We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful garden ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ritsurin Garden

Ritsurin Garden
Ranked #1 of 137 things to do in Takamatsu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ritsurin Garden is a superb cultural asset that conveys the characteristics of the daimyo strolling gardens that were typically seen in the 17th and 18th century. A daimyo strolling garden is a type of traditional Japanese garden in which ponds and hills are expertly constructed over a vast tract of land, and you can enjoy the garden's space as you leisurely walk around inside.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The most beautiful garden ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Definitly You have to see this garden, it is just a masterpiece, just so relaxing and wonderful! Go for matcha tea in the old tea house at the lake, really nice 500-700yen

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    328
    57
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Serene and magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit in as many years.

Last year I walked the two loops on the map. I loved it.

This year, we meandered a bit but had tea in the large tea house. If you want to really appreciate the garden, do have tea and take time to relax in the tea house. There are several rooms with lovely views. Sitting on tatami and looking out on the garden is such a serene and Japanese experience.

Helpful?
Thank ProfandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Why is this not one of the top 3 gardens in Japan?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Do visit Takamatsu on Shikoku Island and head straight for RITSURIN Garden. It is a one of the most beautiful gardens I have seen in Japan. My daughter, who accompanied me and has lived in Japan for 5 years, has visited 2 out of the Top 3 Gardens in Japan and can't understand why this garden is not included. It is not only the flowers that make this special but some other serene quality that makes this worthy of a visit. Perhaps it is the layout. Perhaps it is the way it is positioned against a backdrop of a steep wooded mountain. Perhaps it is because this is a traditional Japanese garden and a magnificent Crane has just come into view on the edge of the placid lake. What a photo opportunity! We visited the garden in early May. The Azaleas were just starting to blossom and only a few other varieties were out as well. Do not let this put you off. There is so much else to see including the colourful carp that congregate around the Fugan end of the lake with the Crescent Moon Bridge. We intended staying a couple of hours in the morning but by lunch time we still had more to see and we loved the atmosphere so much that we asked at the gate if we could exit and then return with food to lunch in the gardens. This wasn't a problem and we returned to spend another hour or so. The entrance cost for adults is ¥400 (approx. A$4.40). It will be the best $4.00 you ever spent!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank NeatPackage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Voted our clear number 2 garden on our gardens of Japan trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We are spending 16 days travelling around the gardens of Japan and also visiting key art sites and museums.

We travelled, for a half day, on the ferry(1 hour each way) from Naioshima island,and this worked really well as we spent a super couple of days doing the art and architecture on Naioshima and then were able to visit these terrific gardens in the same 2 days.

These gardens are really lovely, with a terrific backdrop of the nearby mountains/hills. Our group view was that they were only just bested ( if that is English!) by the gardens in Kanazawa.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonNick55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVR
Level Contributor
295 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Magnificent manicured park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Any place they spend 4 days pruning one tree, has to be a park worth seeing. Go to Takamatsu, have a bowl of sanuki udon, spent an hour or two at the park, and what a day!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ritsurin Garden also viewed

Takamatsu, Kagawa Prefecture
Takamatsu, Kagawa Prefecture
 
Takamatsu, Kagawa Prefecture
 

Been to Ritsurin Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing