We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel, poor value”
Review of Sakurajima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sakurajima Hotel
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

We chose to stay here rather than the more well-known onsen hotel just a minutes walk away, as we thought we could walk to the famous onsen anyway but this hotel looked less old and tired. Don't be fooled. It is indeed an old hotel and there were only a handful of people staying here at the same time, which gave it a very empty and rather eerie feeling.

The highlights were the meal, which was super fancy (although in hindsight I should have opted for the 'slightly less quantity' version as there was simply too much food), and the onsen bath.
This hotel having its own sea-facing outdoor onsen (though raised up, not actuallu seaside) was another reason we chose to stay here and this did not disappoint. The indoor bath area was simple but airy, with a high roof, and the outside bath was small and rustic, but offered a beautiful view over the ocean. Would become very crowded if more people were staying, although since we were there in Golden Week, I can't really see that being a problem.

Service was friendly and attentive, but nothing special.

The room was Japanese style, and fairly small, with a working toilet and a bath/shower that could not be used. It did have a small sun room area looking over the ocean which was lovely, although we were told not to open the windows, even though it was hot and stuffy in the room. (We did anyway!)

Overall, I thought the money we paid to stay here was not worth it, although with all 3 Sakurajima hotels located right next to each other and about the same price, there is not much choice if you want to stay on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxypez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 東京都マリリン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daisy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank らいむ202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 全館オーシャンビュー
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank おでかけおじさん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 基本、全部屋錦江湾を望む建物だと思います
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank m01970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank キッズ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
Furusato Onsen
Hotel Fukiageso
Hotel Fukiageso
#34 of 84 in Kagoshima
30 reviews
Furusato Onsen
Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel
Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel
#11 of 84 in Kagoshima
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furusato Onsen
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
#4 of 84 in Kagoshima
341 reviews
Ai Hotel Kagoshima Temmonkan
#26 of 84 in Kagoshima
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakurajima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakurajima Hotel

Address: 1078-64, Furusatocho, Kagoshima 891-1544, Kagoshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Price Range: £102 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Sakurajima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing