We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
126
238
60
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
238
60
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ramen noodles outdoor bath shopping area lots of restaurants provided free hot water rooftop onsen basic toiletries were provided would highly recommend this hotel train station double room star hotel ritsurin garden japanese standards minute walk convenient location
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

It's well located for eating and sightseeing in Takamatsu, although a taxi from the station is the wise choice. Other than that, it's your basic standard Dormy Inn, cramped rooms (by Japanese standards) no atmosphere, very ordinary breakfast, and you can hear the people upstairs walk about. Pleasant helpful staff, of course, although with little English. Women have the use of an onsen, which is nice. Lonely Planet speak of 'sleek decor' and 'spacious rooms'. Not when we stayed there last week there weren't. In short, this is just adequate. If you land a room here for say $US60 or less, then OK. At rack rate it is not good value. .

Room tip: They have smoking and non-smoking floors, so if this important to you either way, say so when booking.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank petermax9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

If you need a central hotel this could be your choice. It is a bit far from the JR railway station (a 20 minute walk) but not far from Kawaramachi rail station of the Kotoden rail line (a 5 minute walk). It is just in front of one of the busiest commercial galleries along one of the main streets of the town. Bars, restaurants and shops are all around you.
The entrance of the hotel has a small hall, welcome coffee is available all day long and complimentary fresh noodles are served in the breakfast room between 9.30 p.m. and 11 pm. Breakfast (800 Yen) has not so many choices as you expected and is mainly Japanese. Breakfast room is small and could be crowded in the morning. Guests can enjoy the onsen at the 11th floor (small and absolutely clean and comfortable) for free.
Unfortunately to stay in the center you pay a price. Our room was average, small and needed renovation. There was no closet (the major downside) but only few hangers: this made our stay a little uncomfortable. We experienced a low internet connection in the weekend.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalyMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRMYTAKA, reception at Dormy Inn Takamatsu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Unfortunately, you were not satisfied with a room, but seems you have enjoyed Takamatsu which makes us pleased! We hope your review would draw more tourists from all over the world and are looking forward to having you as our guests in Takamatsu again!
Naoto reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

I had good enough to 4 days stay. Night noodles were nice service and yummy. Most point of the choose for stay bussiness hotel is presence of pablic bathroom, The outdoor bath was good, but the female hot water curran was few.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FrequentFlier811343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRMYTAKA, reception at Dormy Inn Takamatsu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion with us. We hope you had a good time in Takamatsu and look forward to welcoming you back!
Naoto reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

First of all, the good stuff - strategic location steps from the covered shopping arcade in the center of the city (although I'd recommend taking a taxi to/from the station as it would be quite a long walk). The hotel has an annotated sightseeing map showing where you can find some good udon noodle restaurants and other shops in the downtown area. The rooftop onsen and free late night noodles are also nice touches common to the entire Dormy Inn chain.

I was disappointed at the small size of the room, which seemed kinda musty and tired considering the steep room rate I paid. Check-in and check-out were not efficient and there were a lot of people packed in the lobby both times I had to go to the front desk.

The airport bus stop near the hotel was so crowded in the morning that we had to wait for a fifth bus after the first four were completely full and not taking any more passengers (the bus attendant was pretty good about letting the dispatcher know that they needed to send out another bus, but if you are flying out in the morning it might be good to stay closer to Takamatsu Station).

It was okay, but I think I'll try a different hotel next time I'm in Takamatsu!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elliottd358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRMYTAKA, reception at Dormy Inn Takamatsu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback. We regret that your were disappointed at some aspects. Due to increasing of foreign tourists recently, we are just forced to be in front of new problems, especially spaces we should keep to provide. We are trying new methods each time to see if any of them should be effective. Concerning room size, no choice unfortunately at the moment in our hotel, but glad if other facilities could satisfy you instead. On the contrary, we are pleased to learn that you may have an opportunity to be back in Takamatsu one day. We thank you again and hope to have another chance to welcome you.
Naoto reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

I booked 2 "adjoining" double rooms. The rooms were adjacent but there was no connecting door between them. So strictly it isn't adjoining at all! Very disappointed at this misrepresentation. I was traveling as a family with 2 children so it was quite a hassle to split everyone up into 2 rooms and only access the rooms via the common corridor.

Also while there is a car lift in the facility - it can fit only the smallest of cars. I had no trouble using a car lift in another hotel to park my car prior, but the attendant flat out rejected me at this hotel. Had to park at a public multi level carpark a distance away. So be warned.

The rooms are tiny and looked well used. There was no tub, just a small shower cubicle. The basin is split up from the toilet and bathroom also - weird.

The hotel caters to mostly tourists so expect crowds and noise. Lobby was tiny and filled with tourists always. Not for families.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gmsgms2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRMYTAKA, reception at Dormy Inn Takamatsu, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you so much for your stay with us!
We are afraid to say that adjoining rooms are not connected via door inside unfortunately and it is different from connecting rooms.
We really regret so much that we couldn't manage to please you as result during your stay.
We thank you for your stay again!

reception
Naoto Miyagawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews