We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in Kagoshima”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

During my travels in Japan I've come to depend on the Richmond hotels for providing excellent accommodation at a very reasonable price, and the Kagoshima Tenmonkan branch was no exception.

The hotel was easy to find - a short walk from the Tenmonkan tram stop on Kagoshima's easy-to-use streetcar system, about 10 minutes from the Kagoshima-Chuo station. The hotel fronts on to a covered shopping arcade, which has a number of places to eat. Checkin was straight-forward and the reception staff were polite and helpful, as expected. The single room was what I've come to expect from Richmond - small but immaculately clean and well equipped, with a fridge and TV, plus free wifi throughout the building. My room was also very quiet, which made for a great night's rest. The only thing I missed was a room safe, although that's a very minor point.

Overall an excellent place to stay in Kagoshima at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dr_dammage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Easily accessible
Nice clean new hotel, cozy room with comfortable bed
Plenty of restaurant and shops
Staffs were polite and speak good English
Fast check in and out
Free wifi
2 minutes walk to the Airport Shuttle bus stop.

Overall the staying experience was superb

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christineng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Centrally located in the Tenmonkan district with plenty of choices of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The staff were very helpful despite my poor Japanese language skills. Room and bathroom was compact but definitely adequate for my needs, and always spotlessly cleaned. I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ichthyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Very clean and well appointed hotel. The cash machine system for paying took some getting used to but was simple. The connected italian restaurant was OK. This is a good hotel for the main shopping area and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Cast in the mould of the Japanese business hotel, but significantly nicer than some of the other chains. We had a corner room, which was one of the larger ones, but still small. Very good value for 10,000 JPY and a view of the volcano. Very comfortable bed. We slept well (not sure if that can be attributed to the proximity of the volcano?!)

10 min walk to the aquarium/ferry port, where there is a good selection of restaurants/bars. The shopping arcade itself is very good. For designer shops, head north from the station and take the side arcade to the right.

Can be difficult to find - the map on the website is entirely useless. From Tenmonkan-dori head into the shopping arcade southwards, past McDonalds, and the hotel is then easy to see on the left.

Room Tip: Corner room was very good (n.b. doesn't mean dual aspect)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig_2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Great access to city's main shopping area. An easy and convenient location for all kinds of travel. With family book a bigger room. Need to get used to pay in advance at a cashing machine. Still the place is great and the staff is outstandingly friendly. Many restaurants in entertainment area nearby.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank Gogohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel is in almost central shopping area of Kagoshima. As soon as you step out, you see all stores everywhere. Front desk staff and restaurant staff were very friendly and always try to help you with anything you need. Rooms and hotel itself is average japanese business hotel. Room was clean and small but this is very common in any Japanese hotel.

Restaurant offers 4 types of menu (Western, Japanese, Curry and Udon) in addition to salad bar and cereals as buffet station for Breakfast. I thought breakfast was worth paying for it.

I enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbleDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
Remm Kagoshima
#3 of 80 in Kagoshima
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furusato Onsen
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
#4 of 80 in Kagoshima
331 reviews
Kagoshima Chuo Station
Hotel Hokke Club Kagoshima
Hotel Hokke Club Kagoshima
#9 of 80 in Kagoshima
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan

Address: 14-28 Sennichicho, Kagoshima 892-0843, Kagoshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Price Range: £45 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Richmond Hotel Kagoshima Tenmonkan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing