We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Clean, and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Sasebo Ekimae
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels / Ryokan in Sasebo
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Clean, and Friendly”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel was extremely well maintained and user friendly. Washers and dryers were available for extended stays, drink machines in the lobby were plentiful, free water on site, staff was above and beyond (highly professional), and the breakfast very good and simple each morning. The rooms were wifi ready with internet readily accessible. Beds were larger than normal and comfortable. Close to the train station, mall, and within walking distance to the major shopping strip in Sasebo which also featured too many food places to mention. TV can be watched in Japanese or English, money exchange available at the front desk, Baskin Robbins and Seattle's Best Coffee shop right next door. All in all very pleasurable stay and I would return.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 5th floor and had no issues with noise. Clothing rods vice closets are available in ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    60
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
20
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed for three nights. The room was very clean, the free breakfast was excellent and I always slept well. You can ask for pillows if you need any. You can get your robe, shaver and comb in the lobby. My only gripe is the smell of smoke near the entrance, due to the smoking area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nurikoryen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were recently in Japan again and in Sasebo so, having been here before, the choice of hotel was very simple...and I'm happy to say it's still, “GREAT LOCATION + FRIENDLY STAFF + VERY CLEAN”
The hotel is located outside the railway station. At the front of the hotel taxis and many of the bus services stop there or over the road where there is is bus terminal for longer distance travel.
Our room overlooked the main street and bus depot opposite.
For us, this hotel a wonderful base from which to explore surrounding towns ie Arita, Imari, Hirado and further afield.
The hotel is very clean and whilst the rooms are not large by western standards, they are 'normal' by Japanese standards, something we expect and enjoy when in another culture. The twin beds are of very good size and firm which I particularly like about Japan. Beds generally feel like tatami mats in firmness.
The bathrooms are very clean, compact but very functional.
Breakfast is included and was rather large. Whilst it is, generally speaking, Japanese in style, a choice or orange or apple juice, coffee or tea (all day in the lobby), rice triangles with various mixtures, miso soup, salad, sausages, pasta and fried rice or noodles. Bread rolls were also included with toasting facilities.
Free Wi-Fi in rooms and free access to computers and printer in the lobby.
I can recommend a great little eatery which I think is run by a husband and wife team. Standing at the exit of the railway station (on the hotel side) turn right and keep walking. You will come to a walk-way to the right where there are 3 or 4 restaurants. The one on the corner in front of you is the one!
On the opposite side of the station (harbour) MAJOR developments and restaurants.
This is a Japanese Business hotel. It is clean, safe, secure, well run without the trappings of a western style hotel...but hey, you are in Japan!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austranomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

As I'm not familiar with Kyushu area, I thought that sasebo might be the nearest town to stay in if I were to visit Huis ten Bosch(20mins by JR seaside liner). Then I found out that the train from hakata actually splits into two at Haiki, so Haiki seems to be the nearest town!

Actually the hotel is situated right outside of the station. It's not exactly the happening area of sasebo. Not much choice of food late at night.

Room was ok, clean and compact. Breakfast more for Asian taste. I like thier local specialty 'saraudon' the most, it's a Nagasaki noodle dish. Do try out 'chanpon' and 'castella cake' too!

I think the hotel suits those who wants to explore kujuku islands nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fayyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The Toyoko Inn Sasebo is probably one of the most centrally located hotels I have ever stayed at. When walking out of the railstation this will be the first building you encounter.
The first impression is that it is hotel with a rather small footprint, it makes up for this with its height which also gives half of the rooms a rather good view.

The hotel is quite cheap, but then again it is a business hotel and not much more than that. I woulden't go here for a holiday stay, but for sleeping after work and a night stay during a festival it will do the job.
The staff is Japanese (naturally...) which leaves the normal language barrier, but in my experience they try their utmost to help you in any way. They they both checked and got me a different hotel when I needed an extended stay and they were fully booked. Still, have patience. Some speak decent English, but not all.
There are only two elevators in this hotel, and that is a bit of a stretch for a 14 floor hotel, so during the breakfast hours I would recommend not being in a hurry to get out.

The room:
Rooms are small but kept spotlessly clean. Contains a bed, a desk and chair, a tv with an ok selection of channels (I didn't find any English speaking channels) and a small but very functional bathroom with shower. Fresh towels and a clean bed every day, just like it should be.
Doors are thick as well, so you won't hear much of what goes on in the hallways.

Breakfast:
This one needs an extra note. It is teh reason for the low rating on the restaurant.
Breakfast is complementary, but it is a very Japanese selection, and I would say a rather simple Japanese selection.
They serve some noodles, rice, porrage and a small selection of white bread, meats/sausages and vegetables.
It does the job, but for a regular western traveller it will be "non-standard".
In my case I only had time for the breakfast twice in a week, but in general I would say you are better off grabbing a sandwich or something similar from the nearby Family Mart if you are picky.

Room Tip: Rooms on the westside of the building have a view of the sea and harbour area. Just remember this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odd Jarle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Whilst we have been to Japan many times this is our first experience with Toyoko Inn...and what a positive experience it was!
We arrived early and even though we could not access our room until 4.00 pm ( known prior to arrival) we were able to book in, leave our belongings at the hotel and go out for several hours. The booking process was, as always in Japan, done promptly and without any dramas. Payment is made up front. We had pre-booked a non-smoking room.
Whilst it is true to say that little or no English is spoken at many hotels in Japan, a little humour and few words in Japanese will serve you well, even if mispronounced or completely wrong word.
Whilst most of the staff did not speak English, one lady, Yukiko, spoke a little and was brilliant, friendly, helpful and a great asset to the hotel.
The hotel is located less than one minute from the railway station. At the front of the hotel taxis abound and many of the bus services stop there or over the road.
The location makes this hotel a wonderful base from which to explore surrounding towns ie Imari, Huis Ten Bosch etc and further afield to Nagasaki and Hirado etc.Some 208 small islands lie off-shore.
The hotel was very clean and whilst the rooms were not large by Oz standards, they were a good size by Japanese. The twin beds were very wide and long enough for me (I'm 6'4"). The bathrooms are compact but very functional. Each room has a writing desk, TV, room safe and trouser press plus other features.
Breakfast was provided and was rather large. A choice or orange or apple juice, coffee or tea (all day in the lobby), rice triangles with various mixtures, miso soup, salad, sausages, pasta and fried rice or noodles. Bread rolls were also included.
Whilst you are required to hand the key into reception when you go out, and may have some difficulty reentering the room during the day, this is done for security and safety reasons.
Free Wi-Fi in rooms and free access to computers and printer in the lobby.
All in all, a great hotel, fantastic location for us and much to commend.
As I understand it, these are really Japanese Business hotels and as such, if you are looking for large rooms, lobbies to lounge in and dining rooms with silver service, then look elsewhere....and increase your credit card balance before you go!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austranomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I asked for a non smoking room due to allergy. Upon arrival, the only thing I could get was a smoking room. The staff did not speak a word english, and wouldn't return my money so I could go elsewhere. After talking to other people, it turned out that the exactly the same happened for others.

Regarding the breakfast, all you get is rice and miso soup.

As I was in Sasebo for a conference, I needed to access my room now and then during the day. However, due to cleaning they do not allow you to enter the room between 10 am and 3 pm before having a big arguing every time.

The only positive thing I have to say about this place is it's very convenient location close to the station and arkasas.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StineRonholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sasebo hotels
Sasebo Station
Sasebo Washington Hotel
Sasebo Washington Hotel
#13 of 42 in Sasebo
111 reviews
Central Hotel Sasebo
#12 of 42 in Sasebo
50 reviews
Quintessa Hotel Sasebo
#9 of 42 in Sasebo
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sasebo Station
Hotel Resol Sasebo
Hotel Resol Sasebo
#14 of 42 in Sasebo
78 reviews
Hotel Sunroute Sasebo
#15 of 42 in Sasebo
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Sasebo Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Sasebo Ekimae

Property: Toyoko Inn Sasebo Ekimae
Address: 1-4 Miuracho, Sasebo 857-0863, Nagasaki Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Sasebo > Sasebo Station
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sasebo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Sasebo Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Toyoko Inn Sasebo Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toyoko Inn Sasebo Ekimae Japan - Nagasaki Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing