We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Kumamoto
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is of the standard business type in Japan. Room is small as can be expected. Condition and cleaness of room is good. The free breakfast included in the price is acceptable but limitedli in choice for western taste. A plus point is the free coffee available in lobby throughout the day. Wifi in the room is working fine. Location is very good, right in the main shopping street of the town with loads of eating places nearby. Overall is good value for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Hotel Kumamoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Do not expect this place to be a five star hotel and I put full score for luxury ... It is a 'proper' business hotel with many Japanese business men.
What wonderful about this place are;

1) coin laundry use is at cost price
2) free but extensive breakfast
3) very comfy pillows and you can have foot pillows, too if you require one
4) quiet and you can sleep well
5) staff training is done very well
6) overall cost performance is superb

You will have to take the tram from the main Kumamoto station but it is only a few stops and it is fun to see Kumamoto castle approaching you ( take the left hand side seat if you want to approach the castle to Karashima-cho stop).

I got a room for a ridiculously cheap price, and it was not a business trip this time but a private trip with my hubby so the room was felt very squeezed but we expected that. Surprisingly they gave us a room with a castle view for the price. I cannot rave enough about this hotel for the level of service against the cost. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have better airily feel, but if you are on a business trip, do not even bother. B...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enjoydifference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

If you're at all used to Japanese hotels in this price range, then you could say that this one is "standard." Tiny room, tinier bathroom, terrible breakfast that tries hard and fails miserably at accommodating western tastes. If you want a western hotel, book a western hotel, right? Anyway, the only really noteworthy features of this hotel are the bed (comfortable, surprisingly) and the location. It's right in the heart of shopping/eating, and only a few blocks from Kumamoto castle. Even better, it's only half a block from Donki!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polyglot_Solider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Hotel Kumamoto for one night only. At first sight, the city is not that exciting but it possesses a beautiful castle, worthwhile to visit if you are going to visit Kyushu island. Kumamoto is also great to use as a base to visit the Mount Aso area.
The hotel location is ideal. There are numerous places to eat close by.
The only drawback was the parking location. It wasn't at the hotel but a couple of blocks away from it. We did have to pay for parking but the hotel gave us a coupon for a discount.

We were at the top floor and according to the floor plan, we had the biggest room with a view of the castle.
The room was really cleaned with 2 beds. I don't think that they have double bed rooms but I could be wrong. We also had a great deal at 10500 yen for the night, so it's hard to be picky.
Breakfast was included but we had a look at it and we decided to skip it (it didn't look that great).
We went to the Starbucks close by on the main shopping street but it didn't open until 8am. Starbucks don't open as early as in North America in Japan.

Overall, it's a good budget hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcgraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Good service and ease of access define this location, as does abundant access to shopping and eating in the area. For day trips to Mount Aso and the vicinity, a location closer to Kumamoto Station *might* be slightly more convenient, though you are only a short tram ride away. Ease of eating defined the location for us. Lots of great izakayas. Try some of local dishes, especially the mustard filled lotus root. Delicious!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjcSING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

We are touring the southern part of Japan and decided to use Kumamoto as our base for trips in the area.

We found the Comfort on my firm's travel booking site and booked it before we left the UK.

What can I say? Excellent location right in the middle of Kumamoto's entertainment and shopping district surrounded by restaurants, bars and other entertainments for the lonely man. Easy to get to if you are travelling by train a few stops on the tram.

The hotel itself is extremely well put together and works nicely - nothing fancy but clean, new rooms with free internet connections, breakfast and everything a traveller really needs.

You really can't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LordBurnden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynotfoevac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumamoto hotels
0.2 mi away
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto
0.2 mi away
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
#2 of 93 in Kumamoto
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kumamoto Tokyu REI Hotel
Kumamoto Tokyu REI Hotel
#11 of 93 in Kumamoto
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Richmond Hotel Kumamoto Shinshigai
0.3 mi away
Nest Hotel Kumamoto
Nest Hotel Kumamoto
#16 of 93 in Kumamoto
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
#1 of 93 in Kumamoto
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Kumamoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Kumamoto

Address: 2-10 Shinshigai, Kumamoto 860-0803, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Kumamoto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kumamoto
Price Range: £42 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Kumamoto 3*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Kumamoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kumamoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing