We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, but not perfect ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ANA Holiday Inn Resort MIYAZAKI
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels / Ryokan in Miyazaki
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Overalll, this is a pleasant resort hotel located outside the bustle of Miyazaki city and right on the beach within a short walk to Aoshima island. Our room was modern, clean, spacious and had a fantastic seaview. The breakfast had a wide variety of the standard local and Western fare. The onsen was spacious enough to handle the peak hour crowds. The hotel was good value for the price.

However, there were some minor issues which can be improved upon:

- Closing time for the onsen was 11pm, compared to midnight or later elsewhere. This was inconvenient for guests like us who liked a more relaxing, late night soak after the boisterous, post-dinner crowds have gone to bed.
- The staff at the front desk were more comfortable dealing and conversing with local tourists and had difficulties understanding our request to help book a table at a local restaurant. There was no effort to follow up after telling us that the restaurant was not yet open for dinner.
- Upon checkout, we were presented with a printed invoice of another guest. Then, we were stopped at the exit because the hotel forgot to charge us for the 300yen bathing tax.
- No wi-fi in the room, although previous TA comments referred to fast internet connections.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Proxymojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed here for work recently and nearly everything was perfect. The room was very nice - I had a superb view of the beach and Aoshima. The internet was fast and free (although my colleague wasn't able to get a strong signal from his room on the 7th floor). Breakfast was decent - as good as you usually get in Japan (where for some reason they view hot dogs as a substitute for breakfast sausage). The bar served local beer (at most places in Kyushu we only had Asahi or Kirin). My only complaint is that the fitness center was practically never open. As someone who travels for work, the best time to get a workout in is often in the morning before breakfast. During the day I have meetings, and after work there often isn't time due to dinner meetings, etc. Even on holiday I like to work out in the morning so that I can do tourist activities during the day when tourist attractions are open. I frankly can't understand the rationale for having a fitness center that doesn't open until 10:00. It simply makes no sense. The hotel management really needs to get some thought to the needs of guests.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Holiday Inn Resort MIYAZAKI, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear FrequentIndia,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the fitness center hours of operation prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The location is exceptional! Near the sea, near the famous Aoshima island (a must-see!), 10 minutes from the train station. Be aware to order a taxi to pick you up at the rail station, because otherwise you will have to carry your luggage by yourself! A minus on the service is that no-one really speaks English in the restaurants (ordering food is very difficult) and that you also don't get any help with the luggage in the hotel.

We had our room on the top floor. The rooms were spacious, extremely nice and clean. There was complimentary water, tea and coffee. The hotel offers very good food (Chinese restaurant is a good tip!), very nice hot springs (beware that you are naked in this area), a pool, good massage offers, an exceptional view and a lot more! The one big minus is the sleeping quality: neither me nor my colleague could sleep well (bad mattresses?), but if your back is not so sensitive, this hotel is perfect! The wedding tradition is something the hotel is famous for, but you don't get any weird feeling if traveling for business either. If you love surfing, this is a place to stay! Other visitors will simply enjoy the additional services of the hotel or just walking on the beach, gathering sea-shells etc. Wi-fi was complimentary on the 8th and 9th floor, otherwise you have to go to the public areas of the hotel.

We also stayed at the Sheraton hotel in Miyazaki for one night, but would certainly prefer this hotel over the Sheraton (except sleeping quality).

A general remark for all the japanese hotels: most of the stuff cannot speak proper English and you also should not expect to see any english channels on the TV.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: 8th or 9th floor rooms have complimentary wi-fi, the rooms on the 9th floor are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mausi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This place is themed as a wedding resort, which gives it a bit of an odd vibe for the more casual traveller, and even has its own chapel. The rooms are a bit old but huge. Be sure to request a sea view. They have kindly put out two big chairs for you to enjoy the scenery. You can open the window a crack and fall into a deep sleep lulled by ythe gentle crashing of the waves. The modern onsen bath would have been great if the water was just a bit hotter. It was the first "infinity" type warm bath we've seen, overlooking the ocean. Food at the evening buffet was ample but disappointing. The breakfast buffet was much better. Give it a skip unless you need to break up a long road trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeGaribaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Holiday Inn Resort MIYAZAKI, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear SingaporeGaribaldi,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback.It is great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. However, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night during our Kyushu trip. Being situated just along the beach side, our room has nice sea views from our balcony. We had a nice walk along the beach from the hotel all the way to the Aoshima Island which is the famous tourist spot with Devil's washboard and Aoshima Jinja. At sunset, the beach and the island looked really beautiful. Car parking is free but there is no internet in the room. There is an indoor hot spa facing the sea. The staff is always smiling and helpful. We had a very nice dinner at the Japanese restaurant at the hotel. The next day we visited the nearby Udo Shrine before we headed to Kirishima. Overall this resort-style hotel is a nice place for you to enjoy peacefulness and scenic views with family and a nice stopover on the east coast of Kyushu.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goforholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: どの部屋もオーシャンビューですが、青島側の部屋は朝日が綺麗に見えます。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morikogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRMYZK, マネージャー at ANA Holiday Inn Resort MIYAZAKI, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Gotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRMYZK, マネージャー at ANA Holiday Inn Resort MIYAZAKI, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miyazaki hotels
Tamayura Onsen
Miyazaki Kanko Hotel
Miyazaki Kanko Hotel
#7 of 62 in Miyazaki
250 reviews
Miyazaki Station
Hotel JAL City Miyazaki
Hotel JAL City Miyazaki
#2 of 62 in Miyazaki
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JR Kyushu Hotel Miyazaki
#5 of 62 in Miyazaki
179 reviews
Aoshima Onsen
Route Inn Grantia Aoshima Taiyokaku
Aoshima Onsen
Aoshima Grand Hotel
Aoshima Grand Hotel
#16 of 62 in Miyazaki
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Holiday Inn Resort MIYAZAKI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Holiday Inn Resort MIYAZAKI

Address: 1-16-1 Aoshima, Miyazaki 889-2162, Miyazaki Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Miyazaki Prefecture > Miyazaki > Aoshima Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Miyazaki
Price Range: £62 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Holiday Inn Resort MIYAZAKI 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 150 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your ANA Holiday Inn Resort MIYAZAKI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoshima Palm Beach Miyazaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing