We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A secret garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matsuyama Castle Ninomaru Historical Garden

Matsuyama Castle Ninomaru Historical Garden
Ranked #14 of 125 things to do in Matsuyama
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A secret garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

This is a lovely little garden at the foothill of the Matsuyama Castle Hill. Usually very quite, with few visitors, it is a good place to take a detour on the way to or from the castle.
On weekends you can participate in a tea ceremony, and throughout the year they hold special events like Japanese music concerts, noh and kabuki plays and various exhibits.

Hours of operation:
February-July and September-November: 9am-5pm
August: 9am-5:30pm
December, January: 9am-4:30pm

Closed: December 29th

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Alissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    36
    33
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shimanto, Japan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Secret surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was a delightful and unexpected bonus place to visit on our way to Matsuyama Castle. I think it's about 100 yen to get in and it's full of old buildings, their foundations, raked gravel gardens, ponds, little bridges, etc etc etc. There is one part with water dripping into an underground upturned urn, with a bamboo stick coming out for you to press your ear to and listen in. The dripping sound echoes in the urn chamber and sounds like the koto (a traditional Japanese instrument). There were lots of fruit trees heavy with various citrus fruits. One set of trees was dripping with kumquats (called kinkan, locally) that the sign said please eat freely! So we did, what a treat!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_Gabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
375 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

These gardens should not be missed and were reasonable quite.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LondonTell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem of a hide-away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We received an orange with our entry ticket - very nice. There was hardly any one else about so we had the place almost to ourselves and it was a pleasure to sit in peace and quite in nice gardens.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ChakasRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matsuyama Castle Ninomaru Historical Garden also viewed

Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture
Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture
 
Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture
Matsuyama, Ehime Prefecture
 

Been to Matsuyama Castle Ninomaru Historical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing