We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful sunset from our room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel East China Sea
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels / Ryokan in Ishigaki
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A beautiful sunset from our room!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located nearby Ishigaki Port, about three-minute walk away, so it was very convenient to access to remote islands, such as Taketomi-jima. Our non-smoking room was on the 8th floor, so the view from our room was beautiful. Especially, the sunset was gorgeous to look at. All the rooms face the marina, so the views from rooms on higher floors are guaranteed. The room charge was under $110 per night without breakfast included when we stayed there at the beginning of August, which is reasonably priced for the location. FYI, the hotel has a laundry room on the ground floor with two washers and dryers, which is a huge plus for travelers. Our room was cleaned throughly everyday, so we had a really comfortable stay at Hotel East China Sea. :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nao_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    203
    75
    9
    6
See reviews for
98
94
79
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Do not book this! We booked 5 nights but could only stay for four due to the stench of molds in our room, we tried to change room after first night but got information that the hotel was full. We felt sick from the smell in the walls. Will never go back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MissSnaggles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile


Stayed here 5 nights, used as a base for travel to other islands. Could see local festival fireworks from balcony.

Location: excellent. Next to Main Street, very close to ferry terminal, bus stop, rental car

Room: clean tidy, balcony overlooking port and ferry terminal -bonus. No safe. Few power sockets.

Bathroom: bath not sealed to wall, and bath taps loose from tiles, but usable. All else good.

Wifi: lobby. Need to ask for room wifi device pack, which will take up 2 power sockets, but fast and handy once set up. Ishigaki city wifi nearby hotel

Laundry: coin-op, around back of reception.

Staff: Hardly any English, but polite and very helpful.

Note: waiting area outside reception desk not air conditioned. Consider when waiting for pick up in hot summer. Free bicycle rental for about an hour. No printing services. For this, there is a nearby Internet cafe by bike.

Summary:
Awesome location, balcony, great harbour views. Cons: No safe, no air con outside reception desk, very little English, but nice people.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kingyin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The good thing about this hotel is the location. Closed to the ferry terminal, local market and many restaurants. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly.
The breakfast is ok but nothing special. The room is a bit old and the windows are not so clean. The parking is not free because there is no hotel parking.
You can rent a bicycle (free) for a couple of hours from the hotel if you want to go around the area. Free WI-FI is available only in the reception area (outside).I think the price is a bit higher than the value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMB95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The location is excellent as you are less than 500 meters from ferries, the market and many restaurants etc. The layout of our room was excellent with plenty of room, the staff and level of service was average for Japan which is excellent elsewhere in the world. We were lucky enough to get a non-smoking room. The buffet was average, but I wouldn`t recommend eating in the restaurant if you were paying. The only down side to this hotel was the rock hard beds. It was barely softer than sleeping on a wooden floor and I know that from plenty of experience. The staff could be more prompt and polite, but this is a small island and not up to what you may be expecting if you have traveled the main island of Japan. We would stay again for 3 or less nights, due to the hard beds.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels,
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Clean hotel, all ocean view, close (3 min. walk) to the ferry terminal, and easy to get away from Ishigaki-city. Staff was very helpful.
Wifi is (now?) available but only in front of the lobby. You need to ask for the password at the front desk.
Breakfast in buffet-style is plenty and the Champloo is changed daily between goya, fu, and vegetables.
Make certain you get breakfast early at least once; you'll still find local grown pineapple (less sour, more white) while later on (7 am) only the Hawaiian version (yellow) is left.

Room Tip: Every room is ocean view so probably the higher the better view. downside is that there is only 1 el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed with 3 persons, an extra bed was put in the room and still enough space for us to move around and having our luggages in there. Sea view on the harbour with balcony. Complimentary tea and bathroom amenities. Clean room. Great variety in breakfast, mainly Japanese (warm) food. Salad, croissants, yam are available. Unfortunately no internet nor wifi available.

Close to the harbour if you like to go island hopping, 5min walk.
Close to downtown Ishigaki with many restaurants in the neighbourhood.

I experienced delicious Okinawa cuisine with live music and joy at Imaizumi Kazuki restaurant (0980-88-5014), reasonable price but no English menu available. Luckily they have pictures on their menu card or just look around what they serve at other tables. They have seats in Japanese style or table with chairs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blossom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ishigaki hotels
2.0 mi away
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort
0.8 mi away
ART HOTEL Ishigakijima
ART HOTEL Ishigakijima
#7 of 34 in Ishigaki
781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vessel Hotel Ishigaki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miyahira
Hotel Miyahira
#13 of 34 in Ishigaki
240 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ishigaki Seaside Hotel
Ishigaki Seaside Hotel
#9 of 34 in Ishigaki
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ishigakijima Hotel cucule
Ishigakijima Hotel cucule
#5 of 34 in Ishigaki
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel East China Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel East China Sea

Property: Hotel East China Sea
Address: 2-8 Misakicho, Ishigaki 907-0012, Okinawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels / Ryokan in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel East China Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking: 25 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel East China Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East China Sea Ishigaki
Hotel East China Sea Ishigaki, Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing