We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Miyagi Museum of Art
Open today: 09:30 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
With a special section for Churyo Sato, a great Miyagi-born Sculptor

This is a medium sized prefectural museum for Miyagi. We took a cab from a hotel near JR Sendai... read more

Reviewed 10 May 2017
Chuzaa
,
Vancouver, Canada
The Churyo Sato Gallery is fantastic!

Three exhibitions are usually held here. The first one is for its permanent collection which... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2015
japanguide
,
Tokyo, Japan
Read all 81 reviews
  
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
5
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
6
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

A great stop on the Loople bus route to rest and have lunch in quiet surroundings, as well as enjoy the great sculptures that continue downstairs into the garden, and some beautiful impressionist paintings upstairs. Their cafe serves excellent light lunch specials.

Thank Janis857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

The day I was there was the day they had a Finnish bazaar! That was an extra cost. The art work on the first floor was not very good. There were no special displays.
Check before going

Thank patepies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

This is a medium sized prefectural museum for Miyagi. We took a cab from a hotel near JR Sendai Railway Station for JPY1,070 and got there in about ten minutes. Its location is at the northern end of the former Sendai (Aoba) Castle complex.

The art museum has three sections; one for the permanent collections, one a special exhibit, and one for a well-known Sendai-born sculptor called Churyo Sato (The Churyo Sato Memorial Art Museum).

When we were there in early April, they had a Renoir special with more than fifty paintings that was shown only in Sendai – a good curatorial work of the museum. The permanent collection is mainly for local, but well-recognized artists from Miyagi Prefecture. The Churyo Sato section is devoted for this sculptor whose works are seen across Japan and highly recognized in Japan. Since Sato refused any official honours from various levels of government, he is still not well known by the general public as much as he should have been.

Thank Chuzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

A small exhibition of impressionist painters but displaying some lovely works by Monet, Manet, Sisley,

Thank John2090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Enjoyed my lunch and the outside sculpture exhibit. The staff was very helpful and it was many visitors at museum.

Thank jerrygarcia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

A good place to visit. For me the Churyo Sato gallery was the highlight of our visit. Some really impressive sculptures in the sculpture garden.

Thank Michcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I went here on the loople bus on a Monday but it was closed on Mondays. So I came back the next day. Nice museum and learn a little history of Sendai and Date Masamune.

1  Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Three exhibitions are usually held here. The first one is for its permanent collection which eventually seems wide-ranging but comparatively small. The second is a special exhibition which opens for only limited days. The last one is the Churyo Sato Gallery where we can see many fantastic sculptures and drawings donated by Churyo Sato himself who is a very famous sculptor in modern Japan. I love all pieces in the Gallery.
Great and beautiful is the main building of this museum which was designed by Kunio Maekawa. I think this is a must-visit place in Sendai.

Thank japanguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

A great place to spend a few hours. The sculpture garden is worth wandering. I also really enjoyed the Sato Choryo gallery- his works are lovely. I could have spent hours with a few of the Kandinsky pieces too. Great museum shop for unique gifts.

Thank BorneoMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I am an artist, art teacher, and have a degree in art history. I have to say I was a bit disappointed with the art in the museum. The permanent collection is fairly small. Unless you specifically love Japanese art and know Japanese artists I wouldn't suggest coming here expecting much out of the art. They had a handful of small works from European artists Kandinsky and Klee, but the rest of the art in the permanent collection were Japanese artists I've never heard of from a dozen different art movements.

The entry fee for the permanent collection is only 120-400yen...you get discounts if you are a student and have your id AND if you show that you have a Loople Bus ticket. The Loople Bus is perfect for a day or two of touring!! http://www.kotsu.city.sendai.jp/english/bus/loople/

The fee for special exhibitions range from 800-1200yen. Right now there is a Manga Exhibition until mid July. Then there is a Van Gogh Exhibition from late July-mid August. I will definitely go back for that!

The museum has a nice garden in he back with different sculptures and a goldfish/koi pond. There is also a small gift shop and coffee shop which serves sandwiches.

Thank KayLee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews