We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel in traditional japanese style!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dormy Inn Akita
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels / Ryokan in Akita
Certificate of Excellence
Aachen, Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel in traditional japanese style!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

What a marvelous place! Starting from the warm and hearty check-in until the fast and
easy check-out. In between everything was splendid! The room was very spacious and
japanese style. Entering there was a small room where you change your shoes and use
the slippers to enter the bed- and livingroom. In the entrance room there´s also a
seperate toilet.
The bed is so comfortable, never slept as good as there. In the living room there is a
low table with floorseating, very japanese. Flatscreen and waterboiler of course. And
a massage chair which was my favorite place during the stay. The bathroom had a bathtub
also.
Absolutely great the Onsen on the top floor, it´s free for hotelguests, what a bargain.
And also included was the delicious breakfast buffet. Huge collection of fresh products.
What a brilliant start of the day. I would like to thank the staff and the management for
a fantastic stay. I even changed some hotels on my further journey through Japan and
booked Dormy Inn instead! Arigato Dormy Inn Akita!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobbieDylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    170
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
33
107
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Ten minuets walk from Akita station. Close to museums, Onsen at the top floor, and nice BF.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenken25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Excellent location near the Akita train station (4 blocks) and nice hot baths with dry sauna. The bedrooms are very small and smell of tobacco smoke even in floors that are supposed to be "smoke free". Smoking is allowed on floors 3 and 7. We were moved from a "no-smoking room" to a "smoking room" on our second day stay without being alerted of the change. When we requested to be moved back to a "non-smoking room" we were told that there were none available. We told the hotel staff that we decided to move to a hotel with non-smoking rooms, then the same staff person told us that we could get a non-smoking room for an additional fee. We did that just because it was kind of late and we were tired. The new non-smoking room was exactly as the previous room we had the first night. What was the extra charge for? We have no idea. Just poor customer service. Do not recommend this hotel even though there were some nice features such as the baths.

Room Tip: All room as the same: very small and smoky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Out of all hotels in Akita city, Dormy Inn Akita had most of what I wanted from my hotel stay. Their open air spa was open all night and it was so useful as I was jet lagged. It snowed while I was in it, so nice. Their room is kept clean and had many services. I had a huge room to myself although it took hours to heat up the room.

Their breakfast offer a lot of different things and you will find something to eat even if you can be fussy. I would love to come back to this fun hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enjoydifference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed one night and I found this hotel super value for budget and long travellers.
The room is amasing. It is very small but very functional. They do not miss any inches. The toilet and shower is completely isolated from a bed area and the room has no bath tab. Instead, they have a roof top bath and I enjoyed chilled air outside in the open bath and observed starts in the middle of the local city of Akita. Also, the big bath has a laundry machine and this will be apprecaited for those travelling for more than few days for daily washings. Overall, I am very satisfied and definitely use this chain hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gehararigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portalban (Switzerland)
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Hotel with relatively small, very clean and functional rooms with fridge, high speed internet, tea/coffee making facility, etc. at around 10 min. walking distance from the JR station. To reach the hotel, take West exit and follow the inclined covered hall up to the end, turn right into a little cobbled street. About 50 m. later, you should see the hotel sign on your left about 100m away. It is located in front of a pond with hemi-spherical fountains (may not function in winter).
At the time of my stay, Dormy Inn was visited only by Japanese guests. This provided a specific flavor: for instance a number of guests were taking breakfast in pajamas (first time in my life...) Staff was only fluent in Japanese. Check-in was therefore a bit laborious but with goodwill on both sides, smiles, gestures and little drawings, we managed it!
Across the pond in front of the hotel, you will find Senshu Park, a nice and pleasant place. Unfortunately, at the time of my stay (early Sept. 2010) both art museums located in the Park were closed. Several shopping malls are in the vicinity. Don't visit the "Akita Senshu Museum of Art" in the mall next to the Dormy Inn: only a single exhibition hall with around 20 heterogenous paintings is open to the public. It is not worth the required ¥300 entrance fee.
A tourist information office is located in the JR station. Very smiling girls, but almost not a word of English... However, a map of Akita in English is available there. As there are nearly no useful indications in English in the streets, I suggest to non-Japanese reading visitors to consult the following Internet address before reaching Akita: www.city.akita.akita.jp/en/default.htm which provides i.a. a full map of the city in English and some other useful hints.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Claude-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akita hotels
Akita Station
Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae
Akita Station
Akita View Hotel
Akita View Hotel
#5 of 40 in Akita
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albert Hotel Akita
#17 of 40 in Akita
39 reviews
Akita Station
APA Hotel Akita Senshukoen
Akita Station
Hotel Metropolitan Akita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dormy Inn Akita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dormy Inn Akita

Property: Hotel Dormy Inn Akita
Address: 2-3-1 Nakadori, Akita 010-0001, Akita Prefecture
Region: Japan > Tohoku > Akita Prefecture > Akita > Akita Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels / Ryokan in Akita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dormy Inn Akita 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dormy Inn Akita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing