We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location on the beach!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Ishigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location on the beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is quite a nice resort, but upon our arrival (9:15PM), there was some confusion about our rooms (there were 3 families traveling together), and the rooms were not ready. We waited with all of our kids (8 total) for two hours in the hotel lobby while they added beds to our rooms. We missed our dinner reservation - not made aware of the 9:30 "last serve" time at the restaurant - and the hotel didn't offer any accommodation to this. The next four days went smoothly and we were able to communicate with the staff quite easily. We booked two tours and two dinner reservations (in town) with the concierge. The pool is great for kids of all ages (including a water slide) and the beach is nice with a great inflatable obstacle course, for an additional cost. The use of most pool and beach items are available for an extra charge. There are a few restaurants to choose from on site for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, but we preferred to eat in town. We were able to travel by taxi quite easily and most people spoke enough English to get us where we wanted to go. The hotel is close by a small grocery store, which was also convenient for buying drinks and snacks. Our families had a great time, and I would definitely recommend this resort - but you may want to check your reservation prior to arrival.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdolinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    403
    92
    27
    12
See reviews for
433
265
79
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki for four nights as part of our trip of the Japanese Islands. There is a convenient airport bus which is very prompt and takes approx 20 minutes from the airport to the hotel. We stayed in the hotel's Coral Wing- which had great views of the beach and resort and were much more spacious and modern than the main hotel rooms (where we originally had booked to stay in). No balconies though.The hotel has its own private beach although it gets quite crowded with families and more scenic beaches with better snorkelling can be found further north (these beaches and sights are accessible by bus- head to the bus terminal- a short walk from Ishigaki Ferry Port- approx 40 minutes by bus to Kabira (you can't snorkel here) and approx an hour to Sunset beach).

A few negative points about the hotel- indoor pool was under renovation (which we would have used when it rained on several occasions), tiny gym (I would expect more machines and equipment for an Intercontinental hotel), not many places to eat nearby to hotel- nearly all restaurants, cafés, bars are in the main Ishigaki city area. There are a number of supermarkets about 10 minutes walk away. Approx 15 minutes on the bus to Ishigaki city. The breakfast was ok- could be replenished more regularly and more variety would be better.

Whilst in Ishigaki, I'd recommend a day trip to Taketomi ( approx 10 mins by ferry from Ishigaki Ferry Port). Beautiful beaches (water is very shallow and not very sandy) and views of mountains. We didn't make it to Irimoto but would have loved to have experienced it.

Overall we had a good stay at the ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki but a few tweaks would have made it even better.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JenMcD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear JenMcD20,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Ishigaki. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay in our spacious rooms with great views. On the other hand, you mentioned in detail some issues regarding our breakfast selections and facilities. We are very sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

Your comments have been taken note of and will be used as our guide to focus on areas of improvement. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here in the end of April, which is low season - lovely and quiet at the hotel beach and by the pool. A great break if you want to get a few days off from busy Tokyo. Spacious and clean room with an ocean view (we had a tower deluxe ocean view room).

Super friendly staff; they had great dinner recommendations and sightseeing tips. You can also purchase ferry tickets to the other small islands at the customer service desk, which is very convenient. The hotel restaurants are actually pretty good, I strongly recommend the teppanyaki-restaurant which serves excellent Ishigaki beef (but do try some of the local ones in Ishigaki as well, the staff has got great tips).

About 10 minutes taxi ride to the center of Ishigaki city, and would def recommend to stay at the Intercontinental rather than in the city (as the city's not that charming). Overall a great hotel with excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelito145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have a penchant for ocean-front living when on beach vacations, so picked ANA Intercontinental and specifically the Coral Wing which is about as close to the beach one can get in this resort (though still some 50m away...). The room has a floor-to-ceiling, wall-to-wall ocean view which the bed faced so that was a big tick in the box (the trade-off being the television set to one side of the bed so not exactly comfortable for some TV in bed). At the time of visit, Coral Wing had no wi-fi but the hotel set up an access point in the room for us, so that was nice and we could continue to research where to go and what to do.

Location-wise there is a hypermart, pharmacy, bookstore, one or two eateries and some shops clustered together down the road however not really within easy walking distance. We rented a car so we could explore Ishigaki (e.g. Kabira Bay, Sunset Beach, Hirakubo Lighthouse - all in the north) - this I highly recommend as everything seems to be spread out in Ishigaki so a car is really useful for getting around in. With a car Misaki-cho and its F&B options is about a 10-15min drive away and then the hotel location starts looking good.

February was shoulder season so the beaches while accessible weren't open for business - we had to settle for some peace and quiet on beach blankets.

There is a coin-operated laundromat on the ground floor which was quite convenient and clearly much more affordable vs typical hotel laundry rates.

The common Japanese bath though small was decent especially the locker and lounging area.

Breakfast we have to say was very bad - the spread was extremely limited to mostly bread and Japanese items and service wasn't so good for an Intercontinental. If not for the fact we had an early morning flight to catch I would never pay to have breakfast here (it was not included in my room rate so we had to buy breakfast coupons for quite a bit).

My consolation was the service level from the resort staff, which I thought was very good and professional. The concierge helped me with car rental and return which was really important for us due to our flight timing.

Room Tip: Coral Wing is closest to the beach however the rooms have no balconies vs the main Tower Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barutanj, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Tansh-san,
Thank you for having taken the time to review your stay with us while you were in Ishigaki.
It is nice to see that you enjoyed the room (especially the view on the ocean), several of the hotel's facilities and the sightseeing on the island.
However, I regret that you did not enjoy the breakfast we offer our Guests. Your comments will definitely be used in order to continue improving the quality of the food we offer.
I have already informed the staff of the Resort Centre of your comments; they are all looking forward to serving you again if and when you come to Ishigaki.
Thank you for having spent time with us; I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you to Ishigaki in the near future.

Jean Barcelo (mr)
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaliningrad, Russia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Accomodation in good condition, personnel friendly and helpful, good breakfast (tried only european), good additional services. Should be nice while travelling with children - some activities for them includes painting of potter-shisa, really interesting. Not excellent, because Wi-Fi available only in lobby, in rooms only wired internet.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank R0man4282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in December and loved it. We had a beach facing room - the views were breath taking. The hotel staff are really helpful and professional. The room was spacious with a great bathroom suite and all the amenities you would expect from a high end hotel. The breakfast provided pretty much every western and Japanese option you could think of. I used the indoor pool ( the outdoor pools were closed, which was clear on the website and expected) which was lovely and we had it to ourselves in the evening. I can't think of anything to criticise. You would need a hire car or taxi to get into town, but not a major issue as taxis were queued most nights outside.

I also found that the souvenir shop in the hotel was a well priced and slightly better than most of the shops in town so I bought most of my gifts there too.

Will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Get a beach facing room - it's worth the bit extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here when taking part in Ishigaki Triathlon, had my bike delivered to the hotel which they stored for me until my arrival they also allowed me to keep my bike in my room. We had a sea view room, all the rooms are very modern and up to date with flat screen TV's and free internet. All the staff are very helpful and friendly and there are a number of restaurant choices downstairs. The buffet breakfast is decent and the Teppanyaki and Chinese are both good as well. There are many activities to do at the hotel, and it is right by the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ゲストエクスペリエンス, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Chris K-san,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. During the triathlon, the whole island of Ishigaki is vibrant with activity, as is the hotel. But we try to provide all our Guests with the best service. We try to make sure that participants to the triathlon are able to perform to the best of their abilities. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the next triathlon and hope you keep up the training to continue participating!
Jean Barcelo (mr.)
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ishigaki hotels
2.4 mi away
Vessel Hotel Ishigaki Island
2.0 mi away
Hotel Nikko Yaeyama
Hotel Nikko Yaeyama
#6 of 32 in Ishigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
10.2 mi away
Ishigaki Seaside Hotel
Ishigaki Seaside Hotel
#9 of 32 in Ishigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ishigakijima Hotel cucule
Ishigakijima Hotel cucule
#5 of 32 in Ishigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Patina Ishigakijima
Hotel Patina Ishigakijima
#7 of 32 in Ishigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel East China Sea
Hotel East China Sea
#10 of 32 in Ishigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort

Property: ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort
Address: 354-1 Maezato, Ishigaki 907-0002, Okinawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ishigaki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ishigaki
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ishigaki
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ishigaki
#3 Family Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Okinawa hotel offers the perfect chance to relax alongside the tranquil waters of Maesato Beach. The rich cultural traditions, abundant coral reefs, distinctive regional foods and the natural warmth of its people make this island getaway an unforgettable destination. Within easy reach of Ishikagi Airport, this is your chance to discover a Japan you never imagined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Odigeo, IHG, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Ishigaki Hotel Ishigaki
Ana Hotel Ishigaki
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing