We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay--near train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels / Ryokan in Akita
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good place to stay--near train station”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Within walking distance of Akita train station. New and clean. Staff very courteous. Japanese business (not tourist) hotel, so some signs are in Japanese but not English. Breakfast in hotel restaurant features Japanese food, but Western food (toast, etc.) is also available. Dinner seemed to be only Japanese food. Nearby restaurant "Artichoke" has very good Italian food.

Room Tip: Wifi available for free but not very strong. (YouTube videos stop working.) Free bottled water if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    193
    39
    4
    0
See reviews for
87
52
121
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Akita city is not somewhere most tourists want to go, but if you have business in the center of town or need to be near the JR station, the Richmond is a great place to stay. It's a bit more expensive than other business hotels in the area, but you get what you pay for. The air is clean on the non-smoking floors, the room is pristine, and there are plenty of amenities. I especially like the "green" options, such as big pump bottles of shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, and hand soap in the bathroom and the choice to not have your bed sheets changed every day. The room is big enough for a bed, desk, and little side table, but everything fits well and it doesn't feel cramped.

The breakfast buffet is extensive and tasty, though mostly Japanese (so if you want more of a Western breakfast than corn flakes and instant scrambled eggs, you're out of luck). My only complaint about the breakfast is that the signs are only in Japanese, so I had to guess what foods I was selecting. A colleague said that some of the dishes were traditional Akita regional food, but I didn't know which.

The one thing I wanted was a gym or workout room. I am used to staying in American business hotels that provide a treadmill or stairmaster and some space for yoga or weights. I was able to get out once when it wasn't raining for a walk around town (there's a nice hilly park just a few blocks away, where the Kubota castle used to be), but on other days was stuck without exercise options.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a clean and modern business-style hotel, conveniently located near the station. However, the front desk staff seem to be inexperienced part-timers. They were unable to answer simple questions in Japanese about finding a local hot spring bath, though this is one of the most common interests of foreigners visiting Akita. The use of machines for payment also suggests that the hotel management does not trust the front desk staff to handle money. In addition, there was only powdered milk and not cream for the morning coffee, and the restaurant is too small and crowded. This is just a place to stay, not to go if you are interested in learning anything about Akita or enjoying a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The room was tiny but very modern and super clean. Staff speak different degrees of English but are very willing and helpful. The internet is very slow and freezes and tv has only Japanese channels. Worth staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeSupernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Cons
Room is slightly small, I think it is normal size in Japan.

Pros
Great Service, always smiling and greet us whenever we leave or return the hotel
Perks. When check in , they allow us to choose various things such as facial mask, bath salt etc. I heaps that can last for my 3 nights
Bed is comfortable.
They provided laundry coins which is great considering we are in Japan for 3 week and in need to wash our clothes.
Clean room

Room Tip: Happy with this hotel. Great value and it is recommended by my friend in Akita
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieChiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

A short walk from the west exit from Akita station; easy to find using the map on the hotel brochure. Friendly and obliging reception staff, who kept
our cases on arrival and departure as our train timings were not in line with check in and check out times. They were also helpful in providing
information on the rather limited local attractions.
Very good sized rooms and larger than usual bathroom. Attractive decor
and good lighting. We'll equipped with fridge, Wifi and giant TV. The beds
are large and comfortable with two reasonably soft pillows.
Breakfast was predominantly Japanese and very good according to my wife. Not much in the way of western fare, but the coffee was good and
there was a choice of apple and orange juices. Also sliced bread was available together with a toaster and supplies of jams and marmalade, which kept me happy.

All in all a good experience - a hotel I would certainly choose again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
185 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Richmond is proud of their services provided, from the moment check in to check out, I am all happy with it. The room is also modern and stylish. I was having fever during my stay, I borrowed their thermometer and measure the temperature in the lobby, the staff are helpful and still carrying smile, but they didn't have intention to bring me water and ask if I am ok. I finally get a cup of water in the restaurant and took the pill. that gave me a feeling that the smile on their face is just robotic and I just didnt feel the true warm heart. Overall, it is a very professional hotel in Akita

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bari_ttc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akita hotels
Akita Station
Hotel Dormy Inn Akita
Akita Station
Hotel Metropolitan Akita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akita Station
Akita View Hotel
Akita View Hotel
#6 of 40 in Akita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Akita Station
Comfort Hotel Akita
Comfort Hotel Akita
#7 of 40 in Akita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Akita Station
Akita Castle Hotel
Akita Castle Hotel
#5 of 40 in Akita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae

Property: Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae
Address: 2-2-26 Nakadori, Akita 010-0001, Akita Prefecture
Region: Japan > Tohoku > Akita Prefecture > Akita > Akita Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels / Ryokan in Akita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Richmond Hotel Akita Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing