We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value...with hot spring baths...indoors and outdoors (Rotenburo)”
Review of Comodo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comodo Hotel
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Oita
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value...with hot spring baths...indoors and outdoors (Rotenburo)”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable stay...furniture is a bit dated...but clean, excellent facilities, good wifi, washing machines, very central location near station and main street...the best thing is the onsen on the top floor with an outdoor bath (rotenburo) with a view of the city ...and excellent value....highly recommended

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    77
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
7
37
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel as it provided hot-spring on hotel roof. Reception staff was very nice and helpful. Location is outstanding which was in front of train station.Room was small but facilities were good and acceptable. Breakfast was also fine.Hot-spring pool was rather small only for less guests,so I recommended to stay during weekday. Many information were provided for tourists in hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Great experience at this hotel. The staff at the reception was very helpful and kind. We stayed on the 23rd December, and upon check-in, they gave us one whole roll cake as a gift for Christmas. The cake came in a nice brown bag (reusable!) and ice to keep it cool.

Every room comes with free breakfast- buffet style. The food had a very homey atmosphere and taste, not a result of massive production in a busy kitchen. Good taste, not a wide selection, but enough to satisfy the empty stomach after taking a morning onsen, watching the city and the train. There is an onsen inside, and an outdoor onsen. The outdoor onsen had better water quality.

The women's onsen area comes with a free washing/drying machine. Only one, so be quick! Free washing soap also available at the side of the machine. If you prefer to pay, you can find them downstairs too, I think it was on the 2nd floor, or the basement, I forget.

The room was very clean and basic. Good internet connection, flat screen TV, hot water pot. I think you can drink the water from the tap in the room, but I recommend you collect water from the onsen room, from the water server. (Free, cold or hot, paper cups provided at the side) and bring to your room.

Comfortable bed, no noise from the other rooms or the hallway. Great access from the train station, or the bus stop. Very easy to locate- just look up and look for the red sign that reads "COMODO HOTEL".

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocobonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tra Vinh, Vietnam
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I was impressed. I walked out of the train station with no reservation & it was the first place I tried. Good room, decent price with breakfast and an onsen thrown in. This onsen was on a par with the stand alone types with fewer other people when I was there (i.e. I had the onsen to myself). It had all the amenities of a full size onsen: it had a still and gushing hot pool; a hot mineral pool outside, a cold pool and a sauna, just just like an ordinary onsen. As with most places in Japan, they could use a few signs in languages other than Japanese (as luck would have it the egg I chose was raw & not hard boiled) & maybe at least one foreign language TV channel. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, no noise & a comfortable bed: everything I want in a hotel.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room & was told that "It should be". In other words, there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Convenient location from Oita station. Nothing is particularly good or bad but it is a little tired hotel. Their women's sauna was only for one person. So many foreign travelers who do not know how to bathe in Japanese way so it was terrible when I went into the roof-top bath. Their breakfast is OK but their system can be better so that people do not have to fight to reach food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoydifference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Rooms here are typical size for Japan. Flat screen TVs and black-out window panels added to the comfort of the room, but very little time was spent inside. The rooftop onsen offers a surreal experience, as you can stand in all your glory, looking down at Oita City, the mountains and out to sea (14th floor + 1 level up to roof). **No extra charge for onsen**

Free breakfast added to the experience, as well as having three sets of coin laundry machines. Staff was pleasant, even during the high volume traffic of Golden Week. One friend and I arrived with no reservation, and were still treated fairly on price. Right on par with other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandererer151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oita hotels
Hotel Mystays Oita
#7 of 44 in Oita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oita Station
Hotel Forza Oita
Hotel Forza Oita
#4 of 44 in Oita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Oita Station
Hotel Hokke Club Oita
Ariston Hotel Oita
#18 of 44 in Oita
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comodo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comodo Hotel

Property: Comodo Hotel
Address: 1-2-1 Kanaikemachi, Oita 870-0026, Oita Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Oita > Oita Station
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels / Ryokan in Oita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten so you can book your Comodo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing