We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with a group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kumamoto Wasuki Tsukasakan
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay with a group”
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with a group of 10 for a Karate training camp.

This hotel was positioned well near Kimotori, wher you can get a good range of delicious food.

Not so easy to find after wondering around, all the alleys look similar, although after a few days we didn't have any problems.

Found an awesome noodle bar, that had great gyoza. Best I've ever had, and compare all others too. Best of all it was fresh and cheap. It's just near 7/11 up the lane about 50 meteres

We would all stay here again.

Only complaints were that the fridge wasn't cold enough to keep milk etc. and the laundromat was a 10-15 minute walk away.

Grubmiester

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grubmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    57
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
18
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

Spent a week in Kumamoto with a group of 10, answer were all happy with our rooms and the service at the Wasuki. As some others have posted, there was a slight musky smell in the lobby,but other than that,everything else was fine. The group are going back to Kumamoto in the future, and I would consider staying there again.

Positives
Close to Shimotri shopping
Well off the tourist track
Staff made a real effort to look after us and speak English:))


Negatives
Fridge temperature just below room temp.
No clothes washing facilities nearby

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SGrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I loved the location of the hotel it being walking distance from the shopping street, tram stop and Kumamoto castle. However, the smell of the hotel rooms was something I really didn't like. It was a musty smell that (I think) came from the tatami floors. I've stayed at other Japanese hotels with tatami flooring, but they never had such a strong musty smell.

The buffet dinner provided by the hotel was a disappointment. There wasn't much variety and the food took awhile to be replenished. If you stay at this hotel, I think you'd get a better deal for your money just walking out to find food. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast though!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I stayed this hotel for one night.
The hotel room is very Japanese style and it was like a Ninjya room.
The room had beds with Japanese tatami mat room.
The hotel is located next to shopping arcade (Kami dori) and it is very convenient.
You can walk to Kumatomo castle in 5mins.

You can get a tram from JR Kumamoto station (get off Toricho suzi -8 stops from Kumamoto ekimae), it will take only 10mins but you will need a map.

http://www.wasuki.jp/

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomHattty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumamoto hotels
0.6 mi away
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
#2 of 94 in Kumamoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
#1 of 94 in Kumamoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.2 mi away
ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kumamoto
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel Kumamoto Shinshigai
0.1 mi away
Kumamoto Hotel Castle
Kumamoto Hotel Castle
#13 of 94 in Kumamoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumamoto Wasuki Tsukasakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumamoto Wasuki Tsukasakan

Property: Kumamoto Wasuki Tsukasakan
Address: 7-35 Kamitoricho,Chuo-ku, Kumamoto 860-0845, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Kumamoto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kumamoto Wasuki Tsukasakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing