We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay with nice hot spring !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

It's quiet new hotel in kagoshima city. I am local person but live in Europe now. When I came back to Kagoshima as my holiday with my partner, I booked this hotel because of the Hot spring !! Kagosima is famous about natural hot spring and my partner loves it. The hot spring is located on the top floor, half inside half out side. The outside hot spring, there are Yuzu footing in the bath tab and soooo nice smell :-)
And break fast are soooooo many choices including sweets ! They use local fresh vegetables, fish and meat. The location is just in the Kagoshima city so easy to access anywhere. The room is comfortable and there is a fridge in the room so you can keep your drink and snack. There is a convenient store just beside the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel for everyone who wanna enjoy Kagoshima city!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Youseijikenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Can't really find many faults with Dormy Inn, good location near Tenmonkan shopping and entertainment area. Pretty good value for money, rooms seem new & are nice but not huge (but we had enough room to open two suitcases.) Plus the beds were really comfortable.
The rooftop onsen bath is a real bonus and probably a main reason why you would choose Dormy Inn. But supplying towels in the onsen would have been appreciated here (you have to ride up & down in the elevator with your towel as no extra ones are supplied (besides the bath towel from your room).
The 'enter a PIN number' security system for the onsen is a little convulted for women as is the washer dryer booking system: The washer/dryers are located inside the rooftop onsen area but before you can use them you must check which washer/dryer number is free then go back down to reception, tell them the number before you can use the washing machine. So it means making a couple of trips up and down.
The buffet breakfast was pretty good - I was really impressed at the standard and options available for a business hotel as they rivalled some four star hotel offerings. The inclusion of some local specialties was a really nice surprise.
Although there are cheaper hotels nearby which offer a good standard too, the added bonus of the onsen is what makes Dormy Inn special. We also used the hotel shuttle bus to the station the next morning (another bonus).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is my first time staying in a Dormy Inn hotel. We stayed three nights there during our five days Kagoshima trip. Our impression was that it is a brand new hotel, neat with very clever design. Staff are very efficient, the room is comfortable. There is free wifi with good reception inside the room. There is even a air purifier in each room, which is a plus because during our stay in Kagoshima the sky was a bit foggy. We very much enjoyed the hot spring at the top floor of the hotel. The hotel is situated within a 5 mins walk from the Tenmonkan airport bus station, 5 mins walk to Tenmonkan, and 10 mins walk to the Kagoshima Chuo station.

If you really have to pick its flaws...the bed covers were too much for the temperature of early summer and we had to adjust it to very low temperature so we don't sweat in the middle of the night. A twin room is spacious enough but may not have a lot of space for one large luggage. The choice of breakfast is pretty much the same throughout the whole week; the taste is quite good but you may get bored if you stay for longer.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay in this hotel very much. I always believe a good hotel contributes a lot to your trip. And our stay there had definitely made our trip a great one. We would definitely choose a Dormy Inn in other parts of Japan in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The same as other dormy inn hotels, this hotel also offers convenient location with superb bath which is open to entire night, which is really good to visitors. Open air bath gives the impression of relaxing feelings, and complimentary noodle is served during 2130-2300hrs. Coffee and tea is served free of charge at the reception - second floor.

Shower toilet is installed, washbasin is outside the toilet, which is convenient when 2pax stay. Big mirrors, a hair dryer, a fridge and lots of electric sourses are available in the room, hence, no fear of charging your electric gadgets such as digital camera, mobile phone, tablet PC etc.
For drivers, you can park your car nearby the parking (difficult find...) at the cost of 1000yen for overnight parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazuwox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the Dormy Inn in Kagoshima.

The room was small but clean, there were no english manual for the AC so (many failed attempts later), it lead to quite a warm stay.

The bed was quite hard so I wouldn't recommend many nights on it.

But, this is a great hotel. Great location, great SPA on the top floor, great assortments of convieniences (AC, Air cleaner, refridgerator, vending machines etc). The staff was friendly and there's great restaurants around the corner.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sj_someone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is very nice. Among the reasons:
1. Outstanding staff (ALL the staff were great). Extremely helpful and kind. They were patient and answered many many questions for us which actually made the trip even more enjoyable.
2. The hotel itself is centrally located near everything and within walking distance of many areas.
3. The hotel is clean. The rooms are clean and comfortable.
4. The hotel breakfast buffet is OUTSTANDING. They have a good mix of everything from Western style foods to local area dishes to try.
For these reasons our stay in Kagoshima was greatly enhanced. It was an memorable trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hossSidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Staff could not have been friendlier on our arrival, they kindly stored our bags as we arrived before check in. Rooms were newly decorated and spotless. Spa was wonderfully relaxing and the TV in your room can tell you the occupation status of the spa. Free Ramen is tasty and served by a very smily friendly chef. Good location for all sights and free hotel bus to train statin. Definitely worth staying in this hotel in the wonderfully friendly city of Kagoshima.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
Remm Kagoshima
#4 of 84 in Kagoshima
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kagoshima Chuo Station
JR Kyushu Hotel Kagoshima
JR Kyushu Hotel Kagoshima
#6 of 84 in Kagoshima
249 reviews
Kagoshima Chuo Station
Hotel Hokke Club Kagoshima
Hotel Hokke Club Kagoshima
#9 of 84 in Kagoshima
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy Inn Kagoshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy Inn Kagoshima

Address: 17-30 Nishisengokucho, Kagoshima 892-0847, Kagoshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima > Furusato Onsen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Price Range: £46 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy Inn Kagoshima 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dormy Inn Kagoshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing