We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Need to eat the tuna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hitoshi Ishiganto

Hitoshi Ishiganto
Ranked #1 of 700 Restaurants in Ishigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
173 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Need to eat the tuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Like a lot of other people are writing, you need to eat the sushi with tuna, and for sure take the set since the price is very good. In general all the things we tried was very good quality and very tasty. they do have a english menu which is helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JokkeNu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    141
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

While this restaurant is a bit hard to find, it is worth it! We made a reservation the same day. We needed to eat early because we have a baby who needs to be in bed at a decent time. This place opens at 5pm. It is a true izakaya, you order many small dishes. As others have said, there is an English menu. We were 3 adults who ate, we spent 6500 yen and left full. We tried the assorted sashimi and assorted tuna sushi, it didn't disappoint. The spinach salad and the ginger fried chicken were also both delightful. Go here hungry! We would definitely come back if we ever visit ishigaki again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just fine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

This is a small restaurant with lots of fine foods especially tuna. English menue is available. Reservation is absolutely needed - and has to be done a few days before your visit.
Price: tuna sushi set (4 sushi and 6 maki) 980 yen. Sashimi mix for one person 900 yen, for two 1500 yen. You can get warm dishes as well, e.g. fried rice for around 600 yen.
For two persons we paid 6,300 yen - and we were really hungry before and abolutely full after our visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best on island...I can believe it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Have been to restaurants/Sushi places from allover to Japan.... ranks right up there. Opens at 17:00...and there WILL be a line! We got lucky and were walk-ins. ordered a little bit of everything and were very happy. other raters said "better tune than Tsukiji in Tokyo"... I wouldn't go THAT far... but, pretty damned good! Also, not NEARLY as pricey as I expected.
Would certainly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AkRiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Maybe the Best Maguro in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I can honestly say that I just had the single best thing I've ever eaten in my entire life--the 大とろ at Hitoshi. The maguro here is better than at Tsukiji Market in Tokyo. I actually cried while eating it. I cannot more highly recommend this place. It's shockingly cheap given the quality and popularity. Do not skip this place and make sure to book ahead.

Helpful?
Thank global_teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hitoshi Ishiganto also viewed

Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture
Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture
 
Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture
Ishigaki, Okinawa Prefecture
 

Been to Hitoshi Ishiganto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing