We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seikai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seikai
Ranked #2 of 138 Hotels / Ryokan in Beppu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Our stay in Seikai is definitely the highlight of our trip to Osaka and Kyushu. We definitely enjoyed it and felt very relaxiing.

The staffs are very helpful and polite. We printed the instructions (in Japanese) they sent us to catch a taxi to hotel.

Room Tip: Dine in the hotel. You won't be disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnjoyOurLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    57
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
98
83
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have to say that the hotel was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in Japan. The room was large and beautiful. A great view of the sea. The private outside bath overlooking the sea was amazing. The staff was polite. While not a cheap place to stay, you get great value for your money I think.

The food in the kaiseki restaurant and the seafood restaurant was amazing. I did 'half board' with the room. This gets you amazing dinners and a large Japanese breakfast. Not much English was spoke in the restaurant, but everyone tried hard and this did not get in the way of a nice dinner. I would recommend getting your dinner reservations set at the same time you do your hotel reservations. That gets you the restaurant and the time you want. But good luck trying to change them after they are made. I tried to do that and I got a polite, "that will be sadly impossible". I am sure they already bought the food for that evening.

The town of beppu itself is nothing to write home about. You need a cab to get around it if you are not on a tour. Very little you can just walk to, and nothing around the hotel. But if you just stay in the hotel and enjoy it and it's onsen you should be right as rain! Keep in mind they they do close the onsen during part of the afternoon, which I found a bit unfortunate if you want to hang around the hotel. There are other great onsen in the area that may be worth seeing if you enjoy them like I do.

A nice stop if you are enjoying southern Honshu, as it is a fairly short train ride to get there. Take a cab from the main train station.

Room Tip: The 'western' style rooms were just great, and still had a nice 'Japanese' feel to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Onsen: The first floor rotenburo overlooking the ocean was AMAZING. The 8th floor onsen was also very nice.

Room: We stayed in Type A room and it was better than we expected. The room was so HUGE and spotless clean with two really comfortable double size beds (I think they were Simmons mattresses), 10-jo tatami area, sitting area, and a private roten with a separate shower room.

Dinner: We had dinner at Banya, but the food was just so so and the service was a bit disappointing. We wanted to order from the menu, but their menu book was written only in Japanese. Since our Japanese skill was limited, we asked our waitress if she could kindly explain the menu to us. But she just recommended a few dishes to us (without explaining the menu) in fast talking Japanese. Hmmm...Banya needs to improve their waitstaff training.

Breakfast: Breakfast at Aetarou was really delicious. We loved the seafood miso soup, rice & yaki fish. The service at Aetarou was great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JapanMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have been to 潮騒の宿 晴海 last month. I have chosen a room I in Umi building, The room was stylish, clean and tidy, it had got a terrace, which I could enjoy the sea breeze, sunrise and sunset. The dinner and breakfast there were both tasty. Really worth to visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bingbingho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Open air hot spring bath (Onsen) with wonderful ocean view, absolute Japanese foods(Kaiseki) with perfect Japanese sake (Peach flavor)... although it was for my grandma's 89th birthday, it was the moment that I can be proud to be Japanese.

We only had a Kaiseki course dinner @ Japanese restaurant "Gen" and Onsen (Onsen is free if you have a meal at the restaurant), but we were absolutely delighted by their great and warm hospitality from right after we arrived to the end of our dinner.

Onsen water made our skin smooth and soft, Kaiseki foods satisfied our stomach and great hospitality we received... it was a perfect birthday present for my grandma. Definitely two thumbs up!

Next year we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kyushugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Stay here for only one night with big families. The room is really spacious, luxury and super comfortable with perfect amenities. The rate included dinner & breakfast , both were superb indeed. Quality of food & service were very impressive.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PLtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

wonderful full view of the ocean + outdoor onsen bath by the bathroom..
Hotel staff attentive, view was heavenly, room was unbelievably spacious, cosy and comfortable.

we stayed there a few years ago and still fantasize about the view..

location is not within walking distance of any attractions (which was actually good), but there is a very convenient bus stop right in front of the hotel

p.s. for a room like that, in a good service hotel, we would have payed double the price in Europe.

Actually stayed there Sep. 2010 (tripadvisor is not giving me the option to go past Nov 2011)

Room Tip: private bath, the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HawiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beppu hotels
Beppu Station
Hotel Umine
Hotel Umine
#6 of 138 in Beppu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Beppu Onsen
Hotel Shiragiku
Hotel Shiragiku
#5 of 138 in Beppu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Beppu Station
Nishitetsu Resort Inn Beppu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beppu Station
Nogamihonkan Ryokan
Nogamihonkan Ryokan
#13 of 138 in Beppu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Beppu Onsen
Suginoi Hotel
Suginoi Hotel
#1 of 138 in Beppu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Beppu Onsen
Hana Beppu
Hana Beppu
#4 of 138 in Beppu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seikai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seikai

Property: Seikai
Address: 6-24 Shoningahamacho, Beppu 874-0023, Oita Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Beppu > Beppu Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 138 Hotels / Ryokan in Beppu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seikai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering dynamic sea views from the comfort of an open-air bath on the beach as well as luxurious guest rooms All rooms are ocean view, with open-air bath and strong individuality styles, with three places to eat. Our "hot spring resort traditional hotel" will put a smile on your face ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten and Odigeo so you can book your Seikai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing