We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste of East Asia”
Review of Tyubeteika

Tyubeteika
Ranked #1 of 1,972 Restaurants in Almaty
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Central Asian, Uzbek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We believe that for 10 years already we cook only the best dishes of the Middle Eastern cuisine, create an inviting atmosphere in each of our restaurants and serve everyone as the dearest guest.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Taste of East Asia”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great variety of tastes on the menu.

The quality of the food is good and so is the service.
Excellent outside seating, if you want in private area.

The traditionals are excellent, plov, besbarmac etc. Very tasty of you like this kind of food of course.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    115
    35
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tiubiteyka”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you are interested in a little sip of Uzbek culture - it worth to visit.
But I am not fan of this very type of the asian restaurants.
If I would choose where to have manty, plov, Kazakh meat, or even guiru or tsomyan I would actually go to UZBECHKA.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I've enjoyed this restaurant a couple times during a recent business trip. The food was always good however be forwarned that no one spoke English. It was alittle hard to make out the menu but we did. All the dishes I tried were very good and the service was good too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant with national food”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Went there two times in business trips - in 2009 and in 2013. Going to visit it once again.
All the dishes were perfect.
The only negative is - once we tried red wine from Georgia and it was a fake one. Got sick all 4 of us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_Shelagin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short trip to Kazakhstan at a first time”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

If you came for 2 days trip, and don't have time to see and feel eastern cuisine - go to Tubiteika. You can taste the best in the city Plov, Manti (both - uzbekh cuisine) and Beshparmak (traditional kazakh meal).
Each of the meals is for two europeans, but kazakhs thinks, that the meals are for 1 person. So, if you came 3 of visitors, it's perfect for ordering - and sharing (according to local tradition):
1. Toy Oshi Plov
2. Manti with pumpkin
3. Beshparmak
4. fresh vegetables with sheep cheese
5. baursaki (traditional kazakh doughnut)
6. lepeshka (kind of traditional uzbekh bread)
7. black tea in uzbekh style
That's my favorite list.
I've tried a lot of places for 5 years living in Kazakhstan and Almaty, and found this restaurant and food quality to be the best for foreigners in a "must visit" program.

Tip: there are two Tubiteika restaurants in the city: at Satpaeva/Vesnovka and at Dostyk/Satpaeva streets. Food in the first restaurant is cooked a little bit better :)

P.S. if you are vegetarian, don't go to Kazakhstan at all. As kazakhi says, they are the second meat-eating nation in the world. The first are the wolves :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Niko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tyubeteika also viewed

Almaty, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Almaty, Kazakhstan
 

Been to Tyubeteika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing