We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great staff, large room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels / Ryokan in Naha
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great staff, large room”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We were very comfortable in this hotel - good location for walking to the tourist shopping street. It was by far the nicest hotel we have stayed so far in japan. There is actually not that much to do in naha as an English speaking tourist so I would suggest going to nearby zamami Island - an incredible place! Go kayaking & snorkelling!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NMR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rihgaroyalgran, 広報担当マネージャー at Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear NMR100,

Thank you, for sharing your review and for choosing to stay at RIHGA Royal Gran Okinawa during your journey in Okinawa.

We were so delightful to hear that you were satisfied with our location and that our hotel was the nicest hotel you have experienced in Japan.

As NMR 100 san mentioned, Zamami Island, one of the Kerama Islands (just became the 31st national park in Japan in March, 2014), is famous for beautiful ocean and popular for marine activities. It is approximately 40-minute ferry ride from Naha and a day trip is available for those guests who stay in the main island of Okinawa.

Shuri Castle, included one of the UNESCO World Heritage designated Castles of the Ryukyu Kingdom sites, and Tsuboya Yachimun Street, the home for many ceramic studios, stores, and galleries near Kokusai Street, are also popular places to visit in Naha.

We are pleased to help our guests arrange their trip in Okinawa through e-mail corresponcdances (room@rihgaroyalgran-okinawa.co.jp) before their arrival, and or they can come to our reception and our staff are more than happy to assist them during their stay.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in near future.

Warmest Regards,

Shoko Maeshiro
Planning & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    182
    41
    9
    1
See reviews for
208
138
49
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

1. They let me check-in at 11am when I just want to leave my luggage there...:)

2. Good view, good security

3. Comfortable bed

4. Convenient to walk to monorail station


1. They let me check-in at 11am when I just want to leave my luggage there...:)

2. Good view, good security

3. Comfortable bed

4. Convenient to walk to monorail station

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fuminya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rihgaroyalgran, 広報担当マネージャー at Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear fuminya,

Thank you, for sharing your review and for choosing to stay at RIHGA Royal Gran Okinawa during your journey in Okinawa.

We were so delightful to hear that you were satisfied with our service, security, bed and location.

Our check-in time starts at 14:00 and we are more than happpy to keep luggages of our guests if they arrive here earlier than the check-in time so that they could explore the island without worrying about their belongings. Please be advised that they would not be able to check in before 14:00 all the time due to preparing the rooms.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Warmest Regards,

Shoko Maeshiro
Planning & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had a great stay. Very nice and comfortable stay. Great location near to Koksai Dori, not exactly walking distance but costed us only Y600 to get there. Cab ride to airport is about Y1000, very cheap by Japan standards. Covered linkway to monorail and very near the bus terminal where we took the City Sightseeing Bus and joined the day tour. There's a cafe called Italian Tomato downstairs that saved our day when it rained and was too cold to venture out. Also a very popular Shabu Shabu restaurant. The hotel staff were very polite and provided great service. We would definitely be back again !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rihgaroyalgran, 広報担当マネージャー at Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear MagicBerry,

Thank you, for sharing your review and for choosing to stay at RIHGA Royal Gran Okinawa during your journey in Okinawa.
We were so delightful to hear that you were satisfied with our location and service.
Many of our guests without cars enjoy sightseeing bus tours they offer at the Naha Bus Terminal, which is just across the street from our hotel. They offer various types of tours you would also enjoy exploring outside of the city.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Warmest Regards,

Shoko Maeshiro
Planning & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagano, Japan
Level Contributor
540 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Well, generally, I think the hotel is overpriced !! BUT, it is a VERY nice hotel, very comfortable beds and pillows and reasonably large rooms (in Japanese standards) Location is not to far from all the happening in town. It is a 10-15 minutes walk from the "Koksai Dori" The international street, or a few minutes on the monorail, which is convincingly, connected to the hotel on the second floor. Parking is free for hotel guests, breakfast is superb and the service is like a 5 star hotel, but somehow, it seems too expensive for what you get...? The location is near the sea, but no good vies at all, since the view is of the industrial area wharf. At nearly $400 a night off season big discount price, I think it say is all. But if money is no issue for you, that is the place to stay !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shlomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rihgaroyalgran, 広報担当マネージャー at Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Shlomi T,

Thank you, for sharing your review and for choosing to stay at RIHGA Royal Gran Okinawa for your journey in Okinawa.
We were so delightful to hear that you were satisfied with the guest room you stayed, the location, and the breakfast.
November is one of the busiest month for hotels in Naha since there are many conventions held in this area. You may be able to find a reasonable price in summer season when all the resort hotels in the west coast of main island of Okinawa are on season.
Many guests enjoy the view of Kerama Islands, well known as one of the greatest diving spots in the world when the weather is nice and clear from the lobby floor (the top floor of our facility).

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon and that you have a wonderful holiday season.

Warmest Regards,

Shoko Maeshiro
Planning & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed in this new and contemporary modern hotel for a few nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Throughout our stay we found the hotel staff from the front desk personnel to the restaurant staff very polite and helpful. Our standard double room was very well and tastefully designed and spacious especially in Japan, and a bonus factor was the bathroom enclosure had a shower area in addition to a bathtub. In addition to that there is a separate toilet cubicle which had many interesting bidet functions.

Our room and bathroom was clean and tidy upon check-in and was very well upkept throughout our stay here.

Wifi was readily available in the room and surfing speed was fast and signal strength strong. Both upload and download speed was fast on mobile devices.

Breakfast selection was wide and varied at the hotel's Aiju Restaurant and it had many local Okinawan dishes on offer. For those with a preference for western food, selections such as ham, scrambled eggs, sausages, etc was readily available. There's also an omelette station manned by a chef who dished up some tasty omelettes.

The hotel is conveniently located next to the Asahibashi monorail station, and it takes around 12 minutes to get here from the station in Naha Airport. The Naha Central bus terminal is located across the hotel and Kokusaidori Shopping street is about 10-12 minutes walk away.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here in this lovely hotel and will definitely stay here again when we return to Naha in the future. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTrekker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rihgaroyalgran, 広報担当マネージャー at Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear GlobeTrekker6,

Thank you, for sharing your review and for choosing to stay at RIHGA Royal Gran Okinawa for your journey in Okinawa.
We were so delightful to hear that you were satisfied with our staff at the front desk and at Dining & Bar Aiju, the guest room, bathroom, breakfast and location. WiFi is available throughout our facility.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Warmest Regards,

Shoko Maeshiro
Planning & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Not what you'd expect for the poorest prefecture in Japan. Not as many English speakers on staff as you'd expect, but they sure did try.
I found the food in the restaurant to be some of the best hotel food I have ever eaten and the staff was as polite as you would expect in Japan.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rihgaroyalgran, 広報担当マネージャー at Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Jimmy C,

Thank you, for sharing your review and for choosing to stay at RIHGA Royal Gran Okinawa for your journey in Okinawa.
We were so delightful to hear that you were satisfied with food at our restaurant. Many local guests also enjoy our chef's menus. Not all of our staff are fluent in English; however, we understand the importance of improvement in conversation skills in English and other languages for our staff as more foreign guests have chosen our hotel for their stay while in Okinawa. We will continue giving our staff opportunities to learn English (and others) for our guests to stay at our hotel comfortably.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Warmest Regards,

Shoko Maeshiro
Planning & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Rihga Royal Gran on the first and last night of our 8-day island tour. The hotel is almost brand new and very modern. We love our room, and we were longing desperately to go back to Rihga after a series of hotel let-downs along the way up the island. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and they spoke good English. And, the location is so convenient. It is within a few minutes' walk (actually connected to) from the monorail station, and most things of interests are a few monorail stops away. We drove, but for those who don't, the bus terminal is right next to the hotel for long haul journeys. Taxis are relatively cheaper (compare to Tokyo), we took a taxi from the hotel to the airport on the day we departed and it costed 1200yen (on Saturday with no traffic). Hotel rates were very reasonable so it's really super value for money. Will definitely return should we go back to Naha again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TPHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rihgaroyalgran, 広報担当マネージャー at Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear TPHK,

Thank you, for sharing your review and for choosing to stay at RIHGA Royal Gran Okinawa for your journey in Okinawa.
We were so delightful to hear that you were satisfied with our service and the location. Many of our guests stay at our hotel on the first night and, or the last night of their journey in Okinawa since the Naha Airport is just a 10 minute drive away just like TPHK san.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Warmest Regards,

Shoko Maeshiro
Planning & PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naha hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Naha, Okinawa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocore Naha
Hotel Rocore Naha
#4 of 110 in Naha
656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ocean
Hotel Ocean
#2 of 110 in Naha
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Double Tree by Hilton Naha
0.7 mi away
Hotel JAL City Naha
1.2 mi away
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Naha Kokusaidori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa

Property: Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa
Address: 1-9 Asahimachi, Naha 900-0029, Okinawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Naha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Naha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Naha
#1 Business Hotel in Naha
#2 Luxury Hotel in Naha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened its door in June, 2012. One of the luxurious hotels in Naha with 157 guest rooms. All the rooms are 35 sq/m (377 sq.f) or bigger with complimentary WiFi. Free valet parking service. Very convenient location-- approximately 10 minutes from Naha Airport, directly connected with Asahibashi Monorail Station and cross the street from Naha Bus Terminal. Awarded for 2015 Travelers' Choice and ranked #18 for Best Hotel 25 in Japan on TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Gran Okinawa Naha, Okinawa Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing