We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A nice hotel with views facing over Sakajima. Stayed for 2 nights, only downside is that you require the shuttle bus to reach the centre of the city if you want to go sightseeing or for dinner outside the hotel. Had the Viking Dinner both nights and selection was excellent. Hot bath on the top of the hotel also good with views of Sakajima. A lot of staff on duty and they could not have been more helpful although I did feel that this was partially due to lower occupancy rates.
AS previous writers have written the décor is a little aged although to be fair to the management if I was receiving daily falls of volcanic ash which seems to get everywhere I would be weary of over decorating.
Overall good stay and recommended, but make sure you ask for a room with a view of Sakajima.

Room Tip: If you are staying here for the views of Sakajima ask for a room on the higher floors with a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    133
    30
    5
    1
See reviews for
73
38
40
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The service at this hotel was really fabulous. Everyone was more than willing to help, and there were friendly 'hello's at every turn. The decor was a bit 90s, but everything was clean and in good condition. I loved the yukata in the room. Breakfast was pretty good and the staff were attentive and didn't mind us getting there a bit late!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomsonkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Loved the onsen on the top floor. I went at night and could not see much but it was clean and quiet and I enjoyed just soaking in the waters. Going in the morning means you get a view of Sakurajima smoking in the bay.

The room was comfortable although a bit faded in terms of style and decor and probably ready for a revamp. I had an issue with the airconditioning and someone was sent to deal with it very promptly. An elderly bellboy came up and despite the language barrier, he went to great lengths to get my airconditioner working and to explain to me how to use the remote correctly. He was unfailingly polite and patient.

Breakfast buffet was on the generous end for a business hotel and it was only a pity I did not have more time to really sample the range. The hotel is just across the road from a big mall which makes last minute shopping really convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chongbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The view from the bedrooms across the bay to the volcano are breathtaking. The sun wakes up over the volcano and looks stunning. The hotel staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful even through language issues. The rooms are fine and all services I tried were working well. I did not make it to the Spa Room but my travelling companion said it was very good. We only had breakfast there but food was excellent - plentiful and good quality. Loved the grilled Salmon and other grilled fish you could get.

Room Tip: Believe all have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kagoshima hotels
Remm Kagoshima
#3 of 80 in Kagoshima
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furusato Onsen
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
Dormy Inn Kagoshima
#4 of 80 in Kagoshima
320 reviews
Kagoshima Chuo Station
JR Kyushu Hotel Kagoshima
JR Kyushu Hotel Kagoshima
#7 of 80 in Kagoshima
237 reviews
Kagoshima Chuo Station
Hotel Hokke Club Kagoshima
Hotel Hokke Club Kagoshima
#9 of 80 in Kagoshima
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel

Property: Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel
Address: 1-8-10 Yojiro, Kagoshima 890-8581, Kagoshima Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Kagoshima > Furusato Onsen
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Kagoshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kagoshima Sun Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing