We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Kumamoto experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a spacious and bright room with large twin beds. Perfect for our family of four. The room had a wonderfull view of the castle. It was like a fairy tale looking out, both day and night.

The service at the hotel was nothing but excellent, at every level. Ok, it's not free but you get what you pay for.

The hotel's location is also very good. We got by by tram, foot or taxi to almost everywhere.

Room Tip: Obviously, ask for a room with a view of the castle.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nikko Kumamoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is located right in the city center's shopping district and very close to the castle with a tram stop just steps away. This makes for a great "food stroll" at night and good sightseeing during the day.
We had a room with castle view which would have been even greater had only the windows been cleaned during the rein of the current emperor (slightly exaggerating, but at night the castle is beautifully illuminated and the dirty windows really spoil that spectacle). The room itself was bright and elegantly furnished. We liked the design of the bath room where toilet and bathe are strictly separated and inside the bath (glass door) the shower area is outside the bath tub.
WiFi was available not only in the room but everywhere in the hotel.
There is a nice bakery on the ground floor with excellent products.
When we arrived there was nobody to help us with our luggage (same as when we left). (self) Parking was 1.600 Yen per day
Staff was very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a room with castle view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AhasverSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

There is nothing to complain about with this hotel. The twin corner rooms are spacious and very comfortable with all the usual tricks and treats of a modern Japanese hotel. The bathrooms are practical, well equipped and everything works as expected. Rooms above the 8th floor have uninterrupted views to either the castle or Mt. Aso. It’s also a great location right beside the two major shopping/dining plazas in town with the city transport just out front and a short walk to the castle precinct. The staff are extremely helpful and many are fluent in English. Fast Wifi works well although we did have a problem logging one of our devices on to the in-room Wifi – which is apparently not uncommon but there is also in-room cable. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above 8th floor for a view and, depending upon your preference, either the castle or...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have stayed at the Nikko approx. 3 weeks this year 2014 while on assignment. The location the the shopping and night life are perfect. The service is of the best in the world, cash exchanges, laundry service, special arrangements, food service. You can't go wrong with the nikko!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michigander13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here for a night in mid Jan. The hotel is well located. Shopping centres and restaurants are nearby and Kumamoto castle is within a walking distance. Staff are well trained and also able to communicate in English. I asked for a city map and their map is very well developed, very to read and follow. Breakfast is the most that disappointed me. It should be better with more variety of hot food

Room Tip: request for city view room which is at the front of the hotel to see the beautiful light of city at...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TONY_TravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Excellent location for shopping. Endless restaurants on a covered shopping strip would satisfy any traveller. Hotel parking is underground. Staff speaks good English and were all very friendly. Good room size. Not a lot of extras for members of the One Harmony club compared to other Nikko hotels but we would gladly return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelmomVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My family travel in Kyushu for 8 days and we stayed one night at Nikko hotel Kumamoto. Good location, comfortable. Excellent service from the hotel staff particularly Nagano who help my family to find where we want to go in Kumamoto and Miyazaki. I would recommend this hotel for family stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy8824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumamoto hotels
Dormy Inn Kumamoto
#2 of 93 in Kumamoto
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kumamoto Hotel Castle
#11 of 93 in Kumamoto
151 reviews
Kumamoto Station
The New Hotel Kumamoto
The New Hotel Kumamoto
#8 of 93 in Kumamoto
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Kumamoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Kumamoto

Address: 2-1 Kamitori-cho Chuo-ku, Kumamoto 860-8536, Kumamoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Kumamoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumamoto
Price Range: £73 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko Kumamoto 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Kumamoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing