We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and nice”
Review of Hotel Mystays Oita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mystays Oita
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels / Ryokan in Oita
Reviewed 6 June 2013

it is quite far from subway, but there are a lots of shops along the way from subway to the hotel.
so u dont think it's a hardship at all.
the main entrance is nice, but no WIFI at rooms or even internet, is a bad point.
only 2 computers in the loddy which u can use freely.
okay nice room

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

Ok tripadvisor's friends this hotel let me really uncertain. Position is fine even if there's NOTHING to do or see in Oita (go to beppu is better) is the rest that let me hung... the smell of the hotel is DUSTY and the reason why is easy they DON'T clean the filters!! So it's dangerous for the health and not only disgusting... the hotel needs mantainance and they don't do it: the furniture in the room were scratched and full of missing paint, the walls with holes (even in the breakfast are downstairs!!), and in the corridors the paperwall is scratched. The moquette is dirty... it's not for sure a list of good things right?
But than comes the price... (VERY VERY CHEAP!!) and the FANTASTIC breakfast (OMG OMG OMG i loved it!!). Beware receptionist and all other employee don't speak englsh..
My vote is a 2... just to encourage the BEst Western chain to keep an eye on this hotel.

Gamabrimasu Fino Oita BW!!

Room Tip: just don't go is easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crazyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Best western is situated in the centre of Oita city. You can go around and you will find many Japanese restaurants and shops. It is a typical medium classed Japanese hotel, namely difficult to communicate in english with the staff and small rooms having only the essentials (fridge empty).

Furnishings are worn and generally speaking rooms need renovation.

The is no wifi in the rooms (only LAN connection but you better have your LAN cable with you because they don't provide one). It is a hotel for business travellers and only for short stays.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Thought the staff were able to communicate in English, but NO.
They were speechless (or pretended to be, I'm afraid to feel that way) to the simple and short question that I have. Hence, I could not get any answer to "Where can I drop off my luggage? Can I leave my car outside the main entrance? How much is the parking fee? I paid for breakfast, why don't you give me breakfast tickets?)

Chose it because it is a Best Western but the standard of service is a total disappointment.

Filthy. Found hair under the pillow and on the bed sheets. The bathroom had blood stain on the curtain and mud stain on the shower head. Inefficient drainage in the bath tub caused foul smell all the time. Used their room freshener but someone refilled it with pure alcohol. Ventilation not working--no temperature nor fan control. Luckily windows could be opened. So although it was near zero degree, we had the window opened all the time during our stay.

Extremely small room. No space for hanging more than one jacket; no space to open luggage except for putting it on the bed. We booked for a moderate room because we are willing to pay extras for a better quality room. We were so wrong.

Paid for breakfast but receptionists said no until I produced a print out of the voucher and argued for it. How come they missed such a routine info in their system? Yet no apologies for their mistake. How unfriendly!

BEWARE that although it says "No reservation for parking is needed". We were sent to park 2.5 blocks away in a public open ground! More ridiculously, we were asked to park first and then walked back to the hotel with all our luggages and our two kids from 2.5 block away in a cold winter evening. When asked where we could drop off the luggage and the kids, we got a NO with a stern face. We have no choice but abandoned the car at the corner of the hotel and hurried back down to figure out the public parking venue. Although with a simple map and a car GPS system, we circled the area 5 times until we found the designated parking lot.

No smiles and no simple greetings at all times during our 2N3D stay. Where are their manners? Even McDonald's knows "smile is free".

No need to waste time trying their breakfast. Food were not fresh and taste was bland. Everyone in the breakfast room left within 5 mins. One bite tells you all. Made us wonder why they are in the hospitality industry. Beware that the computers in the lobby are placed right in the middle of the public path 2 feet from the elevator doors, so there is absolutely NO privacy for the users. We felt embarrassed walking by people's shoulders while they were using the computers.

I have had so many questions about the substandard of this hotel. Then I read a sign at the reception desk: "Independently owned and operated". How honest they are to explain to customers about their quality management system!

This was my worst stay in the 10+ trips I had in Japan and I paid even more than the wonderful Richmond Hotel Fukuoka Tenjin and the ChisunInn-Tosu stays that I had in the same trip.

Room Tip: None. Beware that all rooms regardless of grade are of the same small size. We paid for a Moderate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmomVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Clean, modern hotel quarter of a mile away from the Oita JR station. With luggage's it is strenuous as you have to use an underpass and overpass with stairs only along the way . Rooms are small but practical and the AC worked silently. With Diamond membership they offered a room upgrade. Lots of restaurants to choose from. I recommend this BestWestern hotel if you visit Beppu nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cj98103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 高層階だとなおよろしい。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank naonaoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 早く予約するのがお勧めです。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tananata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oita hotels
Oita Station
Hotel Hokke Club Oita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ariston Hotel Oita
#19 of 46 in Oita
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mystays Oita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mystays Oita

Address: 1-32 Niagemachi, Oita 870-0046, Oita Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Oita Prefecture > Oita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels / Ryokan in Oita
Price Range: £26 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mystays Oita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL MYSTAYS Oita is at 7-minutes walk from JR Oita Station. The property is praised by our guests for a wonderful level of service and great japanese and western breakfast buffet using the freshest of Oita’s seasonal materials. Our rooms are simple yet nicely designed in warm and bright colors. High ceiling and large window provide spatial comfort. Our wide beds promise a good night's sleep and the rest of the amenities comprise a massage shower, adjustable lighting, 20-inch television, high-speed free Wi-Fi, and VOD (Video On Demand). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Rakuten, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mystays Oita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing