We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and conveniently located to Miyazaki JR station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Miyazaki Ekimae
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels / Ryokan in Miyazaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The mid-class Richmond Hotel chain is probably the most reliable and reasonable out of the Japanese hotel chains. The Richmond Hotel Miyazaki is no exception.

This place is a few minutes walk east of JR Miyazaki station; the station itself is 3 stops away from Miyazaki airport. There’s a convenience store next door; at the JR station and about a 15 mins walk to the west of it on Hiroshima-dori brings more restaurants and shops. Other than that, there isn’t much out towards the hotel.

Hotel staff is friendly and helpful, even if not everyone’s English is that great. Check-in was quick via the easy to use machine, which was interesting and had English instructions.

I had a double-queen sized bedroom and it was a very reasonable size. It was clean and had decent furnishings; it was the same for the bathroom. I slept well as the bed was comfortable and noise disturbances were pretty much nonexistent. Housekeeping did a good job. The free Wifi was fast. The TV’s only English channel was BBC, but sadly, it was dubbed in Japanese; even pressing the Language Change button on the remote failed to switch it to English.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel’s attached Orto Caffe was better than I expected. There was a variety of Japanese and Western foodstuffs, fruits, veggies, and drinks, and most of it was tasty. For the Y1000 I paid, it’s definitely worth it. I had dinner one night as well, and it was pretty good… although the red wine came in a chilled glass haha.

Checking out was real easy and quick. This is a great value, mid-class place to stay. I would return if I was ever back in Miyazaki.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMK1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

A nice hotel next to the Miyazaki station. The reception area was warm. Though the English of the staff is limited, they are very friendly and keen to help. They sent our two kids nice kids toothbrush and slippers. The room was not spacious but was good enough in Japan's cities standard. It is clean, tidy, quiet with comfortable decorations and colourings. We booked the 28 days early discount specials plan and breakfast was included. Food has good mixture with Western and Japanese food and was delicious. It was served in a restaurant with nice atmosphere. What a good feeling to start a new day!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night for a stopover. We never heard of this hotel chain and we were pleasantly surprise of the service. It is walking distance from the Miyazaki station. Upon our arrival, the staff were extremely friendly. The price was exceptional and included breakfast. We were on the top floor which provided a great view of the city. The staff provided us with a walking tour map of the city. The service was above our expectations and we highly recommend it ....disregard the rating for the swimming pool and fitness room as I could not delete it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalianTravelerLargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a wonderful hotel, the staff is very friendly and willing to help, they sent my luggage to Fukuoka via Takkyubin and everything worked perfectly well. Location is perfect, behind the train station but far enough not to be disturbed by trains noise. The breakfast is awesome! and all for an incredibly low price. If you are going to Miyazaki, do not hesitate to stay at Richmond Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RYOKOSURU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I could see the hotel from the exit of Miyazaki Station. The hotel staff was kind and helpful. I stayed at many Richmond hotels and the quality of buffet breakfast at Richmond Hotel Miyazaki was one of the best amongst other Richmond hotels in Japan. In general Richmond hotels has some common standards and facilities, but breakfast quality at each hotel appear to be quite different. This hotel provides 1 bottle of complimentary water for guests, who choose eco (no bed sheet change). This looks to be good policy to save energy and earth. There were many buses just next to the train station. For foreigners, $ 1,000 Yen per day bus tickets (unlimited). I maximazed the value of the ticket. If you want to have a look at far away areas, I highly recommend to use the bus ticket. With the ticket, I visited Sunmesse, Shrine, Pheonix and Aosima. The bus runs on timetable. You can get the bus timetable from Information desk at Miyazaki Station.

Room Tip: This hotel looks comperatively new. Ask high floor rooms. It has soom good night views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We had two good nights at this hotel and were very happy with our choice. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was quite spacious and comfortable, the breakfast very good and the location was great. There was also free wifi in the rooms, good parking and we had a good view from our room. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My wife and I recently spent 12 days driving around Kyushu. We stayed in some pretty expensive onsen ryokans. To balance the budget, when not staying in an onsen, we stayed in inexpensive hotels, paying around 10,000 yen per room. Most of the time, the rooms in such hotels were tiny. The only exception was Richmond Hotel Miyazaki. The room was big with twin beds. While no 5-star hotel, everything was run smoothly and efficiently. Overall, I think it was excellent value for money. From now on, whenever I go to Japan, if I am looking for inexpensive accommodation, I would check Richmond's hotels first.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miyazaki hotels
JR Kyushu Hotel Miyazaki
#5 of 61 in Miyazaki
176 reviews
Miyazaki Station
Hotel JAL City Miyazaki
Hotel JAL City Miyazaki
#2 of 61 in Miyazaki
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tamayura Onsen
Miyazaki Kanko Hotel
Miyazaki Kanko Hotel
#7 of 61 in Miyazaki
249 reviews
Aoshima Onsen
ANA Holiday Inn Resort MIYAZAKI
Miyazaki Station
Hotel Sky Tower Miyazaki Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Miyazaki Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Miyazaki Ekimae

Address: 2-2-3 Miyazakiekihigashi, Miyazaki 880-0879, Miyazaki Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Miyazaki Prefecture > Miyazaki > Miyazaki Station
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels / Ryokan in Miyazaki
Price Range: £43 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hotel Miyazaki Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 100 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Rakuten, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Richmond Hotel Miyazaki Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing