We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Med Kabira Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Med Kabira Beach
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels / Ryokan in Ishigaki
Certificate of Excellence
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We spent about 2 weeks there during christmas period with our 4 kids (11, 9, 3 & 3) and we all had a wonderful time. Not the best spot at that time of the year if you are looking for sun-bathing or enjoying the pool, but certainly worth it if you are looking for a place to relax and have all family enjoying it. Entire staff proved very welcoming and thoughtful.
Kids all experienced and approved the mini-club and petit-club. Quite a number of activities are available (though a few are closed during winter period), and I particularly enjoyed the water sports: not that they should be given any credit for the very good wind we experienced, but the spot is really good for windsurfing with good equipment readilly available and cheerful staff always on the move to make sure you have a great time... and looking after your safety, to what they proved very efficient. Diving was not possible (winter period) but snorkeling is still a great experience just by the beach.
We would maybe regret the lack of japanese "atmosphere" (you don't feel like you are in Japan, which could be disappointing for looking for some taste of it) or the average condition of our rooms, clean and well maintained but a bit dated.
Overall, we all had a great time and we certainly look forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    221
    64
    35
    37
See reviews for
559
134
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iwakuni, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Our family had a wonderful time at Club Med Kabira Beach. Our room was clean and spacious--we had the ground floor room which opened to a garden. Our 6 year old had a blast running around catching butterflies. The service was excellent and we liked the variety of food offered.

It has been nearly a year since our visit and our kids still beg to go back. They had so much fun, especially at Mini-Club Med. In fact, when we were there they ASKED to spend most of the time with their friends and the staff which was fine with us. Our typical day went something like this: morning breakfast together, dropped the kids off (the kids then got to do cool stuff like archery, flying trapeze, swimming at the pool, arts and crafts, beach trips etc...ALL in one day), we'd go diving or snorkeling or wind surfing, then back for lunch. In the late after noon, we would pick up the kids and spend family time at the pool then dropped the kids off so they can enjoy their meals with their friends while we have dinner by ourselves (we're in the same restaurant, just in a different part). Then we would meet up and enjoy the evening show. It was absolutely fantastic. We went in May and it wasn't busy at all.

On our last day, we rented a car through Club Med and drove around and visited various points of interest. As for diving, we actually didn't go through Club Med because of the price. Instead, we picked Dive School Umicoza and highly recommend them. They provided transportation as well as lunch.

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk, as for rooms closer to the pool. Ground level rooms have sliding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HinJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We spentt 5 days in our 3rd Club Med at Kariba Beach, Ishigaki. My wife and I are great fan of diving, we placed our kids, aged 7 and 8 in the mini club and we went diving with Euro Divers, the affiliated diving company in Club Med.
Food and Lodging were nice. The service was also up to standard. The kids were very impressed by the night show in the theatre every nights. They are really entertaining. Perhaps the village chief is from USA and he just arrived there 10 days ago!
We were lucky that the weather was so nice except the 3rd day when the sea appeared a bit wavy. The snorkelling trip was cancelled. Do watch out for typhoon season in Okinawa. Otherwise you really can't do anything there.
The diving was wonderful! New and well maintained equipment, good English speaking dive masters, good visibility under water... We visited the Menta City twice and we saw up to 9 mentas surfing around. The scene was unforgattable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bupuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is the second time I join ClubMed.
During the 5 days 4 nights vacation, I experience the most relax vacation. Food is wide variety, i especially like the curry and spagetti and misu soup. GO is kind and nice, and wrap my injuries in great care (get hurt in snorkeling). The room is clean and tidy (mine is deluxe ocean view). The transport is convenient, can take bus to the city , as Clubmed is the terminal station. Overall experience is excellent, thx Clubmed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngfranki2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Comical it was so bad.

The night before we left, I called the front desk to ask for the shuttle times as we had changed our departure flight. I was told 7:10 AM. At 7:10 our family and another were met by the shuttle. The GM thanked the other family for joining Club Med as we brought our bags out. The receptionist ran out, grabbed out bags and told us not to get on this shuttle- ours was coming. I told my husband "Thank goodness he told us!" as we don't understand the Okinawan dialect very well.

The GM waved off the shuttle and left.

A public city bus pulled up and the receptionist indicated this was our airport transportation. He then handed me a schedule written in Japanese kanji, pushed us toward the bus, told us to change buses at a location he circled on the schedule, and ran inside. A GM wave off didn"t come with the city bus departure. The next 15 minutes were spent trying to figure out how much the bus cost, how to actually pay the money required and figure out where and how to change buses. We rode it until we found a cab and then abandoned ship.

I've stayed in a lot of hotels, across the board in terms of stars, but have never been put on a city bus when paying that kind of money for a vacation.

Very few employees at the front desk speak English well enough to be helpful. The food is mediocre even though there is a lot of it. Because the hotel has tile floors you will hear every ball bounced and kid jumping off the bed in the room above you. And they will do it all night long.

Sayonara Club Med.

Room Tip: Best for families with very young kids. (under 9) Get a room on a top floor. Speak Japanese. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank amblerangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We arrived at the resort at the end of November 2011. There were limited activities due to the season. We were able to sit by the pool some, but it was small and the weather was windy and chilly. We snorkeled for a short time, tried archery, tennis, bocce ball, and attended the evening entertainment. The food buffet was a large spread, but it was certainly not what we were used to from resorts in this price range. Every meal was a buffet meal served in the same dining area. Our room was very outdated and dark, but our view was gorgeous. The evening entertainment was mediocre. After the evening show there was usually an event at the bar. Only some drinks were included in the all inclusive price. If you are looking to sit and enjoy your drink you can forget it. The staff will harass you until you feel pressured to perform karaoke, dance, or go to bed. We understand that the resort cannot control the weather and we also understood that some of the activities were limited due to the weather, but we did not feel that this trip was worth what we paid. There should be a much larger adjustment in rates during the off season.

Room Tip: I would return to Ishigaki, just not to this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LHPUSAviaOki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Had a great relaxing trip mentally and physically away from Japan Inc. hotel grounds are well taken care of, rooms are a but dated but mostly functional (however, no wash cloth provided and AC was underpowered). I went in three different rooms and the furnishings were very different in each. Building A is the furtherest from the "core" (lobby, pool, beach etc.) laid out like A, B, C, D core E, F, G etc. I think E and F are the closest to the beach with some rooms having direct access. Beach shack provides snorkel, kayak, wind surf and other activities. One warning, protected beach area is not protected. When snorkeling I saw numerous poisonous star fish and sure enough someone in our group stepped on one and had to be taken to hospital.
Also, if you are new to Club Med, might be surprised by GO staff joining you at meals but they always ask for permission. If you do not want them to join, just say "no".Overall a great escape from the Japan I usually live in.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TNJP_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ishigaki hotels
10.9 mi away
ANA Intercontinental Ishigaki Resort
9.9 mi away
Vessel Hotel Ishigaki Island
0.7 mi away
Ishigaki Seaside Hotel
Ishigaki Seaside Hotel
#9 of 32 in Ishigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Yaeyama
Hotel Nikko Yaeyama
#6 of 32 in Ishigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
10.0 mi away
Ishigakijima Hotel cucule
Ishigakijima Hotel cucule
#5 of 32 in Ishigaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Patina Ishigakijima
Hotel Patina Ishigakijima
#7 of 32 in Ishigaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Kabira Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Kabira Beach

Property: Club Med Kabira Beach
Address: Ishizaki 1, Ishigaki 907-0543, Okinawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Ishigaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ishigaki
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ishigaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ishigaki
#5 Family Hotel in Ishigaki
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ishigaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Kabira Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kabira peninsula is located on the north-west part of the Island of Ishigaki. This Resort stands opposite a white sandy beach where the sea is extremely clear. The high quality of the underwater world and the wealth of fauna and flora make the bay of Kabira Japan's most beautiful diving spot. Kabira is also an excellent starting point from which to explore the purest of Japan's traditions. For all the family to discover, this Resort is an excellent way to fall for the charms of Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Club Med, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Club Med Kabira Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Kabira Beach Hotel Ishigaki
Club Med Ishigaki
Club Med Kyushu-Okinawa
Ishigaki Club Med
Club Med Kabira Beach Ishigaki, Japan - Okinawa Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing