We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Hotels.com
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Agoda.com
US$71
View deal
Booking.comUS$75
CheapTicketsUS$72
PricelineUS$75
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
50
82
43
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
50
82
43
1
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Felt traditional but with modern conveniences like an adjustable heater, Wifi(decent), western style toilet (heated seat of course) and a television that had Japanese shows only, but who needs tv anyway when you have youtube. I came here during the Christmas holiday and it really wasn't too busy. The natural spring hot baths or onsens were great although extremely hot! there is a cold water tap you can turn on but it takes a while to bring down the temp. Basically how it works is they have a paper at the desk with available times up until midnight, you put your name down for whatever time and your good to go. The two private baths are directly across from the hotel, but the public bath is indoors. Btw, if you want the full onsen experience I recommend Hyotan onsen which is about a fifteen minute bus ride from the hotel... you are expected too walk around naked in front of other men so expect that.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2012

After two weeks going from a hostel to another, it felt amazing to have my very own room, with my very own BATHROOM with a real japanese bath (and my very own toilets!), aside from the three lovely onsen in the hotel that you can use!
The room was large and very nice, with aircon, TV, a wardrobe and a fridge. There was a tea set on the table with a thermos filled with hot water everyday. There was also a small biscuit everyday for me. Oh, and a clean Yukata everyday!
At around six, three nice oba-chan came to make my futon for the night.
All the staff was very helpful and sweet even though their english was not that good.
The ryokan is located near Beppu train station, and surrounded by numerous bars and restaurants.
It was the best place where I ever stayed in Japan and it cost only 4'000 yen per night.
I definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Beppu!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miryam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We came here after finding this ryokan on the Rakuten Travel site. Because we mentioned the Rakuten site, we got a 1500 yen discount per person on our room. That was a savings of 4500 yen for the three of us. We were pleasantly surprised and happy with the rooms and friendly staff. Enjoyed the semi open air wood and stone onsen (Hinoki) and appreciated the free Wifi in the rooms. We had stayed at a different hotel (dump) the night before for more money and thought that these accommodations were ten times better. Near the sea, Takegawara Onsen (definitely try the sand bath), the station, lots of shops and restaurants and You Me department store that has everything you could ever want.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is a really good place to stay in when visiting Beppu.
It’s just 1 minute walk to the famous Takegawara Onsen where you can try sand bath, and it’s not far from Beppu Station. If you walk out of the ryokan entrance, turn right and walk for less than 1 minute, you come to the main street filled with restaurants. There is a conv.store (Daily Yamazaki) and a post office (where you can use foreign country credit card to take out cash) close by.

Our room was very large and spacy. There was a Japanese table and two chairs, a western table and two chairs, a fridge, a water boiler for tea/cup nudles, and a TV. The wi-fi was very good; we could upload video clips on FaceBook in no time and web cam was working great on Skype. Yukata was provided. The futon was good, we slept well. There was a separate WC room and a separate shower room.
The only complaint we had was that - I can’t really put this in English but - there was almost no pressure in the shower, the water came out slow, and it took long before the temperature changed from cold to warm.

When visiting Beppu you of course try the Japanese onsen. But when traveling with your partner you can never bath together. We therefore recommend you to book a Japanese style bath at Nogami Honkan when staying there – it’s totally free of charge! We tried the “HINOKI”, it was very nice.

We also want to recommend a little restaurant close by – Biriken. It’s next to Daily Yamazaki conv.store (you can’t miss it when you come out to the main street from the ryokan). It has display dishes out front, and a little monster sitting by the door. They offer a lot of different dishes, have good prices, menu in English, they gave us more to drink in our glasses than we ever got elsewhere in Japan and it has a nice atmosphere (even cute music ^^). Go there for dinner when staying at Nogami Honkan!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A-K_Erno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed for two nights here and enjoyed it a lot much due to the nice onsens. The three private paths are free and at least one of them is available most of the time. There are also public baths for men and women. A very positive side of this ryokan. That said it is a bit worn down - a bit smelly and not clean. The location is good about 5 minutes walk from the station and close to the ocean where you can stroll by the water. We thought it was good value!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank froderik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews