We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ishigakijima Shonyudo”

Ishigaki Island Limestone Cave
Ranked #10 of 116 things to do in Ishigaki
Attraction details
Ikoma, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ishigakijima Shonyudo”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The size of the cavern was impressive, though it was not at all a difficult walk-through. The formations are many and interesting. Some of the lighting could have been more effective, but it's nothing to complain about. I didn't notice the music that other reviewers commented on.

The cavern exits into the gift shop/restaurant, which looked inviting.

Entrance fee is 1050 yen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank trijbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    196
    156
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Decent caves”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I have to admit, I am not a great fan of visiting caves. Mmmmmm is my usual response. The formations on the rock were good.

However the incessant music and voice over was truly distracting.

We did see the pupae of the islands butterfly on the way in. They are a beautiful golden color.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ryue65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Be careful! Some of the walkways are a bit slippery.
The whining piped music is a bit off-putting, I must say, but the adventurous nature of the walk more than compensates.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bradstow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice Tourist Attraction”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The Limestone Cavern is a nice place to visit on a rainy day. The caverns were more extensive than expected and had safe walkways with railings; it takes about 30 minutes for a self-guided tour. You are able to see many different and interesting stalactite and stalagmite formations. I disliked the piped in music and some of the lighting like the string of Christmas lights displayed in one area. Be prepared for the obligatory photo opportunity at the end that you can purchase in the gift shop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 50StateVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ishigaki Island Limestone Cave also viewed

Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture
Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture
 
Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture
Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture
 

Been to Ishigaki Island Limestone Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing