We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
300 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

we spent four nights here - the hotel was built recently, about three year ago - it is modern and beautifully designed -

our room included a kitchenette and living area, as well as a porch with table and chairs - the decor of the bedroom is superb --- very simple, calm and comfortable - the beds are excellent

the bathroom includes a shower as well as a bathtub with full window affording a view of the sea -

breakfast selection is ample, tasty and varied from day to day -

staff is pleasant and helpful, in as much as limited command of English allows -

the hotel is within walking distance of the Ginowan Convention Center, as well as a small mall with assorted stores and a large supermarket - Aside from that, it is somewhat removed from town - Naha is some 20 minutes + - from Ginowan, depending on traffic, and traffic is heavy for the most part - There are buses to and from the hotel to Naha and the Naha International Airport four times a day - taxis are available, and less costly than in Tokyo - If using the bus, get clear information about schedules, particularly the return trip from Naha --- reading the printout they provide is not so easy; taxis in Naha know where Ginowan is but few are familiar with the hotel itself -

All in all, this is a extremely nice hotel and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    119
    31
    7
    0
See reviews for
184
64
12
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This for me was the best hotel I have ever stayed at and I travel lots. I highly recommend it. The rooms are spacious and designed well, the staff is the friendliest anywhere, the view from the terrace is great, wifi in the room and lobby, restaurant, gym, pool, etc. The rooms themselves are not to be believed for the price. You have a large bedroom with two large beds, a living room with large couch and TV with lots of room, a kitchen with microwave stove refridgerator/freezer, coffee machine, cups and silver, everything you need, a bathroom with a nice tub and shower with a window view while you bathe of the ocean port and a separate bathroom with heated toilet seats, plus a nice terrace with a Great view of the port!!, not like a hotel more like a great apartment. The hotel is fairly new and so is everything else, and the cleanliness is impeccable, our rooms were spotless, but the price is just unbelievable for all this and great service. I felt like I was treated 5-star all the way and felt like I was in a 5-star hotel. Another great thing about this hotel is it is blocks away from the Okinawa Convention center where there is a great beach. Across street is a great mall and there is a 24 hour supermarket. There are also many places to eat and shop around. Right up the hill are all the buses that can connect you to anywhere in Okinawa. Ginowan is not too far from downtown Naha where there is more action. The buses up the hill take you right there. Depend on theMoon Ocean staff for any question you may have, they have a good answer for any question and go the full nine yards to make sure you’re comfortable with your answer. The staff is GREAT. If I’m in Okinawa Moon Ocean is where I’ll be staying!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and it's not necessary to be high up to get the view, we were on the 4t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Pros
There are two bedrooms, which is not typical in Japan.
I felt a satisfaction about the quality of foods in Breakfast. Fresh yogurt, fresh cut fruits(mango, white and ruby grapefruit, melon, pineapple etc) are the best ever.
Cons
In thunderstorm, it is a little bit noisy in my suite. Because an air duct fun is running all days long receiving for strong wind.


Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank roroxtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hotel is located about 30 mins drive away from Naha city during non peak hours. Location is central enough to utilise as a base for exploring both the north (up to Churaumi Aquarium) and south (up to Gyokusendo Cave) of Okinawa main island. Car parking is free and there are many lots. Free wifi access is available in the lobby and restaurant area only.

We booked a deluxe one bedroom. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. There was a separate living area with a very comfortable and wide sofa to watch the TV with a coffee table. Free bottled water is provided in your room every day. There is even a reasonably sized kitchenette with a IH stove and kitchen sink. There is a small/mid sized fridge (not just a bar fridge) and a microwave. A big 24-hour supermarket is 5 mins walk away so you can prepare simple meals if you wish. We love the ocean view from both the bathroom and balcony.

The surroundings are quiet. The service is excellent and the staff are friendly. The hotel surprised us with a complimentary plate of fresh sweet fruits in our room one day with a personalised little card. It was very sweet of them. Will definitely return to stay and recommend to anyone I know visiting Okinawa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn_Kuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a wonderful 14 day stay at this high-end home away from home. Our room consisted of two bedrooms, two baths, with a large living area and kitchen. The staff was very welcoming and receptive to our needs. The pool area was clean and friendly. The kitchen/restaurant was reasonable and a true experience to sample various foods. I highly recommend this hotel for a short or long term visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked a deluxe twin room in August. The hotel provides free parking lot. Free wi-fi access is only available in the hotel restaurant and lobby but not in the room. The room is clean, spacious and has excellent ocean view from room/balcony and bathroom. The hotel prepared free bottled water every day. Electric kettle is also provided so we can have hot tea inside the room. Buffet breakfast from 7-11am, and the food is fresh and lots to choose. There is a restaurant close to the hotel and only walking distance to a supermarket. Remember to close the bathroom door otherwise will be waked up by the sunlight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skybirdie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Our family of 4 had an excellent stay at Moon Ocean in July 2013. The location was convenient, around 30 mins by taxi from Naha airport. A big 24-hour supermarket is 5 mins walk. The room with added beds was just big enough for 4 adults. The fridge was surprising large, microwave and a heating plate allowed some simple cooking. Breakfast was also satisfactory with sufficient choices. Swimming pool was disappointingly small.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nc116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ginowan
0.8 mi away
Laguna Garden Hotel
Laguna Garden Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ginowan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
3.3 mi away
Vessel hotel campana Okinawa
3.5 mi away
Hilton Okinawa Chatan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Beach Tower Okinawa
The Beach Tower Okinawa
#3 of 8 in Chatan-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
5.9 mi away
Okinawa Grand Mer Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence

Property: Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence
Address: 558-8 Uchidomari, Ginowan 901-2227, Okinawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ginowan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels / Ryokan in Ginowan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel And Residence
Moon Ocean Ginowan Hotel & Residence Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing