We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and unkept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kumamoto Kotsu Center Hotel
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old and unkept”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel had a musty smell, tattered furniture and a very uncleared feel. Water from the previous guest remained in the hot pot and complaints about the smell was responded with "use the air freshener provided in the room", however the freshener wasn't refilled when the room was made. The hotel staff was generally very cordial and friendly besides the one odor issue. Although the hotel is very convenient, we would not book a return stay at this property.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Irwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    34
    31
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
4
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This hotel is possibly one of the worst hotels I have stayed. The hotel is quite poorly maintained and it is very dusty. It is badly in need of major refurbishment.

Only the rooms are air conditioned, but not the corridors . I was in Japan during summer, which made my stay in the quite uncomfortable.

Worst of all, they allow smoking inside the hotel. I was attending a conference and in one corner of the common lounge area smoking was permited with a big sign proclaiming this fact. We all had to breathe the same stale air and also got into the air conditioning.

The food was OK. However, they never changed the menu during the our days I was there. Most of the dishes they served for breakfast was also there during lunch.

My advice is not to have any meals in the hotel. There are good restaurants just next door in the shopping centre or downtown which is about two blocks away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kyusanko, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kumamoto Kotsu Center Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Google Translation
この度は、熊本交通センターホテルをご利用頂きまして、誠にありがとうございます。
 この度の、ご利用に際しましてのご感想をお寄せいただき誠にありがとうございます。
今後、更なる、清掃並びにサービスの向上に取り組んで参る所存でございます。お客様に喜んでいただけるように今後共、相変わらぬご愛顧を賜りますよう、何卒お願い申し上げます。またのご利用、心よりお待ちしております。
熊本交通センターホテル
宿泊課一同
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kumamoto hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2009

I thought I'd previously submitted a review on the Kotsu Centre Hotel but it looks like it disapeared into the electronic void. We stayed here twice on this trip.
The Kotsu Centre is the main bus terminal in the city with the hotel directly sited above it. Hence the name. The lobby is on the 3rd floor. There isn't much traffic noise unless you open a window. Even then it's not too bad.
The rooms are clean and tidy but with older style furnishings. I rate the rooms 3 star. The bathroom though clean, is showing its age so 2.5 stars for bathroom.
The hotel restaurant is quite good. Buffet breakfast is very good.
There is a coin laundrey on the 4th floor. 100 Yen gives a 30 minute wash . The dryer is 100 yen for 10 minutes. Good dry time is 20 minutes after which your clothes will still be damp but will dry in the room in a few hours.
Next door is the Hanshin Department Store. There is also a small underground arcade under the hotel site with interesting shops and restaurants.
The Kotsi Centre is convenient to Kumamoto Castle and also Sun Road Shopping arcade.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanleyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kyusanko, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kumamoto Kotsu Center Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Google Translation
この度は、熊本交通センターホテルをご利用頂きまして、誠にありがとうございます。
 この度の、ご利用に際しましてのご感想をお寄せいただき誠にありがとうございます。
今後、更なる、清掃並びにサービスの向上に取り組んで参る所存でございます。お客様に喜んでいただけるように今後共、相変わらぬご愛顧を賜りますよう、何卒お願い申し上げます。またのご利用、心よりお待ちしております。
熊本交通センターホテル
宿泊課一同
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumamoto hotels
0.2 mi away
Toyoko Inn Kumamoto Kotsu Center
0.1 mi away
Kumamoto Tokyu REI Hotel
Kumamoto Tokyu REI Hotel
#11 of 93 in Kumamoto
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nest Hotel Kumamoto
Nest Hotel Kumamoto
#16 of 93 in Kumamoto
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ark Hotel Kumamotojomae
Ark Hotel Kumamotojomae
#18 of 93 in Kumamoto
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hokke Club Kumamoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kumamoto
#15 of 93 in Kumamoto
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sunroute Kumamoto
Hotel Sunroute Kumamoto
#19 of 93 in Kumamoto
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kumamoto Kotsu Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumamoto Kotsu Center Hotel

Property: Kumamoto Kotsu Center Hotel
Address: 3-10 Sakuramachi, Kumamoto 860-0805, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Kumamoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Hotel Class:3 star — Kumamoto Kotsu Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kumamoto Kotsu Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing