take subway which is not hard at all. Their directins are in 4 languages, japanese, english, chinese and korean. When you arrive at station take a right for east exit not bus terminal exit and take a left right away and you'll see several hotels including forza. There is a shuttle from airport to miyako hotel that is right in front of east exit and walking distance to forza also. Hotel is spotless and espresso machine downstairs is very nice. There is a coffee machine in the room also. Breakfast was very nice more japanese selection of course than western. Room is pretty small, but very clean and have everything you need. There is an ipad you can use in the room and free wifi. There is a folding mirror under the desk for make up, and they give you skin care items for female customers at check in. I really like this hotel, very modern and they have everything you need. In japan if you pay $60 for one or $120 for 2 people, their size of room is average. People who are used to american size room, you have pay way more to get that. Anyway, especially if you are new to this town, you can't ask for better location and service. Hakata is our new favorite place. It is a very clean and modern city with many temples and shrines.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank junechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

had been to this hotel while in Fukuoka. it is a nice and clean restaurant. the staff is good. It is also situated very near to the Hakata station where the huge mall is there. It is in a walkable distance

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoumitaMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
269 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 585 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our second trip to Fukuoka and having stayed at the Hotel Monterey in the Tenjin area the last time, frankly, we much preferred the Hakata area. Hakata is slightly smaller and hence, easier to navigate! It also comes with direct Shinkansen bullet train access to nearby cities, a Bus terminal, two subway stops to the Airport etc, What more could you ask? After two nights in Huis Ten Bosch and three nights in Kagoshima, we stopped halfway to tour Kumamoto, a city worth at least 1-2 nights in itself!

Arrived at around 3pm when the official check in time was 2pm. When exiting the station, try to find the Chikusui (spelling?) East exit, and turn left to see the huge, Hotel Centraza with a Starbucks cafe at its corner. Next, walk straight towards the Hotel Centraza and the new Hotel Forza is in the same block, merely 1-2 minutes from the Hakata station! It was that easy ... and absolutely stress free!

Asked for a higher floor Twin room with 2 chairs and a table (they called it Relaxing Twin here as opposoed to the slightly smaller, Hollywood Twin). At around 25-26 sqm, the room was still a tad smaller than our Superior Twin room in the gorgeous Hotel Solaria Kagoshima but it was still quite comfortable. Though there was smart planning throughout the room, storage space is still quite limited here. The room also comes with an obvious wet and dry area in the bathroom (latest new trend in Japanese hotels?), with a rarely seen, spa shower (nice to try!). But the weirdest thing here is the separated toilet in another part of the room, strange but could be functional come to think of it!

Our room, 1001 on the 10th floor (highest was the 11th floor) was very quiet as it faces the swimming pool of the nearby Hotel Centraza. Internal sound proofing though not perfect, it was fine as our room was right next to the elevators but we slept ok if not for air con problem in the first night! The beds were the most comfy of the trip and pillows were good, too! Enough lighting in room and mirrors to put make-up on, nice!

In the room, there was free coffee and tea, water boiler (standard in Japanese hotels), facial mist machine (never use), massage cushions (nice and quite effective), ironing board, ipad (never use), ipod. Free and superb coffee in Lobby as well as a few computers (never use). Location seems to be the Hotel's greatest assets - two supermarkets in the Hakata station, with the closer Ming Supermarket being relatively cheaper. Tons and tons of restaurants nearby, spoilt for choice, should have another stomach to accommodate all those great food, yum!

The 46 inch TV in the room had appeared very huge at first glance, but its probably so because the room was small ... and there is no English channel on it, what a disappointment! Staff were generally much younger here, very courteous and helpful but their English is really quite limited. There was also no free mineral water in the room and no safe, too. Strange for a Japanese hotel?

Other negatives of the room was - in early November, when the night temperatures was 15-17 degree C, our air con seemed to have a mind of its own, starting and stopping on its own. We suspected that it was a cost cutting measure on the hotel's part and so voiced our concerns 2-3 times at the Reception. Asked for a fan to cool down the room (we are from Tropical Singapore and so prefer a cooler room to sleep well) but they had said there was none in the Hotel. Then, surprisingly, on our second and third nights, the air con would not start and stop on its own any more and we slept much better - probably a result of our complaints.

Lastly, the included breakfasts next day was, however, below par. It was the poorest breakfasts we have had on our 8 nights, 3 hotels trip. The dinning room was also very small, so be sure to get there earlier if you are an early riser. Food choice had remained exactly the same the 3 mornings we were there. If your stay does not come with included breakfasts, you have nothing much to lose ... frankly.

While staying here, its best to take the Green City Loop bus from the nearby Bus Terminal, at only 700 yen per day, its rather good value. On departure, we took a 10-12 minutes cab to the Fukuoka Airport and costs even cheaper than the Tenjin area, only 1,200 yen for the wonderful ride (why save 700 yen for 2 persons and take the 2 stop subway to the Domestic Terminal, after which, you still have to take their free shuttle bus to the International Terminal, what a chore! Subway tickets are 250 yen each.)

For the Hotel's ultra good location alone, we might return to this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Relaxing Twin room with 2 chairs and a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fukuoka hotels
Hakata Station
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
Hakata Tokyu REI Hotel
#8 of 185 in Fukuoka
534 reviews
Hakata Station
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
Hotel Nikko Fukuoka
#2 of 185 in Fukuoka
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakata Station
Richmond Hotel Hakata Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi

Property: Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi
Address: 4-16 Hakataeki Chuogai, Hakata-ku | Hakata Station Chikko Exit, Fukuoka 812-0012, Fukuoka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Fukuoka Prefecture > Fukuoka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 185 Hotels / Ryokan in Fukuoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Forza Hakata, Hakata Sta. Chikushi Guchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing