We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view of sakurajima”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shiroyama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Shiroyama
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice view of sakurajima”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Variety of restaurants within hotel - very good.
Good for guests with their own car. Did not try out the free shuttle service to town.
Good spread of breakfast.
Well maintained.
The tempura counter was excellent. Our first choice was the teppanyaki but it was fully booked.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yapts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiroyama_Kanko, Shiroyama_Kanko at Hotel Shiroyama, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your stay at Shiroyama Hotel and for taking time to review our hotel.
We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay.
Since our hotel is located high on the Shiroyama hill,
we offer the free shuttle bus to downtown,
main railway station, shopping arcade, and bus terminal to the Kagoshima airport.
The bus departs from our hotel every 30 minutes and
we believe that it is convenient for our guests.
We apologize for the teppanyaki restaurant being fully booked.
Our hotel has four restaurants, Japanese, Chinese, Western-style, and buffet-style.
Athough we have enough seats for every guests, but sometimes it is busy at peak times.
We will share your comments with our staff and utilize them to improve our services.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, until then,
please take care and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    381
    45
    12
    10
See reviews for
362
160
110
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

it was such a delight to arrive at this hilltop hotel on the shuttle from the station and gaze over the awesome view! the check in was swift and courteous and we soon went to have of of our many visits to the onsen in the 2 nights we stayed.

the shuttle was very useful in getting into town for dinner and i would thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel with its peaceful gardens and the adjacent park.

wish we could return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChubbyHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiroyama_Kanko, Shiroyama_Kanko at Hotel Shiroyama, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your stay at Shiroyama Hotel and for taking time to review our hotel.
We are really glad to hear that you were satisfied with the view and
the onsen called "Satsuma no Yu".
We are also delighted that you were satisfied with our staff's service skills.
We are encouraged to continue working hard with the goal of satisfying our guests.
Although it might be inconvenient for our guests because of the location of our hotel,
the shuttle bus are run every 30 minute from 6:00 to 21:30.
As you reviewed, it is very convenient to go to the Kagoshima Chuo Station,
airport bus terminal, and "Tenmonkan" Kagoshima downtown.
Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was a great place to stay when visiting Kagoshima. The highlight is the great views - down over the city and straight across the bay to the Sakurajima volcano. You get pretty much the same (spectacular) view from the reception area, the gardens outside, or the onsen, as well as some of the rooms (if you get a city view room).

The outdoor onsen is really superb, and is both a great way to start the day (wake yourself up to the sun rising over Sakurajima) and to finish it (relax with views of the city at dusk). It seems to get more crowded in the morning than the evening. You can get a massage on the same floor as the onsen, and it was a pretty good deal (~5000 yen for 60 min as I recall).

The hotel is large and seemed pretty full when we were there, but well staffed and maintained.

We didn't try the restaurants as they seemed expensive and we wanted to explore the city, though we did try the eclairs and strawberry shortcake at their bakery/cafe downstairs. Those were OK, but priced to be more than OK.

Room Tip: If you want a view of Sakurajima from your room, look for a "city view" room, because Saku...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msh2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiroyama_Kanko, Shiroyama_Kanko at Hotel Shiroyama, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your stay and taking time to review our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the views and our facilities.
Our hotel is located high on the Shiroyama hill, guests can enjoy the view of Mt. Sakurajima and
downtown Kagoshima.
Our onsen "Satsuma no Yu" is open from 5:00 to 23:30 (from 5:30 to 23:30 during October to March),
so we are glad to hear that you could spend a relaxing time with us.
Our hotel has four restaurants, Japanese, Chinese, Western-style, and buffet-style.
We believe that we can offer great meals and good atmosphere to our guests, though
they might be more expensive than restaurants downtown.
We would like you to try our restaurants next time if you have a chance.
We also make an effort to provid a satisfying breakfast to our guests.
We offer 80 dishes of Japanese and Western-style food, please try them the next you visit.
We appreciated your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendai, Japan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night during the golden week holidays of Japan since I visited here on business about one year ago. Due to the high season, hotel cost was more expensive than that of my first stay, but could relax and enjoy the scenery from my room. Just there, run into the wedding ceremony in the hotel yard and saw lots of celebratory balloons launched in to the sky. After all of the balloons were out of my sight, went to the hot spring in the hotel. In addition to the indoor bathroom, there was the outdoor bathtub. From there, I had a wonderful view of the volcano behind the Kagoshima city.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank URA216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiroyama_Kanko, Shiroyama_Kanko at Hotel Shiroyama, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We are glad that you came back to visit us again and took time to review our hotel.
We appreciate that you reviewed the wedding ceremony.
Wedding ceremonies are one of the most important services we provide.
Our principle is to be the place where happiness can grow.
We are also happy to hear that you were satisfied with the view of Mt. Sakurajima
which is an active volcano.
Our hotel is located high on the Shiroyama hill and our guests can enjoy
the view of the volcano and downtown Kagoshima.
Besides the wonderful view, our onsen "Satsuma no Yu", is known as the hot spring which
provides the quality service of a spa.
Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not
too distant future for your third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
169 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Shiroyama (castle hill) hotel is famous for its very own hot springs with relaxation pools inside and outside. From the latter you can watch Mt. Sakurajima across the bay puffing smoke (its an active volcano). The view (which you also have from the lobby and various restaurants is spectacular. For hotel guests the use of the hot baths is free of charge.
The room was not big and the bathroom rather small with a low ceiling but thinking of the free spa you probably won't use the bathroom as much as you would in other hotels.
Breakfast was $20 but offers approx. 80 choices (Japanese, Chinese, Korean and Western breakfast, respectively). If you don't want to spend that much there is an excellent bakery on the premises. All-you-can-eat dinner at Holt restaurant was only $25.
If you come by car, the hotel offers free parking with pick up service (shuttle).
The hotel also offers a free shuttle bus to various points of interest (main railway station, covered shopping arcades, etc.) which is very convenient as the hotel is located high on a hill and there is nothing around it.
The hotel does not have a fitness center/gym
Concierge staff were very helpful with maps and suggesting excursions

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the volcano (might cost you extra but it is worth it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AhasverSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiroyama_Kanko, Shiroyama_Kanko at Hotel Shiroyama, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for posting a review regarding your experience at our hotel in detail.
We hope that you were satisfied with your stay and enjoyed
the view overlooking downtown Kagoshima and Mt. Sakurajima.
As you said in your review, we have the hot spring called "Onsen".
Kagoshima prefecure is famous throughout Japan for
its hot springs and we hope that you enjoyed it.
Breakfast is one of the important services which satisfy our guests,
therefore we make a serious commitment to give a good breakfast.
We really want to hear your experience to improve the quality when you stay next time.
Thank you so much for your kind words for our staff.
We appreciated your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We first stayed at this hotel in 1975.... when visiting Kyushu again in 2013 we made it a point to stay at the Shiroyama Kanko Hotel again. The views over the city, the bay and Sakurajima volcano are magnificent!! The view from the outside Onsen is so beautiful and peaceful. They kindly upgraded us to a suite which was spacious and very well appointed. The staff at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful, assisting us when we needed to find an english speaking physician and even offering to come along to the clinic. The on site restaurants are great, we especially enjoyed the restaurant offering shabu-shabu. All in all a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiroyama_Kanko, Shiroyama_Kanko at Hotel Shiroyama, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write this review.
We are glad that you came back to visit us once again and
We are so happy to hear that you had another enjoyable stay with us.
Kagoshima is famous for its hot springs.
We are located high on the Shiroyama hill, so many of our guests are
satisfied with the view from our open-air bath and
we are glad that you appreciated our facilities.
We also thank you for your appreciation of our staff.
We endeavor to keep providing the best "hospitality" for our guests.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,
until then please take care and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We picked Shiroyama Kanko hotel because of the good reviews from Tripadvisor. We enjoyed our stay in Shiroyama hotel. I made reservation through their hotel website and got a good deal for two consecutive night stay. We can see Mt Sakurajima and Kagoshima city from our room. We arrived at JR Kagoshima station and had no problem catching the hotel bus by following the web instruction.

The breakfast buffet and our dinner at the hotel restaurant were good.

Room Tip: Make use of the hotel bus ( to/from JR station) and to city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyOurLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
Furusato Onsen
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
#3 of 80 in Kagoshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Remm Kagoshima
#4 of 80 in Kagoshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furusato Onsen
Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel
Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel
#10 of 80 in Kagoshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Kagoshima Chuo Station
JR Kyushu Hotel Kagoshima
JR Kyushu Hotel Kagoshima
#6 of 80 in Kagoshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shiroyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shiroyama

Property: Hotel Shiroyama
Address: 41-1 Shinshoin-cho, Kagoshima 890-8586 , Kagoshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kagoshima
#1 Family Hotel in Kagoshima
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kagoshima
#3 Business Hotel in Kagoshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shiroyama 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shiroyama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Park Onsen Hotel
Hotel Castle Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing