We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Superior location on walking distance from the train station. Bus stop from and to the airport in front of the hotel. Western and Asian style breakfast, a lot of choices, excellent. Room is spacious and an excellent internet speed. In front of the river which is a nice spot for jogging. The disadvantage is that the number of good restaurants in the close environment is limited. The Italian menu in the restaurant of the hotel, is far away from real Italian but in Japan, you should not eat Western styl food but enjoy the local food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermanator_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmmt_newsky, 広報担当マネージャー at ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Mister Hermanator_10,

 Thank you for staying our hotel this time.
We're glad to that our hotel was useful for you such as good location on walking from the station, room is spacious and excellent internet speed.

We suppose to that it's important for us to supply good breakfast for starting a day,
so we effort proposing all food menu. We're appreciate that you were satisfied our breakfast.

At a restaurant, you can experience Italianne food, Chinese food and Japanese food.
Here is Japan, so we recommend Japanese food.

We hope you come back again and hope your work is going well.

Sincerely,

business planning deparrtment
Murakami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    188
    55
    11
    1
See reviews for
97
72
75
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Odawara, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Booked this hotel just for an overnight before a flight out of Kumamoto, but ended up spending more time here than intended as flights were cancelled due to heavy snow.

The hotel building is relatively old. Foyer and some public spaces are renovated and look modern. Rooms are quite basic though and showing their age, esepcially the bathrooms.

We had two rooms booked for our young family and ended up with the rooms 3 floors apart, which was quite inconvenient being so far away.

The hotel was kind in allowing a change of our arrival date when our original flights from Tokyo were cancelled due to heavy snow. For our return home, our flights were cancelled again (also from heavy snow) and this time the hotel was far less helpful. We were only able to continue to stay in our rooms at the rack rate, although I was eventually offered a 20% discount. I could have booked online rooms for the extra night somewhat cheaper, but they wanted us to check out for a few hours before getting access to the new rooms if I did that. Thanks to TripAdvisor, I ended up finding a similarly priced hotel in Aso that was a lot nicer for our family and was quite happy to leave Newsky.

I'd chosen this location assuming it was very central, being near Kumamoto station, but it turned out to be a bit of a nothing location - there's wasn't anything much in easy walking distance. We did get the tram to visit Kumamoto Castle though, which was reasonably close.

Parking was available at the hotel for 1,000 yen overnight which was handy and reasonable value. Breakfast buffet was available for pre-purchase at 1,500 each and had an ok selection. We also had room service dinner here, which was possibly the fastest room service I've ever had.

Overall, value for the prepaid rate of our stay was quite good, but the rack rate we were asked to pay for extending an extra night seemed quite unreasonable and I don't think the quality of the hotel justified that price.

Room Tip: If you are booking more than one room, check with the hotel in advance if you want the rooms close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterPugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear MisterPugz,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. Please do accept our apologies for not being able to deliver an exemplary service. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel was a bit older and it shows especially in the bathrooms. But maybe because of the age it was a bit more spacious than most modern hotels. The service was friendly. We drove and had to pay 1000 JPY per night for parking. The hotel location was close to the station and the Kumamoto Castle, but not close to downtown shopping or eating areas. Checkout time was 2pm which I thought was quite generous compared to other hotels we'd been staying at in Kyushu. Like most Japanese hotels, the rooms were warm. We set our thermostat at 18 degrees Celsius but the room was still warm. At least it didn't feel stuffy. Overall a good hotel we wouldn't mind staying at again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmmt_newsky, 広報担当マネージャー at ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Ms Camela C,

Thank you for staying our hotel this time.
Our hotel are kind of a large each room, so we're very glad that you
were able to relax.

and also, we celebrated the 45th anniversary last November.
You may look a bathroom which is little old, but we clean careful everyday.

We suppose that our service skills are helpful for all customer that
culmination of 45years our hotel.

If you use our parking, it's the cost 1000 yen per night.
You would like to see our website of reservation.

Our hotel are convenient location which is near by bus stop and streetcar.
It's little far from downtown, but you can enjoy beautiful view and you
can have a good sleep at quiet night.

In Kumamoto has four seasons such as spring, summer, fall and winter
which is a attractive place.

We hope that you'll be come back again.

Sincerely,

business planning department
Murakami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed one night in this property on our self-drive trip through Kyushu. The ANA Kumamoto is probably not a good place to stay if you have no cars since it's a bit far from the city center. For us it's great since it offered free parking per room. The rooms were large for Japanese standard and the hotel offered free LAN internet (no wifi though). The furnishing in the room looked new, but the bathroom needed renovation (it had a 1980s look to it). The bathroom was a bit musty for me too. Children under 12 stayed for free so it was good for us too (we had a 3 years old with us) and the breakfast buffet offered was good quality. The receptionists spoke good English. I had a distinctive feeling that most of the hotel's clientele were business travelers instead of regular tourists.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kootenays, British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This is a luxury hotel (aka 'Hotel New Sky') which will boom once the Shinkansen is finished. It is close to the train station (3 blocks) which is a little ways from the centre of the town and the action spots. There is a good tram service into the centre of town. The room (18th floor) was like a north american hotel room. Large room, huge bed, great view. My main complaint was that I didn't feel like I was in Japan while in the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

we were sooo disappointed having stayed with ANA in Fukuoka and Hiroshima, both of which were excellent. This hotel is old, tired, small and in a terrible location away from town centre. The staff don't speak much english or understand much english and no-one could speak english properly. The air conditioning had been turned off in the rooms and it was quite a hot day so the rooms were like saunas. Despite complaints no-one at the hotel knew what to do.

The bathroom was a small boxy afterthought that looked like a pre-fab dropped into the corner of the room.

We moved to the Nikko which was 1000% better than this Fawlty Towers!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leoni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

As other reviewers have commented, the hotel isn't really in the best location for anything lying mid-way between the station and town centre. It is on the tram line from one to the other, but not really in convenient walking distance.

Kumamoto itself is worth visiting for the famous castle and as a base for visiting Mt. Aso, which is a couple of hours away by train and bus.

The hotel itself is quite tired looking and doesn't seem to have had any serious refurbishment since when it was built in the 60s or 70s. The room was reasonably spacious by Japanese standards with a good view out over the city from about the 20th floor (although we weren't sure because of the bizarre floor numbering in the lift). It was also reasonably clean. However the decor and furniture was very dated and the air conditioning was rubbish. In a sticky Japanese summer this is quite a minus point.

Would I go back? Probably not, but if this is the only choice in your price range, you could certainly do worse.

  • Liked — Inexpensive
  • Disliked — Very dated and not that well located
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SW19Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumamoto hotels
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
#1 of 93 in Kumamoto
650 reviews
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
#2 of 93 in Kumamoto
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kumamoto Station
The New Hotel Kumamoto
The New Hotel Kumamoto
#8 of 93 in Kumamoto
182 reviews
Kumamoto Hotel Castle
#13 of 93 in Kumamoto
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky

Property: ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky
Address: 2 Higashiamidajimachi, Chuo-ku, Kumamoto 860-8575, Kumamoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Kumamoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumamoto
#5 Family Hotel in Kumamoto
#7 Business Hotel in Kumamoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ANA Hotel Kumamoto Newsky, situated by the Shirakawa River, stands distinctively sleek and modern in the city’s skyline. Boasting an array of facilities and classic Japanese Hospitality, the hotel is a popular stopover for travelers visiting the famed Kumamoto Castle and Suizenji Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kumamoto New Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Hotel Kumamoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing