We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value near Kochi Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Kochi Station
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Kochi
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value near Kochi Station”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Good clean rooms with wifi. Coin laundry on the 8th floor, with 2 washers (200 yen) and 2 dryers (100 yen for 30 minutes), taking 4.5 kg load each. Free breakfast, which consists of sausages and onigiri plus the usual breads and croissants.

Easy walking distance to Kochi Castle, Sunday Market, the Hariyama Bashi and shopping street.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripHunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    83
    37
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
17
35
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The Comfort Inn is about 5 minutes walk from Kochi Station.
Room 410 (ours) is 28 Square metres, had a king bed which is soft to firm. The comfort of the bed was offset by the low pillow. The pillow was firm and that's ok but the lowness did not feel comfortable. The room was clean and tidy.
The bathroom is quite large. To enter, there is about a 9 cm step up. The bath / shower is quite deep so there is an additional 15 cm step to enable one to climb into the bath.
I could not control the room temperature which seems to be set by the hotel. The window looks as if it can be opened however I was unable to open it.
For evening meal, it is about 20 minutes walk to the nearest restaurants.
A simple but pleasant breakfast was included in the cost of the room. Free coffee / juice is available in the lobby.
If the pillow had been a bit higher I would have rated the hotel as very good. Other than that, I recommend the Comfort Inn as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanleyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uji, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed there last week with a family. Spacious and clean room. I cant believe that I could get these big room at USD120 per night.Overall,I'm very happy with it. Hotel located just a walking distance to Kochi Station and Kochi Jo Palace. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChesireCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This is the cheapest hotel in I've ever stayed Japan individually. Only 4400 yen per night for single stay, breakfast is free, and not to mention I actually booked a "double economy" room, which is not the cheapest room they have.

The hotel is only few minutes of walk from Kochi train station. There's a big lobby which offers free coffee and juice in the evening, and a free computer for Internet browsing. For a US hotel brand, I'm surprised to find the hotel staff only speaks little English. But they are helpful anyway.

The room is basic, but clean. There's no much difference to other "business hotels" I've ever stayed in, though It's very cheap for a hotel in Japan. There's a coin operated laundry on the top floor, which is quite rare for hotels in Shikoku. So basically this hotel offers everything I need for a budget hotel stay. The breakfast is free to all quests. They are simple but tasty, including one of the best scrambled eggs I've ever tasted.

There are some downsides of the hotel, though. First, there's a smell inside the hotel, like some kind of strong disinfectants. I've never stayed in this hotel chain before so I don't know if they always use this. But I don't like the smell. Second, the lobby is located on the second floor but the only elevator goes to the parking lot. So I need to climb up stairs with my luggage when arriving. Still, this hotel offers great value for its guests and it doesn't look like they are cutting off services in order to maintain the low price. If you are looking for a budget hotel in Kochi, this will be it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poorjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

After a huge journey from Matsuyama via three connecting trains and 6 hours later ( guys , catch the JR express bus ) , we arrived in Kochi around 11:30pm without a reservation . Walked out of the station and this caught out eye. A twin costed ¥7800 per night and for some reason they gave us a triple ! Nice ! The biggest room I've ever stayed in in Japan . Huge bathroom and VERY comfortable beds ( a plus after staying in hard as steel business hotels in Osaka with those crap pillows full of foam balls- what's up with that ??). Service , facilaties , location = excellent . Free drinks ( minute maid orange juice-mmmm) , free breakfast . The best value hotel i've stayed in in the whole of Japan .
Kochi surprisingly has a vibrant red light district ( some hotties ) and try the food pavillion just off the arcade and eat with the locals ( very friendly ) . Daimaru department is excellent for shopping and Kochi castle is one of the best in Japan .
Katsurahama beach was lovely except for the no swimming signs .

I'd definitely go back and next time try some hot springs near by and stay at the Comfort . Love Kochi !

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavvasJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

For a Japanese hotel the size of the rooms was very good. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the station. We had free wi-fi in the room. Downstairs near reception we could use printer for free. We found this useful for printing off train timetables as we had a Japanese rail pass. Free coffee, cold tea and water were available in lobby between 3pm and midnight. There were also tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Free breakfast included in hotel price. Food was good and plentiful. My husband complained about having to use paper cups and plates and plastic cutlery, but apart from that we were both happy. Staff were pleasant and friendly and tried hard to communicate in English. The hotel takes 10% off room price for anyone over 50. We'd definitely be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenemHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Stayed here for one night. I reserved a single room via Expedia, but they couldn't find my reservation immediately and for some reason, I ended up in a much nicer double room.

The hotel is located a 5-minute walk away from the JR Kochi station, you have to cross the busy street in front of the station via a bridge and then walk left.

It was clean, efficient and offered a free WiFi access, just like most Comfort Hotels in Japan. Being a business hotel though, it offers just basic amenities and single rooms are probably small. The WiFi signal quality was good.

  • Liked — Price, location, free WiFi
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FromFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi hotels
Richmond Hotel Kochi
#1 of 65 in Kochi
531 reviews
Kochi Station
Kochi Hotel
Kochi Hotel
#12 of 65 in Kochi
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Welcome Hotel Kochi
#5 of 65 in Kochi
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Kochi Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Kochi Station

Property: Comfort Hotel Kochi Station
Address: 2-2-12 Kitahonmachi, Kochi 780-0056, Kochi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Shikoku > Kochi Prefecture > Kochi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels / Ryokan in Kochi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Kochi Station 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Hotel Kochi Ekimae will be suspended business within the year 2016 and rebuild to a new hotel. I am aiming for completion of the building in June, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Kochi Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing