We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Toyoko Inn Kumamoto Ekimae
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$68
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$95
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$66
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$142
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$83
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$44
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
38
113
56
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
113
56
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee machineeasy accessbasic hotelgreat locationjapanese breakfastefficient stafftrain stationstone's throwjapanese businessriceone night stayfree wifishort walkchaindiscounttokyo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

excellent locations.
okay room, clean.
with free breakfast, u not expect a very very nice one, but very ok with japanese style mainly.
check in must bt 4 pm, which cannot accept 30 min buffer :(
overall nice stay!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Choose this hotel for its location. We came to Kumamoto by train and left also by train. This hotel is well located just beside the station with about 3 minutes walk. The tram can take you to the city center of Kumamoto.

It's a basic hotel with all the basic facilities. The room is not spacious but enough for one night stay. Breakfast is free and coffee is free in the lobby. Female guests can also get a bag of cosmetics. Hotel staffs speaks English and one of them came from China and we can communicate in Chinese.

Generally, it's a basic busienss hotel and good for those who will take the train.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luca_Luo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

It's right outside the JR Kumamato station, so easy to find. The building seemed new. It was clean and pleasant feel. Staff was wonderful and polite.

We got a room on higher floor to have a view. We got partial view of the train station which allowed my son to see lots of trains coming and going. He loved that. The room was small but all the space was so well used that it did not feel crammed at all. We had a non smoking twin room with two beds for us and our 8 years old son. There was WIFI in the room also! Breakfast was more than just rice ball. It was a good breakfast with chirashi sushi rice, rice balls, some vegetables, bread, pickles, soup and tea. It's simple but perfect for breakfast.

We also became life time members which gave us 5% off. I highly recommend staying at Toyoko Inn. We also stayed at the Hakata Ekimae branch. It was almost exactly the same except it was older, more crowded, and the room did not have any view.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the higher floor. It's worth the money to get a nice view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjTravelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Just a few minutes from the JR station, the hotel is clean and is great value for money. If you become a member (about 1200 yen for lifetime membership) you get additional discounts (especially on Sundays), which easily pay off after a few nights.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank underock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Very clean room with safebox in the room. Unfortunately the hotel is next to the tram line n the room can be noisy. Hotel offers free breakfast n curry rice for supper. There is also laundry facilities within the hotel. I would definitely stay here again but u do have to book ahead as it is fully booked on weekends.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews