We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Mt.Aso

Mt.Aso
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Well worth the visit! Not very often that one can get so close to an active volcano. However the smell of hydrogen sulphide was storng when we were there but fortunately the wind changed direction.
Strongly recommended place to visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Wanderer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    121
    41
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Flew over this volcano”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I took a heli ride over this volcano. The view was amazing and it is worth a trip. I was there in November so there were snow cap. Very beautiful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank arhlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
176 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“wonderful nature”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

it is difficult to grasp the size of this double volcano, but standing close to the most active crater you can see the old rim in the distance. There was gas alarm on Mount Aso, so the ropeway didn't work and we decided to follow the trail to the neighbouring top, from which we had a magnificent view on the crater, and on the valley beyond (all the way to Miyaji). If you arrive early (bus from Aso), you can easily spend a couple of hours just admiring nature, and ending the hike at the Aso Museum. The bus stops in front of this small and not very interesting museum (the film they show must be 30 years old), unless you bring your kids to learn a bit about tectonics and volcanoes

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janneman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TXAggieLady
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not For Asthmatics - Do Not bring your adventurous kids”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is your typical volcano but there are no safeguards for your children and no medics if you have an asthma attack. The smell of sulfur permeates your clothing. The day we went the little sign to warn people with respiratory issues was not visible due to fog and as I result I got very sick.

The entire ride back, my poor husband had to tell my uncle when to pull over so I could throw up.
I think that smell combined with too much Sake at lunch caused a major issue with the ride..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXAggieLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
522 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Caldera of earth,......”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

As per title,.....the place is very amazing. You can see wide area caldera volcanic mountain.
Very well preserved and maintain volcanic mountain tourist area.
Take almost one and half hour drive from Fukuoka Airport.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Epiyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mt.Aso also viewed

Aso, Kumamoto Prefecture
Kumamoto, Kumamoto Prefecture
 
Oguni-machi, Aso-gun
Aso, Kumamoto Prefecture
 

Been to Mt.Aso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing