We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Voted our clear number 2 garden on our gardens of Japan trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ritsurin Garden

Ritsurin Garden
Ranked #1 of 136 things to do in Takamatsu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ritsurin Garden is a superb cultural asset that conveys the characteristics of the daimyo strolling gardens that were typically seen in the 17th and 18th century. A daimyo strolling garden is a type of traditional Japanese garden in which ponds and hills are expertly constructed over a vast tract of land, and you can enjoy the garden's space as you leisurely walk around inside.
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Voted our clear number 2 garden on our gardens of Japan trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We are spending 16 days travelling around the gardens of Japan and also visiting key art sites and museums.

We travelled, for a half day, on the ferry(1 hour each way) from Naioshima island,and this worked really well as we spent a super couple of days doing the art and architecture on Naioshima and then were able to visit these terrific gardens in the same 2 days.

These gardens are really lovely, with a terrific backdrop of the nearby mountains/hills. Our group view was that they were only just bested ( if that is English!) by the gardens in Kanazawa.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonNick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    321
    56
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
YVR
Level Contributor
295 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Magnificent manicured park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Any place they spend 4 days pruning one tree, has to be a park worth seeing. Go to Takamatsu, have a bowl of sanuki udon, spent an hour or two at the park, and what a day!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Go here in Takamatsu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a beautiful and peaceful traditional Japanese garden.
Hundreds of years old and well maintained, this garden is a surprise to find in a small city such as Takamatsu. It features winding paths, manicured trees, lakes, bridges, waterfalls and tea houses. It beats most of the gardens in Kyoto and Tokyo hands down.
I visited last in the afternoon as the light softened - a beautiful experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rickbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Leave all you troubles behind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A must see if you go to Takamatsu is Ritsurin Garden, which is very large and one of the most (if not the most) tranquil and beautiful parks I've ever visited; had we had the time I would most definitely have gone back and spent the morning there again. The Tea House is beautiful and you can even take a boat ride on the lake. We went off season and almost had the whole park to ourselves but even at the height of the season I'm sure you could find a tranquil place to relax and take the morning air.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One of the best gardens we have seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We met the most terrific English speaking guide, Pedro, at the entrance to the koen. He made the experience unforgettable. We learnt a lot about the garden itself as well as Japanese culture. There was a wonderful little souvenir shop that had a cafe at the back. The food was simple and terrific. Wish we'd had longer to experience the tea ceremony in the exquisite tea house. The shop at the exit sold wonderful Japanese craftwork. Not to be missed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hoppyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ritsurin Garden also viewed

Takamatsu, Kagawa Prefecture
Takamatsu, Kagawa Prefecture
 
Takamatsu, Kagawa Prefecture
 

Been to Ritsurin Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing