We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, good location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabosu House Beppu Hamayu
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality lodging in Beppu
Shirakawa, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, good location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed in a private twin room with a private bathroom for 3 nights at the start of April. When we booked, we received a helpful email from the hotel in English, confirming our stay and giving us extra information about the accommodation. Our flight arriving at Oita Airport was late, and the staff were helpful and explained how to access the property if the front desk was closed. Online, it says that parking costs 700yen per day, but actually the staff let us park in their place, so it was free, which was very kind of them! The various staff members were very helpful in giving us maps and information/advice about local restaurants etc. They have lots of maps and timetables for local attractions in the main area, and in our room we also found a binder (one in English, one in Japanese) full of information about what to do in Oita prefecture. We had a car, but they also provided useful bus information for travelers using public transport. Our room was nice - tatami room with bunk beds, we actually separated them out, the room was nice and big. We had storage space for our clothes, a table and a balcony with 2 chairs. The bathroom was fine, basic but there was an onsen on the 1st floor, which was good to use instead of showering. The kitchen was well-stocked, and there was also a manga/relaxing room. A good place to stay!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fatcat2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    35
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
6
16
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

This is a good hostel because of its convenient location, comprehensive facilities, the availability of double rooms. The staff is very friendly, well informed, speak english & helpful.
Rooms are clean, normal beds, nice dorms. showers are spaceous and clean as well.
WIFI is available.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perspective B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimhae, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Most Japanese accommodation is very expensive, especially family like us(we have 3 kids). And in my case, traveling Kyushu with rental car, I need only a room for our family, don't want to spend much money for that room, this is perfect place.

Japanese tatami style room is wide enough for our 3 young kids(5,3,1yrs old), cleanly managed.
The hosts are very friendly.

The common bathroom has onsen, too. Even though it is very small place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 꿈꾸는사람
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

My single room was clean. Host was nice and answered all questions good with English. Bit tricky to find by car in a one way alley and no shower as Onsen was broken today. It's not as bad as people say just a normal hostel and I found it clean.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabretoothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Very international place, visitors around the world. Staff is very friendly and can help You, also with Your problems with Japanese language.
We had booked private room for two. Lot of space, good sleeping equipments, nice toilet, but unfortunately shower sometimes gave only cold water and even on lucky moments it was very arctic style. I have to say I was happy after three nights to have proper shower on our next accomodation.
Khaosan has nice location, there was good car parking, very good internet access. And it is not expensive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We arrived on a dark and stormy night from a long train ride. The hostel is quite hard to get to if you use the map they provide (mini alleyways are counted as streets). I don't advise having wheeled luggage if you plan to walk there. The room we got was really really spacious and traditional. The people there were friendly. Too bad we only stayed for one night.
There are some really good food joints in beppu.

Room Tip: Don't bring wheeled luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very good and cheap!

Stayed for 1 month (30 days) due to a credit transfer program i had with the university in beppu. Felt very comfortable during my 1 month stay due to the cozy home environment the place has.

Rooms, during my stay I slept in 2 different rooms, 4 bedder and 6 bedder and also visited the 1 bedder and 2 bedder rooms. The 1 bedder room is really small and demoralizing to stay in but you get all the privacy! 2 bedder rooms are by far the best rooms, with huge amounts of space (belcony, tea table and space of a hotel). 4 bedder rooms are reasonable, consist of 2 double decker beds and a personal locker for all room, enough space for all members to open bags on the floor, livable space. 6 bedder rooms are just abit bigger than the bedder room but with another decker bed, hardly space to walk, the walk way only has space for 1 person to walk at a time, side ways, only 1 person can open his bag at a time on the floor, not advised for long stays but should be ok for up to 5 days?

bathrooms and toilets, 2 some 2 bedder rooms has private toilets which are decently clean, for 4 bedder and 6 bedder rooms, there is a common private toilet(one at a time) on the second floor and a common hot spring bath room at the 1st floor ( many at a time), they hot springs are recommended, very refreshing, I used it everyday! The hot springs are not mixed gender and water are direct from under ground. (foc)

Staff, all staff are extremely friendly and helpful, Mr kenta and team :D. You can ask for recommendations on where to go etc! chit chat and stuff!!

Wifi and computer use, Free wifi :D and common computers for use! Foc

Common kitchen, almost everything you will ever need to whoop up an meal (pots, pans, wok, plates, forks and spoons, cooking oil, sauces). The kitchen also has a shared fridge where you can leave your goodies (marked with your name or else its free for all). There is also a LCD tv with local and cable channels, and even a wii console you can play FOC.

Reading area, there is a hangout and reading area beside the kitchen with a very small collection of books and comics. Its a very random collection, might not interest all.

Living room + smoking room, beside the front desk there is a living room with another LCD tv. Good place to chill out and have a beer after a long day. Smoking room is available for smokers. ( smoking else where is not allowed)

location is 3 mins walk from a bus stop, 10 mins walk from the train station. nearest supermarket is 2-3 bus stops away!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or feel uncomfortable sharing room with strangers, you can ask for a solo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beppu hotels
Beppu Station
Nogamihonkan Ryokan
Nogamihonkan Ryokan
#12 of 138 in Beppu
160 reviews
Beppu Station
Nishitetsu Resort Inn Beppu
Beppu Onsen
Hotel Sun Valley
Hotel Sun Valley
#80 of 138 in Beppu
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beppu Onsen
Hotel Shiragiku
Hotel Shiragiku
#7 of 138 in Beppu
196 reviews
Beppu Station
Umikaoru Yado Hotel New Matsumi
Beppu Onsen
Hotel Aile
Hotel Aile
#9 of 138 in Beppu
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabosu House Beppu Hamayu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabosu House Beppu Hamayu

Property: Cabosu House Beppu Hamayu
Address: 3-3-10 Kitahama, Beppu 874-0920, Oita Prefecture (Formerly Spa Hostel Khaosan Beppu Hamayu)
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Beppu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality lodging in Beppu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabosu House Beppu Hamayu 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten and Priceline so you can book your Cabosu House Beppu Hamayu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing